Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and clean hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is situated in a courtyard off the Fontanka canal, in the centre of St Petersburg - about 10 minutes walk from Nevsky Prospekt and 3 minutes from Zvenigorodskaya metro, which is very convenient. The staff are very friendly and check in was quick and organised.The room was very clean as was the bathroom. I received new towels everyday and free toiletries. Lots of variety for breakfast - juice, tea, coffee, eggs, breads, cakes, yogurt, salads, hot food - sausages, rice, really delicious pancakes with soft cheese and apples. The only problem are the walls, which are very thin - so thin that I could sometimes hear the TV, people talking, laughing and snoring next door.
4 out of 5
by Mikael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Julian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth from Saint -Petersburg

Good

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels
Stay was good . It was very good food and nice lady at the kitchen. Cleaning of the room was good among refrigerator. Problem with refrigerator : refrigerator is not working when people out of the room because electricity is turn off. So refrigerator should work independently from room connection. When refrigerator is not attach to electricity its door should be open ( common rule), in other case there is smell of mold inside!!!!
3 out of 5
by Paul from Leeds, Yorkshire

Nothing Special - Just run of the mill

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The bed was nice and firm, Ideal for my back and there was a fridge in the room for keeping drinks cool.
Cons: It would be nice if the air conditioning did not switch off when one removes their key-card from the electric slot. It would keep the room cool.
Location: The location is good - Not far from Sennaya Square, but it was difficult to find the access road that leads into the hotel.
I chose the Cameo Hotel due to the reasonable price and the fact that someone on here says the breakfasts were good - Well, I was a little disappointed with the latter, I was expecting something outstanding rather than boiled sausages and stone cold omelette? No bacon and fried eggs at this place! I decided to stick to the muesli which was ok for me. The hotel itself seems quite modern inside and my room had a television with 17 channels to choose from - All Russian :-) As with most of the other hotels in St Petersburg, Don't forget to pack a sink plug in your suitcase if like me, you like to fill up the basin to wash your face. The Russians seem to prefer to wash their faces under a running tap, so they don't provide a plug for the sink. As mentioned before, the hotel is situated in it's own grounds and is relatively easy to find on foot, but we some problems finding the way in by car.
4 out of 5
by Gordon from Halifax, Canada

Nice, simple, hotel near the centre of things

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel was a welcome surprise. Tucked away in a somewhat dodgy (hard to find) courtyard, right on the Fontanka River embankment, half way between Nevsky Prospect and Gorakhovaya Street. It is a bit of a walk to the centre and Mariinski theatre, but along safe streets. Other reviewers praised the breakfast. I concur! Very good. Helpful, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Chiswick, London

Recommended hotel for visiting Saint Petersburg

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Rooms clean, excellent breakfasts, knowledgeable staff. Standard of English not too bad.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Restaurants, convenience stores closely situated to the hotel. Boat trips also recommended, although they only last one hour.
Plenty to see and do in this city. Don't forget the various shopping arcades as well as the museums, art galleries. Treat yourselves to both the Mariinsky complex, with it's concerts and operas, the Mikhailovsky Theatre is also a must. Also recommended is a visit to the royal palaces outside Saint Petersburg. Taxis are reasonably priced. The weathers not too bad either, considering it is northern Europe.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Evgeny

The best choice if you travel by car

Posted Jan 9, 2014
I’ve been to St. Petersburg many times and stayed at many different hotels. But Cameo is probably the best options for those, who travel by car. It takes less than 10 minutes to get to the city center on foot. Of course, there are hotel, which are located even closer, but there it’s quite difficult to find a place for your car. Around this hotel you’ll find so much space that you can park all your cars or even land a plane. The yard, where the hotel is located, doesn’t look very nice, but it is very quiet, and noise insulation of the hotel is also excellent, which allows you to rest in complete silence. The breakfast is awesome. Along with the standard food you can find at other hotels, they also serve traditional Russian food like pancakes, pies, jams, condensed milk. Whenever you come, you’ll always find all the food they serve, and free tables. There is only one minor disadvantage – they don’t have a passenger elevator. But there is a tiny elevator for luggage, and there are just for floors there, so it’s not a big problem.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, basic conditions

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Pros: Front desk staff, cafeteria staff and breakfast was good - only positive thing I can say.
Cons: See above.
Located in good location (Fontanka) though no direct access from main streets - deep inside Soviet-style courts (Fontanka 90, bld.6). Staff is trying to do their best, but need training in customer service. I stayed at "luxury two bedroom" how they position it, but I can't agree with definition "luxury": carpet was heavily worn and smell old, sink was clogged and I had constant problem waiting when water will go down, bathroom floor tiles came out here and there, refrigerator didn't work (actually it was heating instead of cooling). Door access card worked only for a day and you have to re-program card daily. They charged up to $200+ per night at selected nights but in reality room value is twice lower.Disappointing experience.
3 out of 5
by Jamesljt from Singapore

Excellent breakfast

Posted Sep 26, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel is a 4 storey building without lift. Breakfast is good, otherwise very average