Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, ca

Great location, overall good value for the money

Posted May 25, 2017
The Location is awesome, walking distance to all major points of interest. Breakfast is included and Its delicious!! Rooms are small, but it's normal for all historical buildings in center of Saint P. I would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique hotel, great locatiion

Posted May 20, 2017
Pros: above
Cons: above
Location: above
First of all, the room and the shower area were the smallest I have ever encountered. There is no way to disguise that. So if having a room of normal size is important to you, upgrade within the Rachmaninov's offering of rooms or look elsewhere. That is not so important to me When I travel, the room is a place to sleep. I want it to be quiet and safe and to have a friendly staff. ... The Rachmaninov had all that. The staff was very friendly, there was little or no street noise, the complimentary breakfast was a nice way to start the day ... and did I say the staff was very nice. From check in to check out the girls on the young women on the desk were helpful and friendly. I probably saw more of Maria than any. She is an impressive young lady, professional in her duties and also a student of the Japanese language who also works with disabled people, teaching them life skills. On my last day there I had an early flight and she fixed breakfast for my companion and me long before breakfast would normally have been served. ... The hotel location is another plus. You could throw a tennis ball from the front door to Kazan Cathedral, the famous Nevsky Prospect is only a block away and the Winer Palace/Hermitage/Admiralty is only 15 minutes away by foot. ... the funkiness of the place, art on all the walls, the narrow street entrance, the four flights of stairs up to the hotel combine to give this place its very own feel. I liked it a lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Aliya, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review! We strive to maintain the highest quality of services and are always glad to hear our guests had a pleasant stay. I have passed your praise to Maria and other staff at the reception and they send you their sincerest gratitude and hope your next visit will be as enjoyable. We will be happy to see you in our hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located with great breakfast!!!

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Hotel arranged taxi airport pick up. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Hotel has a nice vibe to it....antiques, paintings, oozes history. This hotel is well situated...ten minute walk to Hermitage and in close proximity to a variety of restaurants and across the street from 2 Georgian restaurants. If at The Marketplace...fast-food chain...look for the business lunch every day special, which includes soup, salad, drink and main, for as little as 250 roubles. We highly recommend it for its excellent breakfast and great coffee. Art Hotel Rachmaninov is a great choice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Aliya, administrator at hotel "Rachmaninov", Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will pass your compliments on the breakfast and coffee to our kitchen staff, they continually strive to provide excellent service and will be happy to hear your kind words. We hope we will welcome you in our hotel again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located boutique hotel with atmosphere galore

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent small hotel with great staff; a wonderful breakfast and location, location, location. Very comfortable large bed and staff with good English to help with small queries. Only gripe was the very erratic (and often non-existent) wi-fi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing...

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
A very over-rated hotel. Yes it has nice artwork in the halls but otherwise very basic. I paid extra for a comfort room and it had no place to sit and no desk - just a vanity and two dining room chairs. There is also no lift so you have to trudge up and down with your luggage (and there is no one to assist you). Breakfast was basic and a bit hit and miss. Wifi was patchy. I would not stay here again and I really don't understand all the hype about how fantastic this place is - it was definitely not my experience.
3 out of 5
by Beth from San Jose

Helpful staff

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
Very colorful historic hotel. Be prepared; there is no lift. Pleasant stay with nice breakfast. Be prepared if you shower in the morning as the water just stopped midway through my shower. The staff speaks English and was able to process the Russian visa invitation for us and also sent a taxi to the train station to pick us up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Lots of character in a fantastic location!

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Convenient location, overall character and charm, friendliness and helpfulness of staff
Location: The hotel is located right in the historic district, close to everything
Art-Hotel Rachmaninov definitely exceeded our expectations. It is located in the historical district within walking distance of everything. I loved the fact that it is in the upper floors of a regular building and felt like we were in a "local" flat. The art that fills the hallways was lovely, and our room had the perfect balance of modern conveniences and old-world charm. The family 2-bedroom suite we stayed in was perfect for our family of four. The staff were extremely nice and helpful with giving us tips, directions, and making restaurant reservations for us. The breakfast room was full of charm and the food perfect for getting us ready for our daily excursions. We had a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
by Olga

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ronak from San Francisco

Great place at great price

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Best value for the price. Staff is super helpful. Very unique character of the hotel. Amazing location and decent sized rooms. Economy rooms are very small but comfort rooms are decent sized. Same is the case with bathroom. It would be good if bath tubs has curtains. I would highly recommend this place. Location is too good.