Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent Hotel. Staff were all very attentive.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Hotel is ideally situated and within walking distance to all major museums, palaces & churches. It does take a little while to get used to Russians saving smiles for families, children & friends. So when they do smile at you it is genuine. That being said the ones we spoke to were friendly & very polite. St.Petersburg was spotlessly clean. If you have time jump on some of the tubes to see the beautiful stations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Well looked after

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Location - first class with excellent tandrds of care.
Location: Placed charminly on a canal (snowy white as completely frozen in February) marvellously cose to the Winter Palace aka the Hermitage museum.
We were a very assorted party - one of us using a mobility scooter and another being only 6 months old - and the hotel staff were very sensitive to our needs and eager to help. The hotel serves very good cocktails in the panoramic restaurant at the top of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Israel

Location location location. Very very clean room

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Well November in S.P is cold better come in the Spring
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

A classy older hotel in an excellent location.

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Very helpful concierge. Classical live piano music played from the mezzanine at breakfast. Violins in the afternoon.
Cons: If you are looking for modern, this isn't it. If you are looking class, comfort and character, stay here.
A classy older hotel with character. Located a short walk from The Hermitage.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Kempinski Hotel Moika 22, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, We thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is very important for us that our location, breakfast and service met your highest expectations. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again to Kempinski Hotel Moika 22! Sincerely Yours, Simon Zaglmann General Manager Kempinski Hotel Moika 22
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent Hotel near Hermitage +

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff made the trip there memorable. It was a pleasant surprise to know so many of the staff could speak English quite well.
Cons: I cannot identify anything I would change. The food was delicious and the presentation was so very interesting and elegant.
Location: One could walk to the Hermitage. The Russian museum & St Isaacs Cathedral were close by. There were shops, bars, restaurants w/in walking distance.
This hotel was very nice from the decor to the elegant breakfast and dining services. The Concierge services were excellent and facilitated tours, restaurant reservations and pickup to and from the airport. The staff offered coffee and wake up services, extras given following dining, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel and am so thankful to the warm and friendly staff who helped make our trip there one of the most memorable experiences of my life. 'Spa cee bah!'
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Spend money elsewhere.

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was extremely disappointing. We tried to switch to another hotel, but weren't able to. This was a 3-star hotel at best. The furniture was damaged, the rooms were dirty, the building itself was outdated and dirty. There are no amenities. The gym is a joke and the "Jacuzzi" was cold. There was hair on the shower floors and the hotel lobby looked like 1988. The breakfast was OK, but nothing to be impressed with. This was a terrible waste of money and ruined out trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

5 star hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Pros: see above
Location: The location across from the palace square and the Hermitage was a huge advantage.
Definitely a 5 star hotel. The staff was helpful at every turn. For instance, the concierge desk helped greatly to recover my wife's suitcase that was lost by the airline. They helped us find a boat tour and make other arrangements. The room was large and luxurious. We particularly appreciated the A/C that was quiet, efficient, and easily controlled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Very nice hotel and staff. Room was too hot.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Location: This location is in a perfect location for tourists. You are walking distance from loads of the best museums, cathedrals and shopping.
The hotel staff was great and extremely helpful. Nearly everyone we interacted with spoke English well. The only detractor was that the AC in our room (on the rear corner of the 7th floor) did not put out much air. It was as though the ducting was pinched off. With the fan on full hi the one duct into the room could barely be felt with your hand 2 inches from the grate. This made sleeping difficult at night. To add insult to the issue there were no screens on the windows so if you opened the windows (it was 10-20 degrees F cooler outside than in) you were eaten alive by the mosquitoes. They know about this issue to the extent that they put hang tags on the window handles advising not to open the windows because of the bugs. Oh, and the shower had no curtain. I know this is more common in Europe/Russia but but it's very weird for Americans.
4 out of 5
by Kamran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Richard from Western NY

Great location for a visit to St. Petersburg

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was a true five star hotel. Service was exceptional and location was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Richard, Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking time to share your experience! We were glad to learn that you were happy with our service as well as with our central location. Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely Yours, Simon Zaglmann, General Manager, Kempinski Hotel Moika 22