Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Punta Gorda, FL

location, location

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, comfortable beds, great room service
Cons: newer carpet and some painting would freshen it up a bit
Location: Shops, restaurants, parks all within walking distance, beautiful views
Have stayed at this hotel a few times over the past twenty years and it is always elegant yet casual, located on a beautiful property and situated in a quaint town with shops and restaurants within walking distance. Love the spa, pool and Tiki bar. All around a great place to stay with easy access to Tampa and St. Pete airports.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by SHRS Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Kathy, Thank you for taking the time for review your most recent stay at our historical resort and spa. We always appreciate when our guests take the time for let us know how we are doing. Please know your comments will be shared with our Management and Ownership team for review and action as needed. Thank you again and we hope to see your again soon. Safety Harbor Resort and Spa Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Awesome staff!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Regina was the best! All of the other staff at the front desk was amazing too! Very helpful, courteous, easy to work with and very accommodating. Heather in the spa was very pleasant as well. She streamlined the process of me joining the spa and I have been thoroughly enjoying the membership and it's benefits. All around TOP NOTCH!! I highly recommend this fine establishment. Kudos to all and thank you for always making my stay so enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by SHRS Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear William, Thank you for choosing the Safety Harbor Resort and Spa. I am happy to hear that your stay with us was a memorable one! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Sincerely, Safety Harbor Resort and Spa Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Perfect Location!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Comfort, cleanliness, and great pool to enjoy!
Location: Lots of cool shopping, art studio's and great art gallery, great places to eat (loved Bar Fly Saltwater Grill) you never have to leave this town!
We love the town of Safety Harbor and the resort is the perfect place to stay!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Swingers convention

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Came in town for a wedding with my wife and daughter ended up being a swingers convention at the hotel. Nude swinger in the indoor pool. Couples asking us to get in the hot tube.Thanks Expedia for letting us know that. Left after the first night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville Tn

Great place to relax and get pampered

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Stayed here several times before. Great spa and priced very reasonable. Food is also great, lots of nice local shops in walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel on the water

Posted May 22, 2017
Cons: staff training at front desk
Our credit card had a fraud alert placed on it, the front desk employees treated us like we were second class citizens by instead of calling our room, they came up and banged on the door of the hotel room, yelling loudly about the credit card declining at both the front desk and hallway of our room. I've never been so embarrassed and when we told them what happened, they acted like we were not telling the truth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

nice hotel ,lots of amenities close to shops

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: clean , safe, and comfortable
Cons: the Price, also I tried to use my choice privilage points and was not able to use them, shortage of rooms ?????
Location: close to clearwater airport, shopping and Restaurants
went walking every day, like the pier and the nice views
2 out of 5
by Colin

At half the price, it may have been reasonable

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very disappointing. Decided to pay extra for nicer hotel and wish we hadn't. Spa hotels normally offer good facilities, but as just a hotel it was lacking. Room was big and comfy beds and 30 years ago it was probably outstanding. No in-room safe, no robes or slippers, poor lighting. The lift in the tower we were in was scary. Jerky and on two occasions slammed to a stop before reaching our floor, and of course the doors did not open. In the end we went back down a floor and walked up the stairs. Around. The signs around the hotel, where some of the letters were worn or missing, was filled in with thick felt tip. Probably the spa was OK but as a hotel it was very poor. One of the poorest hotels we have stayed in in the USA, and there have been many. Even the bay front location was stretching it as it was about 100 yards from the bay with a scrubby field between.
4 out of 5
by Homer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great place.....

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Location....
Cons: Check-in/check-out experience
Everything about this place is great with the exception of the check-in/check-out experience. They only ever have one person at the front desk. If you don't mind waiting in line for that, everything else about this place is a 10!