Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

great location, but extra surprising fees

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: place
Cons: mention all the conditions so that those who stay know where they are going and are not surprised. also mention it is a walk up and not accessible
Location: Hermitage and city tours, as well as tours to historic places nearby
I have booked the hotel for 2 adults and 2 kids and once there, they told me that i booked only for 2 adults and there will be extra fees for kids to open up the sofa bed. they also charged me for immigration registration fees, although i have already registered at the airport and asked for extra fees for registration. overal i overpaid $25 for an $80 room that was not worth it. it is also a walk up (4 flights) and not recommended for those with heavy luggage. we had 2 tired kids on top
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2016 by Kristina Ozhelskaya Hotel Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest! Thank you very much for your visit to the hotel "Grifon" in St. Petersburg. Please find our comments below. A building where the hotel is located is really ancient with its own unique history and is protected by State. It was designed by the architect Keiser and raised in 1879. The information about elevator absence and specific location of the hotel is available through all sources and is not hidden from our guests. Your booking was made for two persons, and all the extra fees are mentioned on our page. Faithfully yours, Kristina Ozhelskaya Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amman

Nice hotel, close to the center

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Very friendly staff, close to the center. There are about 100 steps with no lift
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic stay, the staff were very helpful and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel in a good location

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Location: The hotel quite a central location surrounded by quiet streets with all different types of bars and cafes to grab something to eat.
Gifon Hotel is a lovely place to stay. It is a very basic hotel but clean with staff who will do everything they can to help you. The breakfast is offer for a long period of time for the early rises at 8am to the late raiser at 11am, there was always an interesting choice of the local tradition dishes and the more conventional choices. It is walking distance to most of the major attractions and easy access to the Metro for getting further away or you don't fancy walking. There are 80 steps up to the hotel but they are well maintained and well spaced. You only need to be moderately fit to get up them and although you probably don't want to run up and down them more than a couple of times a day but that shouldn't really put anyone off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Friendly hotel close to all sights.

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Safe, comfortable, staff is friendly and speaks English.
Cons: Cannot think of anything. It met all my needs.
Location: Near all sights. Nevsky Prospect, Church on the spilled blood, boats to Peterhof, Summer Garden, Russian Museum and the Hermitage.
The hotel is on one of the major canals near all sights. The staff is very helpful, friendly and speaks English. This is a plus because not everybody in St. Petersburg does. The rooms are comfortable and clean. It is also a very safe location and the hotel itself is safe. The only drawback is that it is on the 4th floor and there is no elevator but I always travel light, with just a carry on so it you are in decent shape it is no problem. It had everything I needed because I don't care for paying for a view since the whole idea is to be out as much as possible. The breakfast was also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, close to sites

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pleasant and helpful staff, good breakfast,safe area close to sites, poor internet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London & New Zealand

Quiet hotel near St Petersburg sites

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Hotel Griffon is good location close to sites. Hotel opens onto canal near Griffon Bridge which felt safe. We had a room at the back which was unusually quiet. The staff were friendly and spoke good English. They kindly produced a special early breakfast (5.50 am) the day we left.
3 out of 5
by Clare from London

Good location, but beware of hidden charges

Posted Jun 15, 2014 on Hotels
Bit more like a b&b than a hotel. Good location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms. Just a note to add: we were charged an additional 250rubles per person for a "registration fee" on arrival despite having prepaid with the website. There was no clear mention of this on the site.
5 out of 5
by kfinkels from Israel

Homely hotel in a great central location

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels
Although there are many steps (108 if you are in the last floor), but the service was excellent and the room was very comfortable and clean. We arrived early in the morning and despite that got out room and even breakfast (although we just arrived). The receptionists were great. Very helpful, respond to every request (such as eating breakfast very early because of our flight). The location is the BEST, just behind Kazan Cathedral' 5 min walk from Nevsky prospect.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel is on the 4th floor of a building with no elevator. Worst than Motel 6.