Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Ratna from New york, NY

The perfect place for us

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect location and very charming interior and staff. For the price, I cannot imagine a better option. And this option makes you wonder whether it's worth it to spend more somewhere else, be it the four seasons, the Taleon Imperial, or elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Amazing location at the heart of everything

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Staff, oversized bath, location
Cons: Breakfast wasn't great, head to the bakery round the corner.
Location: All the main tourist attractions are nearby or a 20 min walk away.
We had a nice stay here, the location could not be better, the room was very clean which is all I ever really want in a hotel.
5 out of 5
by Marcia from East Greenbush, NY

Great place

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic location near Kazan Cathedral. Very helpful staff. Charming breakfast room. Only caveat is that you walk up two flights of stone stairs.Great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quirky but welcoming

Posted May 20, 2015
They take their support of art seriously and have built a warm and welcoming hotel. Yes, it's a bit quirky (internal stairwell, bold decoration, double electronic security doors). But, the staff were welcoming and accommodating, the room was clean, and the location is great for metro/top sights/dining & drinking. I liked the history of the place and enjoyed the decor. Very happy with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Antique hotel with good location

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Quite a pleasant experience as the hotel runs like a gallery with lots of antique furniture. Carrying my luggage for 2 floors was painful. Location right next to Kazan cathedral and 10 mins walk to Winter Palace only. Lots of restarants nearby.
3 out of 5
by Yik

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by EK from Israel

Special atmosphere and unmatched location

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
The old, artistic decor is great. Very different from modern hotels. The stuff seem to try to help with any request, and their English is very good. My wife and I enjoyed room # 28: it's spacious and quiet. The hotel's location is excellent: we stayed in the city for 8 days, saw all the attractions, and never used public transportation. Had great weather, so enjoyed the walking. Breakfast could have a little more variety and served earlier (it only starts at 8). The hotel can arrange transportation to and from the airport for 1500 rubels, but if you take a taxi yourself it's only 800. They advertise having a kitchenettem, which we thought would be available for making your own coffee/tea, but this isn't the case: they sell you the drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice small hotel in a brilliant location .

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Friendly helpful staff . . Great value for money within walking distance of some major sights .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value and location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Small room, but clean and comfortable. Great location and helpful staff.