Ratings based on 1,731 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

A few things to consider......

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The staff was phenomenal! So helpful for anything!!
Cons: the hotel can use a facelift
Location: John's Pass, Columbia Restaurant, the Pier in Clearwater Beach
this hotel is NOT on the beach - it's a 1/4 mile from back side of the hotel. The sand is HOT and it's a long walk with kids, drinks, chairs etc. It's $25.00 per day to rent a chair and I don't know if that includes the umbrella beside it. In addition, this pool is small given the number of families staying at the resort this past week. I'm sure a lot of chlorine was used to keep the pool clean as it's a very kid-friendly facility. The hotel and rooms are older and could use some sprucing up but overall, generally clean. We had an issue with our linens, dirty towel and food on the floor but the housekeeping manager took care of the issue immediately. The staff is phenomenal - friendly and helpful at all times. There's a "Jolly Trolley" available to ride at 2.50 per person or a 10.00 pass you can purchase, there really isn't any shopping/restaurants that close by so you'll either need to Lyft or take the trolley. Times are fluid so don't go by the map times exactly. We rode the trolley North from the hotel and walked back south to the boardwalk. this was fun and easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed our stay!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
I read the most recent reviews; which were not great, but decided to book anyway. I am so glad I did! Love the calmness of the beach, not over crowded, the restaurants, etc. Will definitely come be coming back! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great quiet resort

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The beach wasn't crowded.
Cons: The hotel has everything you could need. Perhaps a microwave in the rooms or main area would be nice for leftovers or snacks.
Location: There is a strip plaza a few steps away with some restaurants, gifts shops and a good General Store/Restaurant/Grocery Mart but not a lot of action.
The hotel is away from the main Clearwter strip making it quiet and less crowded. The beach has great shelling and clear calm water most of the time and is great for small children and snorkelling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Loved this place!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Stayed at Sheraton Sand Key with my husband and kids. We loved everything about this place. The location is safe and enjoyable for families. Hope to return soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Wonderful and Friendly Service!

Posted Jul 8, 2017
We had a terrific family vacation at the Sheraton. We were greated outside the hotel by Todd. He helped us with our bags to our room, parked our car, and provided a list of restaurants in the area. Linda checked us in. She was very friendly and helpful as well. Both Todd and Linda made our family feel welcomed and appreciated. We had an awful experience at hotel in Orlando before our arrival, so we wondered how we would be treated at this hotel. We were so pleased and thankful. The room was a little outdated but clean. I appreciated the sink outside of the bathroom. It came in handy for family just needing to brush teeth while someone showered. The pool was nice. And we loved the pool side bar service. I didn't catch the bartenders name but he was so fantastic in taking care of us. They had live steel drums playing one day and gave kids glow in the dark necklaces at the pool one night. The kids loved it! The pool had several noodles for kids to play with. And there were beach toys you could borrow too. The beach was a little distance away but the hotel offers free rides to/from the beach on a golf cart. We loved the friendly service. The beach does have more seashells than the Clearwater public beach. My little girl loved collecting them. And we loved a more private beach setting. You can rent 2 chairs and an umbrella for $26 per day. The hotel had restaurants but aside from the pool side one, we didn't eat at any. We will def return! Thank you so much
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice Hotel with private beach

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Private beach
Cons: Different break fast options
Location: lot of things to do near by. Play in beach, Marine Aquarium, Pirate ship cruise ..kissing the Alligator was super
Awesome. They had towels at the pool and to take to beach . Golf cart to drive from beach to pool. Rental umbrella and chairs...food . lots of toys to play for kids
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Wonderful stay.... We were really impressed with hotel and beach!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Not relaxing for Child Free Vacationers

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Exceptional Staff
Cons: Larger pool Management enforcing the rules
The Sheraton is a nice but dated hotel. The bedrooms are very nice but the bathroom is tiny. We had an issue getting body wash, for some reason the maids would replenish the shampoo and conditioner (not used) but not supply body wash, which we did use. The pool is very small and crowded. As this is a family hotel, there are plenty of unsupervised children in the pool, so if you want to relax, you can't because every 2 seconds there is a child dive bombing right in your face. The beach is lovely but not manned by the hotel so therefore the pool service does not extend to the beach. We didn't try any of the hotel's restaurants preferring to eat in town. We were also concerned about the large groups of people that bought their own picnics to the pool, firstly, it was unsightly, secondly it's not befitting of a 4 star hotel and lastly, why should I have to pay $$$ for cocktails and food when everyone else got the memo to bring their own? Not to mention that its unfair on the pool waiting staff who cannot make any money if we pack our own picnics. We did address this issue with the duty manager, who was extremely pleasant and very helpful. The staff at this hotel are superb though and they deserve a 5 star rating with their friendliness and professionalism.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from local resident

Great location

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Staff was wonderful ! Hotel was clean When manager found out we were there for a girls weekend to celebrate our birthdays he sent a box of fine chocolates to our room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by darla, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Sand Key for your girls week-end, how much fun. It is our goal to effectively meet the expectations of our guests and provide excellent customer service. It is gratifying to read that your experience here with us was very positive. The view is beautiful and hopefully you were able to see one of our breathtaking sunsets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Hotel & pool area were spotless. Food & service great. Fantastic area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by darla, Hotel Management
Thank you and we are very pleased your experience on the Island of Sand Key was as anticipated.