Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Alexander House

Posted Apr 26, 2017
A lovely hotel. The condition of the rooms and service was all fine. The staff are very friendly and all spoke good English. This is a great choice if you are visiting the Mariinsky, but a great choice for the entire city. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Small friendly hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Location: 40 mins walk to city centre, but very near to the Mairinski Theatre
Staff were exceptional - extremely helpful and very pleasant and professional! Room was clean and fresh - breakfast (included) was varied - both cooked and continental options - overall very impressed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Napa Valley

Fabulous small hotel in quiet neighborhood

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Located in a very quiet spot. On a canal.
The hotel and staff are charming. Could not hope for a nicer more inviting place. The only disadvantage is the fact that there are few restaurants in the area. No metro stop. The tram or bus is a good 3 to 4 blocks away. I like to walk so it was not a problem. The hotel offers 24 hour service in the restaurant. The staff specialize in cheerfulness and good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little gem

Posted Sep 23, 2016
We stayed there for 4 nights in September and were absolutely delighted. The staff are all super young, and helpful, they speak really good English and were always more than happy to help with directions and restaurant bookings. Our room was gigantic and the bathroom was very spacious too. Breakfast was delicious. Being welcomed with a hot tea every night after a day of walking around the city was also the icing on the cake! Location is good - although not quite super central but taxis/ Uber are cheap and there are a few sights really close by too (St Nicholas Cathedral, Mariinsky).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Hotels
Loved this place. Very helpful and friendly staff. Fantastic breakfast. A little out of the way, but still walkable to most sights. Would recommmend in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Wonderful experience. The staffs there speaks good English and they are extremely helpful. The breakfast there are good. Strongly recommended.
5 out of 5
by David from Baku / Houston

Great stay at Alexander House

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
The Alexander House is a boutique hotel in central St. Petersburg; it is just a short walk down the canal to the beautiful Nickolas- Epiphany Naval Cathedral and the famous Mariinsky Theatre. This is a super warm and relaxing hotel with a outdoor sitting area on the first floor and large den areas open to some rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Surroundings were quiet and it is about a 20-30 minute walk into the Admiralty. We love to walk so this was perfect to us! The breakfast was superb, it included fresh baked pastries every day also there are no shortages of dining opportunities within a short walk. The wifi connection was very fast and there was a computer located in the study on the 2nd floor in case you needed to print anything. The rooms are very comfortable; our deluxe room was quite spacious. First and foremost, we must say that we appreciated the awesome staff; they were so kind, so helpful, so caring, even to Americans visiting the Russian Federation. Can’t wait to go back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear David! Thank you very much for choosing Alexander House for your stay! We are sincerely glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay that much and appreciate high evaluation of our services. We are looking forward to see you again among our guests. Best regards, Alexander House reservation department.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Lovely relaxed hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Small, boutique hotel, quite location with very helpful attentive staff. Perhaps a little too far from the tourist area unless you are a keen walker.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
the room was good. just not our style for the decoration. and the price is too high for this boutique.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice quite hotel in perfect location

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: perfect location, very cozy design and pleasing staff
Cons: heating system in the rooms at 3rd floor should be improved
Location: closest access to Mariinka and beautiful cathedrals
perfect hotel for short business and leasure stay, authentic, very clean and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2016 by Ekaterina Boyarina, Hotel Management
Dear Guest! Thank you very much for spending time to write a review about Alexander House. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for heating inconvenience- it was extremely cold in St.Petersburg while you stay and city heating systems just did not work properly. Looking forward to see you again among our guests! Best regards, Alexander House reservation department.