Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US, NY City

Good & clean hotel, friendly staff, key location

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Our room was fantastic, with a balcony facing Saint Isaac's Cathedral, very nice and clean. All members of the hotel's staff speak English very well, were extra friendly, ready to put their best foot forward in order to make sure that our staying would be as pleasant as possible: Julia - the concierge, Katerina - member of the reception team - nice, clean cut smart youngsters, pleasure to deal with. The Hotel is located in so called city's historical center with walking distance to all the attractions sach as Hermitage and other landmarks. No problem finding various restaurants and bars near by, as well as shopping.
Cons: The bathroom could be a bit larger, but again - this is one of the city's historical buildings, means to change room's layout were most likely limited.
Location: Key location, lots of attractions near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Yorks

very central St P hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: Location, style, keen room rate
Cons: nil obvious
Location: St Isaacs is opposite, short walk to Hermitage, Russian Museum, and other major sights
Easier to access since Admiralty metro station opened. Charming, view of St Isaac opposite, and they even added fireworks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what was in the pictures

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Hotel starring is quite different in Russian nstandards. Rooms are to say the least small and modest, doesnt make difference if it is delux or "regular" room. Only studio and above is somewhat different (i.e. in this case bigger).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris- France

Great location. Needs renovation.

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Renovation.
Location: Great location. Near important sites.
Got a room upgrade. The room needs update. A four star hotel but a low 4 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, effective management

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The staff's attitude
Cons: Taxi services should be more articulated - learn from US
Great place to stay, though almost Astoria's cost of breakfast which should worth less.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montclair NJ

Best Location in St Petersburg

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Our stay at The Angleterre Hotel couldn't have been more perfect. From the moment we arrived the staff greeted us warmly and were attentive to our needs throughout our stay. The twin room was a good size, the beds very comfortable and the bathroom modern and sparkling clean. The breakfast buffet was so varied and delicious that we couldn't get bored even over eight mornings. What really makes this hotel the best choice in St. Petersburg is its location. Situated right on St. Isaac's Square, we were able to walk to all the major sights or to take trams right outside our door. We were so happy that we found and booked this hotel. We felt completely comfortable and at home there. We give it our highest recommendation and would gladly stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for major attractions and shopping

Posted May 25, 2015
We found Maria, the concierge extremely helpful for booking taxis at the best rate, advice on moving about the city and obtaining money, which would have otherwise been a problem. The other desk staff were also patient and charming. The restaurant staff were most attentive and fun. Loved the saxophone player!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from worcestershire

Good hotel in great position.

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Staff Position
Cons: Price of extras and trips too much.
Location: Great location opposite St Isaacs and easy to walk to most attractions.
A fantastic venue for sight seeing. Everyone we met was exceptionally friendly. Peterson by hydrofoil is a MUST, ad is the Hermitage. Lots to see and do. Best to organise everything yourself as hotel add-ons are expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Excellent hotel near St. Isaac's Cathedral

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Location is outstanding. The staff was cordial and eager to help on anything we needed. The price was a bargain.
Cons: The air conditioning (if there is any) did not seem to work. Maybe we didn't know how to use it.
Location: Great, great, great.
This hotel is a gem of a find. It is located next to St. Isaac's Square and Cathedral and connected to the Hotel Astoria next door. The reception staff and bellhops were courteous and most helpful. The room and bath were both large, clean and up to date. It is centrally located near many of St. Petersburg's top visitor sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

City center

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Excellent location. Really good staff some extra work needed on room facilities and housekeeping. Needed to ask for items more tham once.