Ratings based on 1,156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with party atmosphere

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The location, prices, pool, and bar staff were very nice. The front desk folks the first couple days seemed bothered by us. Not overly warm and friendly. That did get better later with different crew. Live music everyday from 2pm to 2am. Weekends are especially loud. If you are a light sleeper or not into the all night thing this isn't the place for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach view Room

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Beautiful beach view with descent studio Bedroom equipped with a lot of kitchen stuff that you'll be ready to cook. We like our staying there, we can't wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The restroom was missing a shower door, all the water was on the floor my kids could slip and get hurt, small beach had to drive away to a big beach, the bartender saw me but skip me to greed a better dress gentleman (wealthy guy). great place to walk and interact with others, felt safe and secure. There was always staff on the ground place was never empty. Will comeback
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Party hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2016
The site itself was very nice and right on the water. But please be aware of where you are staying: this is a party-atmosphere hotel. We checked in on Sunday and there was very loud music poolside and beachside from the moment we arrived until midnight, and a college-type crowd. We didn't mind and we enjoyed ourselves, but if I had children, I probably wouldn't bring them here. Besides that, the hotel itself is very nice. Our room was spacious, had a great view, was clean, and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is has a nice pool (although very loud and crowded, but fun!), and a little private beach with chairs and umbrellas for rentals. They also have jet skis and other water activities for rent. We had breakfast onsite and it was pretty good. The only true negative was the check in process. The valet area is a little confusing when you pull in, and there was only one valet taking care of about 5 cars that were in line to check in (and valet was the only option when checking in). He was doing his best but it was very busy and took a while for us to be able to get inside to get our room. It wasn't a showstopper, though - just something that could be improved.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice and very musical beach hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Excellent room comfort with complete kitchen, the condition of the hotel is almost new, music all time and at night you have shows with musical group. The staff is very available to help. Shephard's have all you need to have a wonderful vacation. Clearwater Beach is beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Location is great. Alot of shopping, entertainment, & restaurants.....within walking distance. Hotel also has everything you need: Bars, swimming pool, shopping, restaurant, dance club, laundry, exercise room, outdoor stage with live music, beach is your backyard. Had a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views, great prices

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Wow! I'm surprised how amazing and accommodating this hotel is for such a great price! Great family atmosphere, great live music, friendly staff! I'm coming back!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Fun weekend getaway!

Posted Jul 2, 2016
My husband and I decided to book a two night stay at Shepard's for his 30th birthday. We wanted a pool, beach and drinks. That's what we got. We pulled in to valet (free parking for hotel guests!) and the gentleman told us we could probably check in early (it was 2:30pm and check in was 3pm) so we did that. Our room was ok. It was clean and looked nice but the A/C was suuuuuper loud. It would me up about three times or more every night. This might sound weird but there was one accessible outlet to charge our phones. Nothing by our beds. The sheets were stiff and the comforter was awful. It was basically the thickness of a sheet. The housekeeping staff was super nice! They all smiled and said hello. They helped me out more than any other person o came in contact with at that hotel. We went into the pool... It was suuuuuuper warm. Too warm. They might want to turn off the heat in the middle of summer. We spent our time going back and forth between the private beach area and the pool. They had options to rent paddle boards, kayaks or jet skis. The beach area had these cool giant floats you could lay on. Super relaxing. I found it really weird that you had to pay for a lounge chair and an umbrella at the private beach. I already paid to stay there... im not paying for a chair to sit on at this tiny beach. The lady bartenders were all really nice! At nigh theres music inside and outside. The breakfast buffet is decent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If you want to sleep, find another hotel

Posted Jun 25, 2016
We were on the 6th floor and were still woken up nightly from midnight until 3am from the extremely loud base piping from the club downstairs. When asked how our stay was, we mentioned this and the front desk staff simply said "I understand." This clearly is a nightly complaint. We weren't even there over the weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, MA

Small beach area

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Beach
Cons: Internet connectivity and less noise at bed time.
Nice beach behind the hotel, but small. The hotel does not provide lounge chairs on the beach. Beach chairs can be rented from a separate private company. Be prepared to pay a $20 per day resort fee. This hotel advertises internet connectivity availability. DON'T BELIEVE IT. If internet access is important to you, go somewhere else. Even the staff acknowledges the internet connectivity is a joke. This is a young persons party hotel. Every night there's very very loud live music at the pool. The music continues well into the early morning hours. If you have a room facing the pool/ocean, sleeping is problematic. There is a nightly buffet with expansive variety, but lacking in quality. On the positive side, my room was clean and comfortable, with a great walk-in shower.