Ratings based on 2,031 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The Hotel itself is nice overall

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: We liked the amenities and activities at the hotel.
Cons: The Jacaronda Suites needs renovating!!!
Location: The city and location was nice.
The hotel room we were in.... Jacaronda Suites.... was disappointing and seemed to be old and in need of renovation. Only 1 of the 2 elevators worked... the furniture was old and chipped... the beds were uncomfortable.... the fridge was old and had cracks and dents in it... we needed to call housekeeping to come up and bring new towels.... there was no beach access from Jacaronda Suites...we needed to walk practically around the entire hotel to reach the beach.... It was also very inconvenient considering we had a wheelchair in our party and there were many places that were not wheelchair friendly. One of the paths was covered with dog poop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nebraska.

Hotel is right on the beach and very nice

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Food is not cheap at all which is this resorts downfall. The pool side bar and grill cost over $120!!! Ouch!! Besides that it was great! We went to the store and made most of our food from there on out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Great place for the whole family

Posted May 29, 2017
Great family vacation spot. Something for everyone. Friendly staff and clean hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Lovely!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly! Beach access with cabanas. Lots of different activities included and those you can buy such as wave runners, parasailing, boat rides, etc.
Cons: Beds bit too firm for us & lobby was freezing cold. Bar by lobby was 3x more than those by beach. Beware of Bluegreen Vacation sales ppl. Do research!
Location: Walking distance to different restaurants (Crabby Bills, Dunkin Donuts, iHop, Spinners...). Publix grocery store nearby. Try Tolley to diff. beaches.
Hotel right on the beach! Different pools available for little kids to adult only! Hammocks, lounge chairs, and cabanas all located near the pools or beach. We went at the end of May - not too crowded or loud. Used bathroom fan at night for white noise to help get to sleep, but would work for muffling noises of early morning risers in the hallways too. (We like to sleep in!) Bellhops, registration desk, transportation desk, restaurant staff, etc. all friendly. Definitely head to Bermuda's for the breakfast buffet during your stay - you will not go hungry! Many different places to eat on site (besides Bermuda's) from Pizza Hut Express and ice cream to the fancier Palm Court Italian Grill. Adults, be sure to stop by Salty's Tiki Bar for drinks and food! For a lighter meal, stop at the little shop by the hotel lobby for a great deli sandwich! They pair with Guy Harvey's, so enjoy their resort amenities too. RumFish Restaurant is a great experience, but be ready to pay for it! $$$$$$ Forgot sunglasses? There's a beach shop across the street with different attire and souvenirs at normal prices. Grocery store within walking distance. Reminder - do not feed the birds! Highly annoying when families do this on the beach. It attracts every seagull on the beach, poop & all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Absolutely wonderful for a family getaway :)

Posted May 19, 2017
We had a great time! Would definitely recommend this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Second stay at the Island Grand

Posted May 19, 2017
We stayed at the IG in 2016 and loved it so much we stayed again in 2017...and booked our 2018 stay before leaving the property! The Flying Bridge is the best, as is karaoke with Kevin at the Sharktooth. The beds are comfy, staff friendly, and amenities are great. We love the adult pool, and Sally's Tiki Bar is in close proximity. Bartenders are friendly and pour a good Rum Runner (Tiffany is AMAZING). I only wish we we unlimited days to stay and loads of $$$$. Only one rough spot with the employee working the coffee bar in the main lobby, but things do happen. We love the IG and can't wait to get back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was over run with conference people.

Posted May 3, 2017
Toomany conference/convention crazy acting people. Thin walls, could hear a lot. Needs to be refurbished, rooms looks the same as 3 years ago. Access to beach cabana was the best perk. Resort fee is ridiculous, way too high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but could be better

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Nice overall stay. Room was decent. Very confusing to navigate from guest room to pools to beach to restaurants. Poorly signed. Had to have an employee pretty much bring us to breakfast because we couldn't find the door to it. Last 2 days elevator nearest us 1 was out. Made for long waits to go up or down. Or to trek your stuff to the far other end. Only other poor thing was having to be asked about touring their vacation club. Barely had our keys in hand and started their sales pitch. Guess we weren't ready for that. Then being asked going to dinner and then again with a phone call to our room the day we were leaving. Lots of hidden charges for families with kids. The packet they give you for the kids to complete has you walking back and forth to purchase staff. Sounds like we didn't have a good time we really did. Just would have been better with some of these things eliminated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NH

Great location, beautiful beach

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location is great near excellent restaurants. Restaurant staff was excellent. There are a lot of beach activities available - not included in price.
Cons: Beach activities (paddle boards, small paddle boats) should be included in the price of the rooms, felt like we were paying extra for everything.
Location: Great restaurants - Rum Fish with the large aquarium is a must, bar on top of hotel next door - spectacular sunset views.
Hotel rooms were clean but dated. We had a suite, beds were full sized which were small for our tall family and there was not an inch to spare around the beds. Pools were very small and crowded. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We made the mistake of agreeing to the time share presentation by Bluegreen vacations. We were told it would be "fun and no pressure". The opposite was the case. The presentation was well over an hour and after we said no to the opportunity, they came back at us 3 more times with high pressure to buy in. Wish we had skipped that as it was not a great way to start our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Gulf front rooms are the best!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Had a great long weekend over Easter at TW. Kids had fun. Beach was amazing! Pool was very crowded but manageable if you went early and late.