Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Old hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 12, 2016
This is an old hotel in a great location. We had a good stay but it certainly could do with some improvements. The junior suite was huge. The furniture was old and poor quslity. The beds were very poor and unconfortable. The bathroom was primitive with an array of exposed pipes and patch work of tile. The breakfast was good and better than most $100 US hotels. When they say they close at 10, you better be there before 9.45.
5 out of 5
by Alexander from Florida

History Hotel

Posted Nov 15, 2015 on Hotels
short walk to Mariinsky Theatre
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

close to town centre 5-10 mins walk

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: the inside of the hotel was beautiful old design small hotel with 3 floors
Cons: the bath water was very muddy and the smell i turned on the bath water hot tap and the water was a brown muddy colour cannal in colour
Location: in the right location for some nice small cafee nearby and the town centre within walking distance for all tours
a very warm welcome from the staff they we realy helpful with providing taxis helped to make my stay special
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Excellent value hotel near the heart of the city

Posted Jul 22, 2015
The hotel was quite comfortable and in a great location, about 15 minutes walking to St. Isaac's Cathedral. The bathroom included soap and a hair dryer. The hotel is in a very cool old building overlooking one of the canals. The continental breakfast is Russian in style and will be enough food for anybody. The hotel staff were very accommodating. Overall this is a great hotel for someone on a budget and the overall quality far exceeded expectations.
5 out of 5
by Alexander N from Florida

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
outstanding hotel
5 out of 5
by Alexander N from Florida

Great hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel and location
5 out of 5
by Alexander N from Florida

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels
outstanding hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location lots of character

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Nice quiet but central location, not far from a metro and within walking distance of most attractions.
Staff were very friendly. Room warm, bathroom excellent. Breakfast interesting and far more choice than necessary.
5 out of 5
by Shishman from sisman

Finding hotel can be hard

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is close to St Petersburgh attractions but initially finding the hotel was hard because of the street names in crylic alphabet hotel not a 3 star but clean and very great customer service
4 out of 5
by William from Gainesville, Florida

Great view of the Griboedova Canal

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels
I enjoyed my stay at Hotel History. I booked a "suite" and it was a very large room, so it was pleasant to relax in which I needed to do since I had three fractured ribs and two fractured vertebrae. I am a ballet lover, and I had planned this trip in advance to see 11 ballets in 11 days. This hotel was close to the Mariinsky so I was able to nap in the afternoons before I went to the theatre every night. I had a room overlooking the Griboedova Canal so it was a lovely view, because I could see the Lion Bridge from my window. The only downside of this was that tourist boats went by constantly with loudspeakers talking about the bridge. However, I can sleep through anything once I fall asleep so I didn't mind. I just mention it in case someone reading this is a light sleeper, then you will want a room looking out into the courtyard probably. It was very nice to stay in what looked like an old palace, although I think it was used as many different things. I found it clean unlike other reviews. The rotating people at the desk were also very helpful when I needed to locate addresses. The breakfast included a lot of items to choose from although I really only liked the cookies and coffee.