Ratings based on 1,896 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Best hotel on St. Pete Beach!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The staff was wonderful! A special thank you to Holly (lobby bar), Robert (front desk) and Tiffany (Sharktooth Bar). They provided excellent service.
Cons: Beef 'O' Brady's service was horrible! We went there for the bar crawl and waited 15 minutes for service at the bar. It also smelled horrible in there
Location: The location couldn't be better. There are so many restaurants and bars in walking distance.
We totally enjoyed our vacation. We chose to only eat breakfast from the deli, lunch from Pizza Hut or the Flying Bridge and ate dinner away from the hotel. Prices at the restaurants were a little pricey that is why we ate dinners away from the hotel. However, we did eat at Rum Fish and everyone enjoyed their meal. The bar crawl was so much fun. We met so many fun people along the way! We will be back to stay again. Loved the staff and the proximity of everything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

gorgeous beach & sunsets, great for kids!

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Amazing place - lots to do for kids. Nightly s'mores on beach & complimentary cabanas! Lots of restaurants right on site. Rooms were clean & staff polite. Must visit!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Ok hotel with plenty restaurants,bars. OK pools. Close to beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Love this place!

Posted Jul 13, 2016
A perfect resort for a family! This was our 3rd trip here and we will continue to come back year after year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as advertised. Bait and switch rooms.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: Close to beach
Cons: Be upfront with room charges and "resort" fees. Also, be honest when describing rooms. Ever heard of customer is always right? Not this place.
Location: The restaurant and bar at the Grand Hotel is excellent. I highly recommend it.
This room SEEMED like a bargain online. Then when we arrived expecting a "beach front" room or at least a room with a view, then we were told that 1) it would be an additional $175 per day for a beachfront room. and 2) the "standard room" that we were given was far walk from the beach and one of only a few in the complex without windows. The front desk offered us a room with a window for $65 more per night. 3) there were no resort fees listed when we booked. Upon arrival we found out the resort fees were $50 per day, plus additional taxes on the resort fee. We stay on the beach in this area 2 times per year. This was the worst experience that we have had with a room, due to all the hidden up charges, and the dungeon like room we endured. I encourage this hotel to follow suit with the other hotels in this area and be upfront, on the websites when booking and let the consumer choose if this hotel and the additional charges are for them. Or if they should move along the beach to a better hotel. I also did contact management to try to work out our problems and they told us "your welcome to leave and find other lodging, but we will still charge you for the time you booked with us". There are other hotels that are better on this beach, I encourage people to research before booking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great family friendly Hotel on the beach.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Large number of kid activities and location on the beach.
Cons: Bar closer to the pool or waiters to bring drinks or food to the pool area.
We stayed here for 4 nights with two families, 4 adults, 4 kids in June. This hotel is a great set up and location for kids and families. We reserved a gulf front room and they honored our request to have adjoining rooms between the two families. Gulf front here is not just a room with a view, we were right on the beach with nothing blocking our great view of the ocean and beach. The suite set up was a good layout with the suite area nearest the doors to the beach and separated from the beds. This allowed us to get the kids in bed and the adults to still have an area we could hang out or watch TV. Be sure to check the daily schedule is there is lots of activities to do for the kids but some of them are only at certain times and you can easily miss out on something. While there are lots of things included your stay there are also lots of activities and things the kids will want to do that will cost money. Take advantage of the beach cabanas as they are great retreat from the sun on beach days. We split our time between beach and pool with the kids. We will be back as family had a blast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Great place to enjoy the best of St. Pete's Beach

Posted May 13, 2016
We arrived and were immediately greeted by a friendly bellman. Our room wasn't quite ready, but the gentleman offered to check our bags and have them delivered when it was ready. I even received a call when everything was set. The bars and restaurants are all enjoyable. The frozen drinks were tasty. The opportunity to reserve a cabana made morning beach visits a breeze. The adult pool was SO appreciated, and it was relaxing and calm. The staff throughout our time at Tradewinds were the best (Tiffany at Red Beard's, Kevin the barman/karaoke King, Bridget in housekeeping, and Beau at the lobby bar...they went above and beyond. So great...so friendly and fun.). The trip was enjoyable, and I can't think of one drawback. We're looking forward to another visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, close to shops and restaurants

Posted May 7, 2016
Pros: Clean, close to shops and eating places. Pretty and right on the beach.
St. Pete Beach is amazing and Trade winds is the best. Great staff..upgraded us for free when we got there...room was comfortable and clean..on site restaurants were good and it was within walking distance to so many other restaurants. We took the trolley into John's Pass- a little bit of a wait-but there was transportation available at the hotel had we wanted it. Front desk so helpful..staff throughout the resort so accomodating. Fun activities. Awesome time. Hope to go again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Excellent for families

Posted May 4, 2016
Third time here and we love coming here with the family. Only bad part is that weekends are horrible. They allow day passes which minimizes the whole 4 star resort experience....two bedroom suite perfect for family of 5.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016
Beautiful resort, loved it! Nice location, wonderful amenities, lots to do in one location.