Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Location was great! Right on the beach, bars, restaurants and shopping in walking distance. You can call the beach cab to take you to John's Pass, St Pete Beach or Clearwater and they work on donations! We tipped $5 each way. Hotel has grills you can use, you have to provide the coals and lighter fluid. We had a room facing the street with a kitchenette and king bed. It was nice but never did cook. If you have anything to hang up like dresses or nice shirts bring your own hangers. They had a clothes bar above microwave and fridge with one hanger. I hung up my dresses on the mini blinds. The room was clean except the ceiling fan was very dusty. We stayed in room 214.
2 out of 5
by Sadany

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Erin from Athens, Ohio

Great getaway for Babymoon

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I wanted to take a short babymoon before our son was due in July. I had three stipulations (beach front, pool and parking). The Schooner had all three, and at a reasonable price. The owners were very friendly and the staff were super nice. Very helpful and always there to answer questions, and get you extra towels anytime. The room was very clean and had everything we needed for a few days in Florida. There were even extra floats and chairs that we could borrow in the garden/sitting area. We spent four days at Madiera before the crazy Memorial Day holiday weekend, and we were glad to be at the quiet Schooner for those few blissful (sans baby) days together. I would say that my only suggestion would be to request a room away from the main road or the front of the hotel. The hotel sign is extremely bright and runs all night, and the shades didn't block it out much. We were okay, but some people need total darkness to sleep. If you need total darkness, I would recommend asking for a room away from that area of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seminole, FL

Right on the beach!

Posted May 26, 2016
Pros: Ocean front and pet friendly.
Cons: Maybe the maid service. It was a little sandy. Even the sheets.
Location: Pretty much anything you need is in walking distance
It was wonderful to wake up to the ocean front right from my bed. And they are pet friendly. Loved my stay there. I will most certainly stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl from Ohio

Love this place

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed there last year and it was under new ownership they had started to make some changes. This year they had made several changes and it was very nice. The owners are very nice and service was fantastic and the atmosphere is very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S.

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 25, 2016
The room we had for all but one night of our stay was very nice and it was great sleeping with the window open and listening to the ocean every night. Nice amenities: full size coffee pot, microwave, toaster oven, bar size sink, full size refrigerator, iron, flat screen TV, comfortable king bed. Staff was friendly & outstanding.
3 out of 5
by Mike

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Raymond from Jackson, Tennessee

Hidden Gulf Treasure

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
The grounds were inviting, well maintained and a few steps from the white sand beach. The pools were gulf front and the sunset view was great. We will return and we will highly recommend this property to friends and family. The staff went out of their way to make our stay special. The size of the property was inviting and intimate! Parking was free and steps from our room. Restaurants were within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moline, Illinois

Cozy Motel on the beach

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: On the beach, quiet and quaint.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is close to a lot of things. Down the street is Johns Pass, the other way is a grocery store. Several good eating restraunts across the street.
Give it a try you will love it like we do. Very friendly staff and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great getaway

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Enjoyed my time there. Great staff. Excellent location on the beach. Room was clean. Close to nice restaurants. Will definitely be back.