Ratings based on 1,803 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from columbus, ohio

Great view and lots to do

Posted Feb 11, 2016
lots of good restaurants: we ate at Beef Ogrady's three times--great casual atmosphere and food. We watched most of the Super Bowl there. Landscaping and canal were quite impressive. Beach was gigantic. Employees were generally very nice. Suite was set up weirdly with bedroom before living area but it worked out. parking was convenient and free. Rumfish grill nearby was excellent. recreation fee was too high. It had every activity imaginable available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maine

Great place

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Loved the hotel. So much to do especially for kids. Loved the bars and food. The bar crawl was fun. The beach is beautiful. Fun amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

So much to do for kids!

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Perfect for families! Heated pools, paddle boats, food and drinks multiple options, beach cabanas and hammocks to relax in. High tide slide was awesome! Room had a kitchenette, save $ and make some meals. Just a great overall experience!! Kids 8,5,2 loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Amazing Hotel on St. Pete Beach

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Pros: Love the comfort, the service, and location. Great experience
Cons: Little less on resort fee :)
Location: Awesome! Right on the Beach and many restaurants and things to do in this area.
The Tradewinds is the only place I even think about staying when I'm in the Tampa/St. Pete area. Always a great experience and our room was upgraded when we arrived to a Beach View
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Older hotel that has been upgraded...

Posted Jan 16, 2016
It is directly on the beach which is great. Loved our gulf-front two bedroom suite. It was nice having the kitchenette in the room. Not sure the resort fee is worth it in the winter, but it isn't optional. Overall it's a decent hotel. I would definitely splurge for gulf-front though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: The restrooms were very clean
Cons: information at check in,
Upon check in we were never given our parking pass or wrist bands, only found out after the second day that we needed these. Everyone was pleasant, employees a little un-informed though. Was given wrong directions to Rum Fish Grill. Overall very nice place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Nice family hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 11, 2016
Pros: Closeness to the beach
Cons: Offer military discounts.
Wonderful time. Hotel is very family friendly. Hotel does not support our troops by offering discounts for rooms or dining. Rooms were outdated. And the price per night is extremely high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great hotel near the beach

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Great hotel next to the beach with many amenities and activities to entertain the whole family and a great surrounding area to explore and enjoy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Definitely a repeat visit for sure! The facility is so expansive that it has a little Something for all ages!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from new york

Dated hotel, great location

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Good family resort
Cons: The decore needs updating and the rooms need to be sound proofed.
Location: Great beach with plenty of water sports. Good restaurants in the area.
The trade winds is a good family hotel with lots of activities for the kids to do. The beach is very clean and the water is vey safe. The rooms badly need updating. Our entry door didn't close correctly, you had to really pull hard just to get it to close right. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything from the adjoining rooms. It is a dog friendly hotel, but that and paper thin walls don't go well together. We were woken at 3am to an unhappy dog barking. That being said. I really enjoyed my stay in St. Petes beach and would definitely return. Not so sure I'd stay at the trade winds though.