Ratings based on 834 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Disappointed

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing really. Maybe the proximity to the College
Cons: Rooms could have a face-lift. Clerks should have some training on how to treat guests
Location: Was doing a presentation at the College, didn't explore the surroundings. We went for dinner at 9pm at the restaurant next door (Bob Evans) was closed
Beds are not Queen size, but Full size, so if you have 2 sleeping in one it is very tight. We arrived later in the evening. I asked for a quieter room because the one given was very close to the highway and the lady gave me a key to check the one available on the other side of the hotel. When I went to see the room it was a total chaos, food leftovers, sheets and towels covered the floor. That room was not available at all, I guess it was too much trouble for her to just help. We stay in the noisy room and went for breakfast the next morning at 8am (breakfast is until 9am) and the only thing they had was white bread, peanut butter, jelly and few small cereal boxes. Coffee, milk, apple juice and orange juice. We could see empty containers and asked if they will be bringing something else. They responded saying that for a few days they had not received the bagels, muffins and other items. Very disappointing. I have stayed at other La Quinta before, and those were nice, but this one...I will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Mati, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Please know that your feedback is extremely important for us to continue to improve our service. We strive to offer a smooth and comfortable stay for our guests and it seems we fell short during your stay. We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. The hotel manager will be discussing your experience with the staff to ensure we are delivering the quality of service our guests deserve. Thank you very much for bringing your concerns to our attention. Respectfully, Diana
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Very good spot, had convenience to lots of stores and restaurants, love it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by Joyce C., Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback! We appreciate your business.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pinellas Park

Very convenient to restaurants and mall

Posted May 18, 2017
The hotel was convenient to find off the interstate and is across the street from a mall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Joyce, Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and feedback!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Easy access to the main road and shopping center

Posted May 11, 2017
The price is right for this level of service. The room stinks a bit (smoking?) and that was the only thing that made me uncomfortable. I hope there will have more variety of foods/fruits for their complimentary breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Joyce Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are currently working on improving our breakfast items. We appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a remodel

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Orbitz
The location is very convenient, and it wasn't that expensive. The beds were okay, but the bathroom was really dirty - the floors and the tub. Overall, a good cleaning would help, but it needs a remodel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by LQ Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the location and price of our hotel. However, we apologize for the cleanliness issues that you mentioned. Please note that this information has been passed on to our management staff. We very much appreciate your business and thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in a sketchy area, right near the interstate. Decor in room was extremely outdated, floors and walls were filthy. We dealt with mosquitoes and roaches. I left after 2 hours and asked for a refund. Don't waste your time or money.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay at our property. This is not the experience we want you have while staying with us. I will share your comments with the rest of the staff and this will help us improve our operations. Thanks,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Could be Great

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Santos at the desk was great! Maid service was horible. Seems like they hate there jobs and care little for guests...it's a shame
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Jose, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks, for your feed back and staying with us. I do apologize about any inconvenience with your room, but I will share your comments with the housekeeping staff and this will help us improve our operations. Thanks,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

MLW and ALW

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
We were visiting n the area because we had a Family Member n the hospital.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thanks for your feedback and staying with us. I hope you had a great experience while staying with us. Please come back and visit us when you back in this area. Thanks,
4 out of 5
by Glenn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pinellas Park, FL

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I enjoyed my stay, the room was comfortable. I'll definitely come again.