Ratings based on 1,920 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beZch, but overpriced!

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Glamorous but way overpriced!
Cons: Price
Location: Plenty of cheaper places to dine!
Ate elsewhere, restaurants overpriced! No evening entertainment which was expected! Alcohol way overpriced At poolside!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2016
La habitación anticuada, pequeña, sin terraza ni ventilación. Aunque muu buen situada cerca de la playa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin Ill

Close to the beach.

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Awesome staff. Room was good. Bathroom not so good. Back of door was very dirty and back of room entry door was gross. Food was very pricy, even in off season. Adult pool was a great option but was very cloudy water.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Great for families but pricey

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Family friendly, location. Great restaurants within walking distance. Pet owners are covered with a lovely pet park. Lots of pretty places to stroll
Cons: Price is too high for me. Give parking passes and wristbands at checkin. Can't fix this but pools are overcrowded and too warm.
Location: Great on the beach location! Walking distance to the best restaurants on St. Pete Beach:)
The resort fee is pricey-more so than any other resort/hotel I've ever stayed at. They go out of their way to justify it with the checkin literature, but it didn't change my opinion. This became a very expensive hotel room once resort fees were added in. Way too high priced for what is essentially a motel. Look at it carefully. Will you use everything they provide? If not, its wasted money and you might consider something different. Just FYI. You also have the option of going to the sister hotel and using their facilities but read the small print-lots of things have an additional fee. When you are on the beach there are alot of vendors-some work for hotel and are included (beach chairs/towels/the giant slide) and everything else costs extra. The inflatable playground in the water is NOT included FYI. I wasn't the only patron confused about that. There's a lot of vendors, beware. I found the pools a bit warm and over crowded in spite of that they have so many on the property. Grounds look good. They try hard here and have tons of activities-you will get a thick activity guide when you check in. Families will have fun here. Nice people, nice place, but ultimately, not my thing. I'm glad I gave it a try. You should too if you like the looks of it on the website.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very expensive charges

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Hotel is nice, pictures makes it look very luxurious. Grounds of hotel are very confusing, if it's raining and you need to get to the front desk or another part of the hotel prepare to get wet. Has restaurants on site, prepare to pay almost double for food and triple for adult beverages!! A small adult beverage usually $4 is $10 there, room service is addition $2.50 plus a 20% of your bill charge (delivery charges). Cabanas on the beach are nice to have, some are broken and sometimes there's sand inside the cabana so every time the wind picks up you get sand on you. Resort fee is $45.00 per night PLUS local sales tax PLUS occupation tax every night!!! Balconies are super small you can't even have the chair straight to sit in, you have to turn it sideways
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Three day stay

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Loved all the choices of things to do, waterslide, paddle boats, tennis etc.
Cons: The price is getting too high for all the hotels in the area. For this one $160 more for a beach room view that is about 300 square feet is extreme
Location: Great location and lots to do nearby.
Overall great, loved the beach, and restaurants there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clermont, FL

Parking issues

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Nice location and amenities.
Cons: Guest parking for sure! Elevator was terribly slow and lacked sufficient air flow (very hot).
Location: n/a.
Very upset about being allowed one car per room. We booked a suite with 6 people, including 4 adults and were not aware of the one car rule. We spent a great deal of time trying to work out this problem, which was eventually resolved, but put a huge damper on the entire stay. This was our first experience with the hotel, so impacted our rating. The staff was good, but the guest check-in experience was far from pleasant. My adult son would certainly never book here due to the experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Island Grand

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Nice location, Large beach not overcrowded. Room was Ok not dirty but not overly spectacular either.
Cons: The resort fee is ok if you are there o sunny days but kind of a bummer to pay for it when you don't get to use any of the amenities due to weather
Location: Great location. Plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. Not a long drive into tampa or from the airport either
Overall Nice Hotel. Seems like it had a lot more of amenities and things to do than other hotels in the area. Unfortunately we had rain for everyday we were there except for one so we didn't get to experience much of the fun pictured amenities you see in the photos. However we were still stuck paying the $45 per day resort fee despite a lot of the amenities not being operational the time we were there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Beautiful best in St. Petes

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right on the beach. Walking distance to Publix , CVS, 7-11, restaurants anything you want. But why Tradewinds has it all.
Stop looking this is the place! Right on beach great food clean pools. Things to do, water sports , try the banana boat and ask for the wild ride not the mild. It was a blast. This place can be quiet and relaxing or full day of activities , your choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good time

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Our family had fun at TW. The resort is right on the beach. The pools are very crowded and the resort could use some updates.