Ratings based on 1,173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kissimmee, FL

Close private beach, great staff

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Beautiful, clean, modern room. Helpful and courteous front desk staff. Men who ran valet where kind as well. Will definitely be staying there again.,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lu

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Overall, the property hotel was amazing,beautiful and convenient. Bummer that there was construction on the stage floor but glad the band's were the best. I would still stay here and or recommend staying here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, Ohio

We loved our stay at Shephards.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Great location, great beach, great neighborhood. Will go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Party Hotel/Sales Above All

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: pool, clean beautiful rooms, kind security guards
Cons: expensive dining, snobby staff, make guests feel welcome instead of a target to sell to.
Location: Go to Pier 60, the beach is fantastic and really the only place to spend the day because the hotel beach was sad.
Let me start by saying this hotel was beautiful. The rooms were clean and large and the large tile shower was phenomenal. The pool was gorgeous and had ample seating with private cabanas available. The live music you can hear from the pool was great. The pool was right on the gulf. But the actual beach was pretty sad. Very small with the majority of the waterfront being used by the stage and the bars. So if you are looking for a beach front hotel, you might want to check elsewhere. We paid a $20 resort fee per person at this hotel. I am not sure what the fee is for. You can use the pool, but you can not take your own drinks or food by the pool. You have to buy theirs. You can't sit by the water on the deck and drink your own drink because it is part of the restaurant and you have to buy theirs. A simple pineapple juice was $4.50 The restaurant for breakfast buffet was $12.95 a person and dinner was $34.95. It's very pricey and after reading the reviews, we chose to go offsite except for one meal which was simple and nothing special. There was a towel in our room that was for sale for $25.00. Fiji water bottles in our room were $4.50. I felt constantly marketed to. I will say we enjoyed the pool very much. However near the end of the day, the staff was less than friendly when asking for a pool towel. The valet parking was okay, but the staff was dismissive. I felt the whole hotel catered to young, beach body type people, of which I am neither.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Nice... friendly... clean....would definitely recommend this place...we had a great time !!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port St. Lucie, FL

Great place to relax and unwind.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Since everything was available at the resort, there was no need to go off the property unless you wanted to.
Cons: Front desk staff was not always knowledgeable. First morning we were there, we asked if we received maid service daily. She did not know.
Location: Area is very nice. There are boat rides and restaurants nearby.
There is a $20 per day resort fee. First place I've been to where a fee is justified. Valet parking was free. Live entertainment outside in the afternoon and evening. Pool towels available at pool. Drinks and food available outside afternoon and evening. Great buffet inside for dinner! Only negative was that the beach area was very small. Pool area is great with chairs and tables.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

If ypu want to rest at night don't come here.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
This hotel cators to other customers staying in the clearwater beach instead of taking care of their own guests staying at their hotels. There is a club and a live band tiki bar and another bar on premises that have music until 3 am in the morning. No security on the guest rooms area. There is security/bouncers on the drinking/clubs area but the other areas there is not. Doors and elevators to the rooms stay ipen all night. So anyone from the beach can come in and out as they please at anytime of the day/night. Needless to say you will have drunk and loud people all over the hallways. After we complaint about the music too loud for 2 nights in a row with no apologies from the front desk with no luck, On the check out day when they ask us about our stay and we explain the events, only then they were trying to keep us one more night in another room. At that moment I said it was to late for them to compensate. Customer service skills were non existant. You dont try to make a customer happy on their way out you do it while their stay. so if you want to party all night and crawl upstairs to your room this is your place. Also there is a very tiny area for you to bathe at what they called "beach" that you will need to swim in between all their kayaks and jetskis, and the chair and umbrellas you have to pay for them not free like in any other Resorts. Thank goodness the public beach was within 5 mins walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with party atmosphere

Posted Aug 24, 2016
The location, prices, pool, and bar staff were very nice. The front desk folks the first couple days seemed bothered by us. Not overly warm and friendly. That did get better later with different crew. Live music everyday from 2pm to 2am. Weekends are especially loud. If you are a light sleeper or not into the all night thing this isn't the place for you.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach view Room

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Beautiful beach view with descent studio Bedroom equipped with a lot of kitchen stuff that you'll be ready to cook. We like our staying there, we can't wait to visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The restroom was missing a shower door, all the water was on the floor my kids could slip and get hurt, small beach had to drive away to a big beach, the bartender saw me but skip me to greed a better dress gentleman (wealthy guy). great place to walk and interact with others, felt safe and secure. There was always staff on the ground place was never empty. Will comeback