Ratings based on 1,183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port St. Lucie, FL

Great place to relax and unwind.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Since everything was available at the resort, there was no need to go off the property unless you wanted to.
Cons: Front desk staff was not always knowledgeable. First morning we were there, we asked if we received maid service daily. She did not know.
Location: Area is very nice. There are boat rides and restaurants nearby.
There is a $20 per day resort fee. First place I've been to where a fee is justified. Valet parking was free. Live entertainment outside in the afternoon and evening. Pool towels available at pool. Drinks and food available outside afternoon and evening. Great buffet inside for dinner! Only negative was that the beach area was very small. Pool area is great with chairs and tables.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

If ypu want to rest at night don't come here.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This hotel cators to other customers staying in the clearwater beach instead of taking care of their own guests staying at their hotels. There is a club and a live band tiki bar and another bar on premises that have music until 3 am in the morning. No security on the guest rooms area. There is security/bouncers on the drinking/clubs area but the other areas there is not. Doors and elevators to the rooms stay ipen all night. So anyone from the beach can come in and out as they please at anytime of the day/night. Needless to say you will have drunk and loud people all over the hallways. After we complaint about the music too loud for 2 nights in a row with no apologies from the front desk with no luck, On the check out day when they ask us about our stay and we explain the events, only then they were trying to keep us one more night in another room. At that moment I said it was to late for them to compensate. Customer service skills were non existant. You dont try to make a customer happy on their way out you do it while their stay. so if you want to party all night and crawl upstairs to your room this is your place. Also there is a very tiny area for you to bathe at what they called "beach" that you will need to swim in between all their kayaks and jetskis, and the chair and umbrellas you have to pay for them not free like in any other Resorts. Thank goodness the public beach was within 5 mins walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with party atmosphere

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The location, prices, pool, and bar staff were very nice. The front desk folks the first couple days seemed bothered by us. Not overly warm and friendly. That did get better later with different crew. Live music everyday from 2pm to 2am. Weekends are especially loud. If you are a light sleeper or not into the all night thing this isn't the place for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach view Room

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Beautiful beach view with descent studio Bedroom equipped with a lot of kitchen stuff that you'll be ready to cook. We like our staying there, we can't wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Aug 12, 2016
The restroom was missing a shower door, all the water was on the floor my kids could slip and get hurt, small beach had to drive away to a big beach, the bartender saw me but skip me to greed a better dress gentleman (wealthy guy). great place to walk and interact with others, felt safe and secure. There was always staff on the ground place was never empty. Will comeback
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The site itself was very nice and right on the water. But please be aware of where you are staying: this is a party-atmosphere hotel. We checked in on Sunday and there was very loud music poolside and beachside from the moment we arrived until midnight, and a college-type crowd. We didn't mind and we enjoyed ourselves, but if I had children, I probably wouldn't bring them here. Besides that, the hotel itself is very nice. Our room was spacious, had a great view, was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is has a nice pool (although very loud and crowded, but fun!), and a little private beach with chairs and umbrellas for rentals. They also have jet skis and other water activities for rent. We had breakfast onsite and it was pretty good. The only true negative was the check in process. The valet area is a little confusing when you pull in, and there was only one valet taking care of about 5 cars that were in line to check in (and valet was the only option when checking in). He was doing his best but it was very busy and took a while for us to be able to get inside to get our room. It wasn't a showstopper, though - just something that could be improved.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shepherds Resort Review

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great hotel. They only have Valet parking available but you can leave and go in and out as many times as you like. They have live music outside and it can get quite loud...it carries on until about 1.00am...but the patio door is quite insulated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More time to enjoy the beach.

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on Hotels
It would have been great to have a better view of the beach from the room.
3 out of 5
by Becky from Wellston, Ohio

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice except I think the band should quit playing a little earlier like 11 pm. I couldn't get to sleep
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice and very musical beach hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Excellent room comfort with complete kitchen, the condition of the hotel is almost new, music all time and at night you have shows with musical group. The staff is very available to help. Shephard's have all you need to have a wonderful vacation. Clearwater Beach is beautiful.