Ratings based on 1,591 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Nice hotel close to everything!

Posted Oct 17, 2017
A nice hotel, very nice staff, within walking distance to the major tourist attractions. We walked to the Dali museum, the History and the Fine Arts museum, shops and restaurants. Rooms just the right size and a great price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Ponce De Leon Staff, Hotel Management
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us . Thank you for your review of our hotel! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful rooms here and took advantage of our perfect location to see the amazing thing our city has to offer! Next time you're going to be in the area be sure to stop in with us, we'd be honored to see you again! As always, we love having you here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Boutique Hotel - no just dated!

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The front desk staff was less than helpful or accommodating. Their website said that they had "self parking". Yes , self parking in a garage not owned by them and not free, which had no working elevators. The only place to park was on the "third" floor, which was more like a 4th floor. A long way to walk up to retrieve the car. The bathroom was a horror! It was sink, toilet and shower in one square room with no enclosure around the shower. Even no curtain! When you showered, water went everywhere, soaking the floor and toilet and making the flooe slippery. They are lucky we were careful and didn't fall or they would have had a major suit against them. There was a huge tub out in the room, but not very inviting. Too bad they couldn't have used the space it took up and made a better bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by ponce de leon staff, Hotel Management
we appreciate your feedback and we regret to learn that you did not enjoy your stay. If you could please send us a separate email with the room number we will be able to address the issue. Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was fine.

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Charming.
Cons: Parking. Elevator super slow. Hallways dark. TV in room tiny. Sand the graffiti out of the wood on the elevator. Better wifi.
Location: LOTS of construction. Great location for walking access to downtown shops and restaurants.
It was fine. The toilet was stopped up and they fixed it immediately. Having to park down the street and around the corner was a pain. Wi-fi did not work.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fl

Old Not on US model

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Good location
Old hotel Shower is toilet room. Tear down and start over.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Aug

Dirty and Outdated

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Staff was unfriendly and hotel was dirty. Hotel was very dated and in need of many repairs. Location was good but overall very disappointed with our stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Perersburg Florida

Worst hotel ever.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Bathroom was so small you could not close the door and stand in it. Beds were hard, squeaky and headrest was falling apart. Rooms smelled musty. It was the worst hotel I have ever been to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Largo, FL

Comfortable older hotel.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Staff, location, fully functional after storm
Cons: Technical equipment, restaurant
Location: Right in downtown. Close to many St. Pete areas.
Booked this hotel after the hurricane. All facilities were working and I was very pleased with the hotel staff. This is an older property and the rooms are somewhat small but clean and well maintained. The television is small and the wifi not as fast as one might expect. In addition, construction around the location made parking in the hotel garage somewhat more difficult. It also produced some noise during the day. The overall location, however, is quite close to a number of downtown areas. The restaurant showed some promise but some of the dishes did not appear to be up to expectations. (Note that this was the first day it was open after the storm)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 16, 2017
hotel was okay for what i needed - power and a hot shower
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando Fl

Posted Sep 5, 2017
No Parking. Had to park in a Parking Garage offsite. Rooms very old. Ac not working properly. Online pictures very old.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Mattress poor quality, bathroom and parking bad

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Change of mattress, improve bathrooms; hotel needs updating..Solution for parking.
Location: Good
Parking is difficult; if it is raining worst experience. mattress was very bad and bathroom ; sink not good..