Ratings based on 2,024 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Great place for the whole family

Posted May 29, 2017
Great family vacation spot. Something for everyone. Friendly staff and clean hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Lovely!

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Friendly! Beach access with cabanas. Lots of different activities included and those you can buy such as wave runners, parasailing, boat rides, etc.
Cons: Beds bit too firm for us & lobby was freezing cold. Bar by lobby was 3x more than those by beach. Beware of Bluegreen Vacation sales ppl. Do research!
Location: Walking distance to different restaurants (Crabby Bills, Dunkin Donuts, iHop, Spinners...). Publix grocery store nearby. Try Tolley to diff. beaches.
Hotel right on the beach! Different pools available for little kids to adult only! Hammocks, lounge chairs, and cabanas all located near the pools or beach. We went at the end of May - not too crowded or loud. Used bathroom fan at night for white noise to help get to sleep, but would work for muffling noises of early morning risers in the hallways too. (We like to sleep in!) Bellhops, registration desk, transportation desk, restaurant staff, etc. all friendly. Definitely head to Bermuda's for the breakfast buffet during your stay - you will not go hungry! Many different places to eat on site (besides Bermuda's) from Pizza Hut Express and ice cream to the fancier Palm Court Italian Grill. Adults, be sure to stop by Salty's Tiki Bar for drinks and food! For a lighter meal, stop at the little shop by the hotel lobby for a great deli sandwich! They pair with Guy Harvey's, so enjoy their resort amenities too. RumFish Restaurant is a great experience, but be ready to pay for it! $$$$$$ Forgot sunglasses? There's a beach shop across the street with different attire and souvenirs at normal prices. Grocery store within walking distance. Reminder - do not feed the birds! Highly annoying when families do this on the beach. It attracts every seagull on the beach, poop & all!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Absolutely wonderful for a family getaway :)

Posted May 19, 2017
We had a great time! Would definitely recommend this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Second stay at the Island Grand

Posted May 19, 2017
We stayed at the IG in 2016 and loved it so much we stayed again in 2017...and booked our 2018 stay before leaving the property! The Flying Bridge is the best, as is karaoke with Kevin at the Sharktooth. The beds are comfy, staff friendly, and amenities are great. We love the adult pool, and Sally's Tiki Bar is in close proximity. Bartenders are friendly and pour a good Rum Runner (Tiffany is AMAZING). I only wish we we unlimited days to stay and loads of $$$$. Only one rough spot with the employee working the coffee bar in the main lobby, but things do happen. We love the IG and can't wait to get back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was over run with conference people.

Posted May 3, 2017
Toomany conference/convention crazy acting people. Thin walls, could hear a lot. Needs to be refurbished, rooms looks the same as 3 years ago. Access to beach cabana was the best perk. Resort fee is ridiculous, way too high.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good but could be better

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Nice overall stay. Room was decent. Very confusing to navigate from guest room to pools to beach to restaurants. Poorly signed. Had to have an employee pretty much bring us to breakfast because we couldn't find the door to it. Last 2 days elevator nearest us 1 was out. Made for long waits to go up or down. Or to trek your stuff to the far other end. Only other poor thing was having to be asked about touring their vacation club. Barely had our keys in hand and started their sales pitch. Guess we weren't ready for that. Then being asked going to dinner and then again with a phone call to our room the day we were leaving. Lots of hidden charges for families with kids. The packet they give you for the kids to complete has you walking back and forth to purchase staff. Sounds like we didn't have a good time we really did. Just would have been better with some of these things eliminated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from NH

Great location, beautiful beach

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location is great near excellent restaurants. Restaurant staff was excellent. There are a lot of beach activities available - not included in price.
Cons: Beach activities (paddle boards, small paddle boats) should be included in the price of the rooms, felt like we were paying extra for everything.
Location: Great restaurants - Rum Fish with the large aquarium is a must, bar on top of hotel next door - spectacular sunset views.
Hotel rooms were clean but dated. We had a suite, beds were full sized which were small for our tall family and there was not an inch to spare around the beds. Pools were very small and crowded. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We made the mistake of agreeing to the time share presentation by Bluegreen vacations. We were told it would be "fun and no pressure". The opposite was the case. The presentation was well over an hour and after we said no to the opportunity, they came back at us 3 more times with high pressure to buy in. Wish we had skipped that as it was not a great way to start our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from massachusetts

Gulf front rooms are the best!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Had a great long weekend over Easter at TW. Kids had fun. Beach was amazing! Pool was very crowded but manageable if you went early and late.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Had Higher Expectations

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: The entrance is the only thing that gives you the 4.5 star experience.
Cons: Major renovations.
Location: Beach was nice, however I would recommend Destin over this location.
We had originally booked a standard room. Upon arrival and check in, I decided to upgrade at an additional cost of $98 per night. The upgraded room was a second floor suite overlooking an inner property pool. Sounds good, however this totally seemed like the low rent district. The building that we were in needed major renovations. Seemed like chaos as tons of screaming children. The room was in a good location however again, it just seemed like a 1970's Howard Johnson motel, not a 4.5 star hotel. The room itself was ok, just like a dark hole once you were in it. Didn't have the feel as if you were at the beach. After one night, we ended up moving to the Guy Harvey hotel a couple of blocks away and had a bit better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location on the beach, but...

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Location was fabulous, right on the beach. Tons of activities, but with that being said almost everything was an extra charge. Food at the restaurants was just ok, but the prices were high & we had much better food off the property. Our room was very basic & small with the view of a rooftop and the resort did appear to be showing its age in some areas. Staff was attentive and very pleasant to deal with. Overall happy and would return.