Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Terrible room in 3 * hotel Azimut

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: None
Cons: About 70% needs to be refurbreshed
Location: I stayed for business
I stayed into Azimut hotel near Lermontovskaya street 4 days. I wasn't sure about room sizes and I booked Junior Suite just in case. Room was build into awful style. They have to give more attention to refurbishment. Windows are out of age. Walls around windows falling apart. Wind some times blowed through double glazed frame. Very old mattress with springs touching my back. Limmited food availability and not much services. Such small tv about 17" and so far from the bed. I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Monstrous Soviet-built hotel with tiny darkish spartan rooms (no air conditioner, no refrigerator, no sofa, no nothing - just a bed, a closet and a corner table), gloomy corridors and occasional flickers of Wi-Fi connection with dial-up modem speed. A few good things about it are the location, decent breakfast and friendly staff. Overall, it's OK for no more than one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2015 by ishekhunova@azimuthotels.com, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Dear Bolder, thank you for taking the time to share the review of your recent stay in our hotel and filling in the survey for AZIMUT Hotel Saint Petersburg. We are very pleased that you really enjoyed our breakfast and our stuff. I fully understand that we did not live up to your expectations at all and unfortunately, you stayed in one of our non-renovated rooms and you did not get to experience our brand new SMART rooms. Sorry that you have negative impressions. We all look forward to welcoming you again. With best regards, Irina Shekhunova Chief Operating Officer
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Very impressive for the price

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The location and and the staff's work.
Location: It is located right in the center. For 300 RUR you can take a taxi anywhere within the center boundaries.
I took a junior suite which turned out to be just a typical hotel room with a small lobby. Take a "smart" junior suite if you are looking for more comfortable stay. The hotel's staff work was impeccable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2015 by Irina Shekhunova , Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Dear Igor, thank you for staying in AZIMUT Hotel Saint-Petersburg and your kind detailed review. We all look forward to welcoming you again. With best regards, Irina Shekhunova Chief Operating Officer
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

Decent place to stay

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was a nice plus. Rate was pretty good for st Petersburg, and the room was clean.
Cons: Individual thermostats in rooms
Included breakfast was quite extensive, good variety of food. Room was small, but clean. Bed was fine, though I requested a king and was given a single. The room was warm and I was not able to locate a thermostat. A bit of a walk from the metro, but not too bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2015 by Irina Shekhunova, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Dear Guest Cheri, thank you very much for your comments about accommodation in our Hotel. We are very pleased that you really enjoyed our breakfast. We are very glad that you have good staying and sleeping. We all look forward to welcoming you again. With best regards, Irina Shekhunova Chief Operating Officer
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 20, 2013
Pros: Staff - quality of food in the German/Italian restaurant.
Cons: Just about everything. Rooms small and not too clean - carpets in the corridor areas worn out - dark and drab interior to the main hotel areas -
Location: Location OK but no main sights within walking distance - 10/15 mins by taxi to main tourist areas. Metro not close.
Large Soviet era hotel circa 1970s. Pros : Helpful staff mainly English speaking - food in the German/ Italian restaurant good quality and not expensive - location reasonable but not withing walking distance of tourist attractions. Cons : Standard rooms very small - if you use the hotel restaurant or large lobby bar you cannot charge to your room so you have to pay case or use your credit card every time you order something. Note : Since August 2013 the hotel is under major reconstruction - some facilities such as the panoramic bar are closed - seems that floor by floor the hotel will be completely refurbished but noise can now be a facor. Recommendation - dont book this hotel until all renovation works have been completed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The average rating paints the accurate picture

Posted Aug 28, 2013
The hotel was OK. Some rooms are recently updated. Rooms are very small though. When I first checked in, they didn't have non-smoking rooms! but after talking to a manager, they found one :). Breakfast was included and had a large menu; however, be aware that this hotel accommodates a lot of large groups so the breakfast restaurant gets very busy in the morning. I stayed in the hotel because of its proximity to where I needed to be, but it is not very close to the downtown (not walkable distance).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel from hell

Posted Nov 16, 2012
Pros: nothing
The worst hotel in ST. Petersburg because of the room teperature ,extremely noisey and lack of cleaning
1 out of 5
by Experienced tra from MD

Enjoy St. Petersburg, don't stay at the Azimut.

Posted Nov 11, 2012
Pros: Restaurant was good.
Cons: Everything else.
Location: Remote
My stay on the 11th floor began with stained, peeling carpet squares, rusty shower, and a smelly toilet. Maid service is nearly non-existent. The little TV was broken, staff said their IT person would look into it, never did though. WiFi is sporadic. "Business center" means they let you use one of their terminals on the counter at the front desk for ten minutes. Incredibly noisy, from street traffic to unsupervised kids running up and down the halls till midnight. The room temperature was a constantly over 80 degrees. I have stayed at many lower priced "rustic hotels" but they always have some nice experiences to balance out quality issues. That is not the case here. One positive is that there is a decent breakfast, and the restaurant does serve good food at decent prices.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didnt like it

Posted Jan 12, 2012
Left the room they dont have non smoking rooms at least thats what they told me at recep
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

TINY ROOM in a Bad Neighborhood

Posted Apr 23, 2010
It was clean, but its finest amenity was the in room bathroom. Tiny room, and let me reiterate that it was small. If you stay there ask to stay in the renovated area. We did not and it was not nice. It was clean, but just not nice. I would have been really upset if the room was not basically free with our airfare. If you want a basic no frills room that is tiny then go for it.