Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service and facilities

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff & concierge, the architecture with the courtyard, the breakfast and breakfast service. We also liked the location.
Cons: The room thermostat
Location: We started out with a quick walk to the fabulous Faberege museum...then on to the Church of Our Savior, Spilled Blood, then to the Kavan Cathedral.
The english speaking staff were especially helpful and did everything with a smile and sincere interest in our visit and comfort. Two restaurants offer very good food and the breakfast and breakfast service was terrific. The only reason for the 4 ranking was the inability to get the room temperature cool, so we opened windows, which due to the rooms location was only somewhat helpful.
4 out of 5
by Jennifer

A little gem

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet hotel, with 24 hour service restaurant, English speaking staff, and great location close to Nevsky street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, value for money

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Nice cosy hotel which is located near attractions and shopping facilities. Breakfast spread offers a good range of hot and cold food. Staff is helpful and friendly. Restaurant at the hotel served excellent food!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
helpful staff, great breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very good hotel with two nice restaurant on the site. Will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Greeat location and great service! Will book it again next time I am in St Petersburg!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

A real gem hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location. Very friendly staff, fast check in and check out. Nice, clean rooms. Very good breakfast. Not our first and it won't be our last stay here for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clio, Michigan

Beautiful historic hotel in St. Petersburg

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: What is not to like? Everything was beautiful, clean and the location was great.
Location: The Helvetia is located in the historic district and you can walk to shops, restaurants and attractions easily.
The Helvetia is conveniently located near historic sites in St. Petersburg. The hotel is charming, the staff speaks English and was very helpful in planning our visit. We found the room to be very deluxe, comfortable and clean. We ate lunch at the restaurant in the courtyard and the service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wrexham, Wales

Lovely hotel with character and well situated

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: Good staff and welcome
Cons: Little
Location: The hotel is just off Nevsky Prospect close to a metro station allowing one to reach the historic centre and other points of interest in a short time
This was our first visit to St Petersburg and picked this hotel as it was well reviewed and used by reputable tour companies. We were not disappointed. The welcome was warm and the room excellent for the price we paid. Breakfasts were good and the staff always friendly and helpful which was very reassuring as independent travellers. We used the restaurant on one evening and while not as 'smart' as might be expected in Britain in a hotel of this class, the service was efficient and the food of a high standard. We would definitely use this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
It is the 2nd time I have stayed at the hotel in 9 months. And still haven't been disappointed with either visit. The staff are always very friendly and helpful, and always welcome you warmly. Being right in the middle of SPB and a not a stone throw from Nevsky Prospeck, you have every thing at your fingertips. To name a few; shops, restaurants even the metro and trams and not forgetting the attractions