Ratings based on 1,992 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Room walls like paper

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The rooms have no terrace/balcony & one window that didn't open; clostophobic. The one I was in is accessed from an open corridor. I could hear the normal conversations of the neighboring room. The bed was overly soft and perhaps uneven to the point of being difficult to get out of. The furnishings were pedestrian. I paid nearly $300/night for a value worth $150 at best.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs closer attention

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Bathroom walls and floor we're all rust stained the amenities you pay for we're only available 4 of the 9 days weather was a problem not there fault but adjustment could have been offered
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Wasnt the Grand Plaza that's for sure!

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Nothing at all
Cons: customer service, and communication
Location: we ate at the Grand Plaza Resort right next store, beeches wer very nice , and the cabanas were nice , the bar drinks were watered down , pina colata
we always use Expedia to Book all our trips, all fees are always disclosed and paid in advance. When I arrived at the TradeWinds Island Grand to check in I was emediately asked for my credit card this is normal to check in, then was hit with an additional "$50.00 resort fee" just so we could use the amenities and parking, apearently the cable , Pools, and parking arent included in your hotel stay without additional monies. when asked if I would leave an open card on file , I have declined and prefered to purchase as needed. At that exact moment my room was changed " she said we have upgraded you to rm 1504" couldnt sleep all night long due to barking dogs next to us, our view was a dumpster court yard with hotel staff smoking on breaks Im glad I only stayed 1 day and was deeply disappointed with the entire experience, every time we stay at the Grand Plaza next store we often viewed the "tradewinds" as a viable opotion. Im not even sure if they served breakfast or not. Communication was horrible and my upgraded Rm was a downgrade as punishment for not leaving an open card on file.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing was terrible, but certainly not excellent.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Food with subpar for what you pay. Aside from the big slide, the amenities you get for the resort fee are underwhelming. The Hotel staff at the counter and bellhops were great but the staff working along the beach were less than friendly. I would expect everyone working there to do their absolute best to make it a awesome experience and that was just not the case. It just felt like nobody cared if we were there. We stayed at the sister resort, Guy Harvey, last year and the staff was much better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxation

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Close to the beach. Had a wonderful experience. The staff is very helpful and friendly. A great place for a family trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Overall very good.

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Good food selection, nice pools, clean, safe and did not seem congested even though it was full. Lots of room throughout resort.
Location: Manatee watching is free at the power plant but a little disappointing. Swim with the manatees is worthwhile but keep-up with the swim leader.
Our family of four stayed for 4 nights. Nice restaurants on site. Convenient location. Lots of on-site amenities. A little expensive but overall very good. We had a car for various site-seeing tours. Hotel and general geographic area seemed very safe and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel on the Best Beach

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and nice size rooms and bathrooms. The balcony is nice to capture some nice views of the beach.
Cons: Could use some more pillow options, maybe some memory foam for the sofa bed.
We had a chance for a last minute get away while the girls were home on spring break, we decided this was the perfect place to go. Knowing the area and hotel well, we knew what were going to get, as we have stayed here at least 3 times in years past when the kids were younger. We had great weather. It was fun to see a lot of the same workers there. From Mark at the Concierge desk to John on the beach who is always fun to talk to, The hotel is always so clean and has so much to do. There is always a spot you can escape to and make it your own spot. I loved going down to the 2nd floor in the main building with a nice sitting area and loungers to read the paper in the morning while everyone was still sleeping. So nice to feel the sun. Or the back pool area later in the afternoon just before dinner. Obviously, the beach and weather top it all...Love the Cabana's The bonfire with smores at the Guy Harvey was fun at night. Enjoyed all of the options for food. We love being able to order Pizza Hut pizza right on the beach. There is always a TV around the corner to catch some of the basketball games. Elixer mixes up some great daiquiris at the Flying Bridge. Overall a great stay! Thanks, Tradewinds...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pre March break stay !!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
My daughter and I had s great stay here this week. Airline lost our bag , our rental car got rear ended a block from the hotel😭, but the staff were great , offering us s free room upgrade and a few drink vouchers to take the edge off
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malvern, PA

Family Vacation!

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: cabana reservation system, location, food (deli is awesome) and lots to see and do.
Cons: room wasn't very clean upon arrival - we had a balcony that wasn't really useful (very tiny) and birds were always on it, going to the bathroom
Location: lots of shopping and food within walking distance
Great location & kid/family friendly. I think it's about timing...we hit it right before spring break and there were no lines. Lots to see and do for all ages!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2017
We were disappointed. The rooms are very small and dated. We expected much more for the price we paid. Good activities for kids. Overall, the facility needs a facelift.