Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definitely Soviet era hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Close to metro
Cons: Just about everything
Location: Close to Galeria mall and Nevsky Prospect
We were very disappointed because this was rated a 4 star hotel. We booked the studio room. The middle of the beds sagged. The beds were clean but the bed spreads were old and faded. When we moved the beds there was a lot of dust. No electrical outlets in the bedroom. No iron or ironing board. No tea kettle for tea and coffee in the room. The walls were thin so you heard a lot of noise above and beside. Much of the breakfast was sitting too long and "hot items" were not hot. Our overall experience was not 4 star. It was within walking distance from the metro which was nice. We were VERY disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Hotel close to Nevsky Prospect

Posted Nov 18, 2015
By train and subway station. Safe feeling when walking late to hotel. Clean, elevator, quiet even if you are on a street side of the building- when window closed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Big Hotel but very average service.

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Location is very good, very close to the main rail station and underground metro station.
Cons: Cleanliness and room facilities. There was a smell in the room.
Location: Metro , train and shopping facilities.
Hotel was four star in a nice big building in a very nice location close to Main Moscoviski station. The room comfort was basic and it didn't have basic cattle and tea making facility in the room which you normally find even in a three star hotel in nearly all European countries. The room was a bet stinky and smelled. In the hot weather the room had no air conditioning but a basic standing pedestal fan which was not enough to relive the hot weather when we were there. Due to it's location I would recommend it but I believe that four star rating is a bit more to misguide your expectation.
2 out of 5
by Traveler from Russia

Bad Soviet Tradition Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2013
Pros: nothing, but may be personal is not so bad
Cons: everything
Location: location is very convenient, but a lot of hotels with very good location and more better conditions
you will get the room without conditioner (only fan), with a lot of noise of the nearest street (becaurse non-plastic old and bad windows), old and ugly bathroom AND they will ask you about some money per day for WiFi access!!! Realy greedy owners...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Washington, DC, USA

Saint Petersburg!

Posted Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Decorations and location.
Cons: Service
Location: Excellent
Great hotel and excellent location. Service was a little slow but maybe they do things differently in Russia.
2 out of 5
by Artem from Moscow

Low soviet service for incredible amount of money

Posted Jun 26, 2012
Former soviet hotel was supposedly renovated. But floorings are creaks, no soundproof at all in rooms. When I awoke I detected cigarette smell from corridor inside my room - that was disgusting! I had non-smoke room. Moreover, I don't like have my room to be cleaned if I stay 1-2 nights, don't like housekeeping to get inside. And I always put "don't disturb" sign. In this case I did the same, but my room was cleaned anyway.
3 out of 5
by askin from istanbul, turkey

Great location, uncared building

Posted Nov 11, 2011
Location: St. Isaac Cathedral Singer Cafe Nevskiy Prospect
Don't ask to call a taxi from the hotel. Extremely expensive. Just go outside and raise your hand for taxi, its cheaper.
2 out of 5
by Badger from London

Hotel Oktiabrskaya

Posted Sep 26, 2011
Very surprised that this was a "Expedia Recommended". hotel, as showed during my search.Therefore I have booked. Perhaps it has never been visited by Expedia personell.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

St. Petersburg Hotel Review "No Customer Service"

Posted Jul 8, 2011
Hotel staff was not speaking English. With their little English, they were extremely rude and not willing to help with your questions/requests. On the other hand, location of the hotel was very good. In the middle of everything. We were told that our booking didn't include the breakfast, even though I booked it online with breakfast included. They acted very rude!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

교통이 편리한 편안한 호텔

Posted Aug 28, 2016
넵스키대로를 중심으로 교통이 워낙 편리하여 여행을 다니는데 정말 좋았습니다. 특히 버스를 아주 유용하게 활용하였습니다. 객실도 깨끗하고 편안했습니다.