Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GA, US

Nice small hotel in a convenient location

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: location, staff
Location: next to two subway stations, a bus stop, a small mall, a few fast food restaurants, 15-20 min walk to the city's main attractions (Palace square...)
Nice small hotel next to a subway and a short walk to the city center, nice and helpful staff (can help you with excursions). Standard breakfast options (oatmeal, corn flakes, pastries, yogurt, boiled eggs, cheese and bologna, choice of coffee), tea and coffee with waffles are available all day. If you come with kids (more than two in a room) expect them to sleep on a chair/sofa bed (as in most of Russian and European hotels). The room was clean but limited with desk space. Old building with large windows in our corner room, kind of makes it authentic. Be prepared to carry your luggage on the staircase up: the elevator stops between floors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds Yorkshire

Still Excellent value, but slipping a bit

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: The staff were very friendly and the hotel is located in the city centre
Cons: During busy holiday periods, it would be a good idea to increase breakfast room capacity - Even by putting more tables and chairs in the reception.
Location: The Allegro Moskovsky is right in the middle of where the action is;- Very close to 3 Metro stations in Sennaya square, And good for shopping.
I have stayed at the Allegro a few times now and I can recommend this place for it's excellent location and general value for money. However, on this occasion it stated to get full and busy towards the end of the week due to people arriving for the "Russian Easter holiday", and this caused problems in the breakfast room on a morning (which is now open 7am -10am). Everybody seems to go in there between 9am and 10am, so there's no where to sit. On my last day I tried to go in earlier to avoid the crowds, but it was just as bad. So I decided to stand by the worktop to prepare my breakfast of corn flakes cereal, then I found out there was no milk left. So when I asked the waitress if she could bring some more "Moloko", she said there was no more left.!! - For goodness sake Allegro, Get your act together, There is a big supermarket next door, So there is no excuse for running out of such a basic item. I do appreciate this was not normal circumstances with the hotel full to capacity, but maybe something should be done the next time this situation arises, for example breakfast room sitting times for guests if need be. Other than that, I had a pleasant stay in the hotel in a nice quiet room at the back of the hotel overlooking a courtyard. This room still had carpet, which I prefer over the new laminated floors which some of the rooms have. I would have liked my bathroom towels changed a bit more often, Then again, maybe they only change them if you leave them on the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds, Yorkshire England

Continuous improvement

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: The staff are very friendly and the receptionists speak good English. The location couldn't be better, and the breakfast room is open till 11:00am
Cons: A huge selection of Russian channels are available on TV's in the room but maybe BBC news or RT English wouldn't go a miss, Nor would a washbasin plug
Location: The hotel's right where you need to be, close to all the main attractions and the 3 metro stations of Sennaya Square if you don't feel like walking.
This was my third stay at the Allegro Moskovsky Prospect during my several visits to St Petersburg. It's nice to see that the management are committed to continually improve the quality of this hotel. The latest thing being a rather smart looking laminated flooring in the bedrooms. Personally, I hate the stuff - give me carpet any day, but I'm sure I would be outspoken on that matter. Curiously, My room had a "sweaty feet" odour which the air freshener couldn't get rid of - Maybe from the new flooring or the air conditioning, but certainly not me!! The breakfast room, as before offers cereals, yoghurts, savoury and sweet pasties, cooked meats, cheese and salad. There's also a toaster to put the sliced bread in. Fresh ground coffee is available and there's a hot and cold water dispenser which you can use to make tea.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds, Yorkshire England

Good to be back

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: And if you are a "lazy bones" like me, breakfast is available until 11am every day :-)
Cons: Those "memory foam" bed mattresses are terrible, I find that I am too hot during the night when I sleep on these. I'm a person who likes a firm bed.
This is my 2nd stay at this hotel, My first stay was in February 2014. I thought it was a good value hotel then, and things are even better now that the breakfast room has had a makeover with new kitchen units and facilities. Freshly baked pasties are now on offer and ground coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, Sketchy entrance.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Room odour
Location: Close to metro station, restaurants and stores
Room was ok; it smelled like moist though. Third bed was a couch which left little room to mover around
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reston, VA

Just above expectations!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Customer service, location, rooms and breakfast,!
Very happy about my choice! It looks not really good outside and maybe hard to find it, but very nice inside! The room was clean, the customer service is excellent! We wanted to change the room, because it was close to front desk and we were worry to hear talking and phone calls. Despite on hotel was completely booked we were able to move to another room! The breakfast was amazing, not as much as we had seen in other hotels but very tasty, and in Russian tradition! Location is good as well, just walking distance from Palace square, also lots of shops and places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Taipei

Value for money.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Location is good. The room is new and clean. Hotel staff at reception desk is friendly and helpful. However, staffs in the restaurant is cold and a bit undisciplined.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted May 30, 2014
Friendly, comfortable hotel near the centre of the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alper from İstanbul

Nice hotel and near to nevski

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: Entrance of building
I was disappointed when i saw the entrance of hotel but room was ok. Already most of the hotels in city center like this. But room was ok and staff was so helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by noname from sd

Very centric. great value for the money

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Very good price
Cons: had some problems with the wifi speed. hope they fix it soon.
Location: as centric as it gets, perhaps a bit too much.
Entrance is not promising, but inside it is fine. Rooms are very big. Good heating and very comfortable. My room was on Moskovsky so it was a bit noisy but not too bad.