Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Always pleasant

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
It has always been a pleasure to stay at this lovely and cozy hotel. Matisov Domik is my first choice whenever visiting Saint Petersburg, and it has never disappointed me. If you're looking for a quite place within walking distance (20-30 mins.) from major tourist attractions, you might want to consider this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff, but quirky hotel

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: The staff was very eager to please. They were very helpful.
The hotel is not as close to the downtown as we would have liked and seems to be on the periphery of the downtown. The staff was lovely and were quite helpful. The breakfast was nice and quickly replenished. However, the layout of the hotel was very strange with two wings that require climbing up and down stairs to get from one part of the hotel to the other. Only one part of the hotel has an elevator and since we stayed at the part of the hotel that did not have an elevator, we had to carry our luggage up and down several flights of stairs.
5 out of 5
by Adam from Newcastle, UK

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
I arrived on my birthday and was made to feel welcome. Yana was particularly kind and on my return that evening found a plate of fruit and birthday card in my room. It was a really kind gesture and something I will never forget. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and I would love to stay there again
5 out of 5
by Nevin Kurt from London

Excellent Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
Its Was amazing place just perfect. 10 stars Excellent Staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hidden gem!

Posted Jul 29, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed there for a week, which I enjoyed tremendously. The hotel is nicely located along a canal, near the Mariinsky Theatre and St. Nicholas Cathedral. The hotel was well-maintained, and the staff was extremely friendly and highly professional. I visited St Petersburg mainly to see performances at the Mariinsky, and it was a perfect choice. The breakfast was also great, and it was such a joy to sit around the yard full of flowers, drinking tea. I'll definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Quiet haven away from traffic and crowds

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Very welcoming staff - felt like home. Big apartment we weren't expecting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from New Haven, CT

Great sorprise in St. Petersburgs.

Posted May 29, 2014
Large room and modern. Perfect location and a pretty decent hot breakfast included with the room rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

U need a car to get there

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: scenery
Cons: Room service
Location: it is located in the island
If u dont have a car, it is very far from metro. there is river around the hotel, so it has good scenery.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Larry from Berkeley, California

Nice hotel at a good price

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Matisov Domik is located away from the major tourist areas but close to the Mariinski Theater. Hence, it has been a favorite of opera singers and operagoers. It is undergoing a renovation and the newly opened rooms are far superior to the old ones. I hope the renovation of the old rooms bring them up to this standard. Breakfast is included and also has improved. There is complimentary parking. The staff all speak acceptable English. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay this last December.