Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow

decently located but priced above its class

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: close to metro, near Nevsky Prospekt
Cons: Wifi quality, quality of interior, thin walls
I expected a four star hotel, and paid a four star price, but the hotel really should be three stars. It was clean, but sparsely decorated, the smell of cigarettes in the halls, vacuum cleaners left out for days in the corridors. The wifi works sporadically, usually for about five minutes before shutting off and requiring being turned on again. My girlfriend said the hotel has a "Soviet smell" and she knows what she's talking about. The walls are thin, you can hear someone's phone vbrate in the room next door, also our room had an incessant piercing whine from air conditioner outside that made it hard to sleep at night. I just don't think it was worth the money we paid, which I cannot say for the terms of posting a review. For about twenty dollars to fifty dollars more a night, you can stay at a truly five star place in Saint Petersburg, walking distance from the Hermitage and the Admiralty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bait and Switch

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The breakfasts were fairly good.
Cons: The food in the Raskalnikov Restaurant could be better for the price.
Location: Close to transportation and shopping areas.
I paid for a room of a particular size and was put in a much smaller room. The staff claimed that my reservation was for the smaller room. I had my Expedia confirmation which proved them wrong, but then they tried to say that the room I had was, in fact, the larger room that I had reserved and claimed that the hotel was full and my room couldn't be changed anyway. I had to get a Russian colleague to stop by and help me so that they gave me the room I paid for though it took a lot of effort to get them to honor my reservation and not have to pay more money. My stay occurred during some school holiday and there were dozens of unsupervised children staying at the hotel who ran up and down the halls early in the morning, slamming doors, and shouting. I couldn't sleep past 6 am until the end of my visit when the children were gone. The exercise room was closed during my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Moscovite from Tampa, Moscow

Good for tourists. Clean place to rest.

Posted Jul 4, 2012
Pros: Location and convenience.
Cons: Size of rooms
Location: Central, close to Nevskiy prospect and canal tours.
Practical choice for tourists. Central location, decent breakfast, rooms small, but clean. Staff friendly, polite and responsive to ones needs. I would use it again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2012
An excellent hotel in the center of St. Petersburg. Every major attraction of this historic city is within walking distance for the active person (30minutes in every direction). Nice shopping center attached to the hotel and a 24 hour market.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Sep 28, 2011
Two floors of shabby small rooms, poor amenities and crowds of people. Resembes more a train station than anything cozy or relaxing. The shower so small you keep pressing the tap with your back. Although the location is enticing the overall quality is depressing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cirencester

Value for money

Posted Aug 25, 2011
The Hotel itself is in good decorative order and has what is expected of 4 stars but small. Not within walking distance though of main sights unless you really like walking. Rooms were well but simply furnished and en suite was clean and modern but small and no window or ventilation. Very quiet. Bottle of bubbly with a welcome note in our room on arrival.Breakfast is disappointing. The food was stone cold if you arrived at 8.30 a.m. but you could have very nice fruit, salmon, herrings etc. Just be flexible, you're not at home. The staff were very helpful. Their English was adequate enough to understand all our needs and they did everything they could to answer our questions to our satisfaction. For sightseeing there are two Metros practically next door and a 5 minute walk takes you to Nevsky Prospect for the bus.191 takes you up and down Nevsky to Hermitage 21 rubles.Staff were very helpful in saving us a bundle on getting to Catherine Palace - Moskovskye Metro station and then bus to the gates - £1.25ish. Even better getting back to the airport - same Metro station and then no. 13 bus to Airport. Again £1.25ish and it took less than 30 minutes door to door compared with £38 and same time quoted for a taxi. Don't get many rubles before you go. We took Stirling and got 20% more at the Bank than was on offer at airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Just barely an acceptable choice

Posted Jan 17, 2011
Was originally given a smoking room even though I was told it was non-smoking. A trip back downstairs to the front desk got me a non-smoking room but it was two single beds instead of a double bed. Ok, except that one of the bed frames was broken and it meant one of us was sleeping downhill! Room itself was basic. Bathroom was very small and the shower was too small IMO. And you had to step up to get into the shower. Room was too hot. Temperature control didn't work at all. Would leave the door open when we were there to allow cooler air into the room. We had to request a hair dryer. Location is very good. Decent number of restaurants within a couple of blocks of the hotel. There is also a 24 hour supermarket in the ground floor of the development which is nice - and there is a refrigerator in the room. The breakfast was a basic Russian breakfast buffet. Decent but definately not anything special. Eggs cooked in milk, salmon, sausages, bread, pastries and some fruit. Business center was reasonable for internet usage. But the fitness center had everything broken! Overall it was barely ok. If your young and want a central cheap place to stay then this hotel will work. If you want a hotel room to relax after a day of sightseeing then I'd look elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

good location

Posted Dec 30, 2010
conveniently located, affordable, clean... good deal
1 out of 5
by Karen from New Zealand

Hotel Dostoevsky DO NOT stay here

Posted Sep 10, 2010
Stayed 6 nights. Good points: it's in a good location & within walking distance to most attractions & although expensive there is a grocery store in the mall connected to the hotel. The hotel itself is clean & the front desk staff speak English. Bad points: the rooms are very standard. Mini bar was an empty fridge that did not work. Did not see a room service menu. Nothing worked in the gym. Not sure what ‘welcome amenities’ were – is it the shampoo & soap? We paid for a superior room, its obvious it was not. Expedia & their website advise there is aircon but were given a room with none. We were in a group that had booked 10 rooms – nobody had aircon. Each of us complained. They advised the air comes on at about 11pm – after checking the vent through the night it did not. The following day we requested an electric fan which we finally received. After 3 days of complaining to the desk staff we were reluctantly given the room we paid for (we think) & sleep became a lot easier & more comfortable. The free breakfast was a real disappointment, if you were not in the restaurant by 7:00am when it opened you missed out because they would not replenish any of the food on offer & this went on for 6 mornings. Do not request the hotel to arrange for a shuttle it will be very expensive. We have traveled to a lot of countries & spent a lot less money for a lot more hotel. If you do want to stay at this hotel, pay for the cheapest room because that is what they will give you anyway!
2 out of 5
by Jill from Santa Monica, CA

We would not stay there again

Posted Jul 21, 2010
Oh my. My husband & I were quite surprised & disappointed with our experience at the Hotel Dostoevsky. The front desk person was relatively friendly, but the room was (similar to other reviews that i read on expedia, but did not really believe...) more of a 2 star hotel quality. The "mini-bar" was just an empty refrigerator, the room was super small, even in european terms, it was incredibly hot with no airconditioning, they advertised 24-hour room service, but there was no room service menu in the room and when we asked for one they couldn't give us one (so we assumed that it probably didn't really exist), the concierge was a disheveled, sleepy, angry man who refused to give me a map and just kept saying "no english" over & over again, so i went to the front desk man, who also said they don't have maps, but i just stood there and kept asking, and then he finally walked over to the sloppy sleepy concierge man, they exchanged words and then finally gave him a map for me. The whole St. Petersburg experience was odd with this hotel. It was centrally located which was nice, but we definitely would have paid a LOT more for a real 4 star hotel if it was higher quality and service.