Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Helsinki

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Erinomainen sijainti, rauhallinen ympäristö, ystävällinen henkilökunta
Cons: Kaikki tarpeellinen oli, ei tule puutteita mieleen?
Location: Eremitaasi ja Iisakin kirkko ja Neva lähellä, pääkatu Nevski myös
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Duluth, MN

A 2-Star Hotel in a 4-Star Location

Posted Jun 11, 2016
The hotel is clean, safe, and in an excellent location. The staff knows only Russian. You get one small of soap and no extra toll of toilet paper and no extra towels. The access is either up four flights of stairs or up a very small elevator. Again, it is very functional with great access to the historical district of St Petersburg, but it is not a place you care to spend much time in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Jon, thank you for your review! To tell the truth, every day our chambermaids clean the room placing the new toiletries and tolls of toilet paper. Anyway if you need something you can always ask Manager on Duty to help you, we never refuse our guests. Moreover, every member of the reception teams speak English. This is one of the main thig they should do. Best regards, Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
by Alan from Melbourne

Stay at Sonata in St. Petersburg

Posted Jul 19, 2015 on Hotels
Sonata is an old hotel but is located in a good position for tourists. The check-in desk and breakfast room are on the 4th floor and the lift is very small - 1 person at a time or carry your cases up 4 flights. The room was clean and adequately furnished. The staff were all very friendly and spoke good English. Good breakfast was provided and tea/coffee making facilities were available in the breakfast room all day till 11pm. Appears a bit pricey for what you get. We had a problem with the shower drain being very slow. We reported this to the desk on check-out. Beware of pickpockets in the streets.
3 out of 5
by Zachary from Moscow

A bit shabby

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
When the girl was showing me to my room and opening the door for the first time, the lock handle broke, and afterward would not lock from inside the room. She insisted it would be fixed, but it was not for my entire 4 night stay, meaning I had an unlocked door while sleeping, which was a bit concerning for me. Also, the rooms were not cleaned very thoroughly, i.e. sinks not cleaned and toilets not brushed during daily service. Coming during the white nights, the hotel was unrealistically expensive for the facilities and service provided, in my opinion.
4 out of 5
by Sz-Ying from 台北


Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Timo from Imatra

Perushotelli yöpymistä varten

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels
Hotellin sijainti hyvä metroaseman läheisyydessä ja keskeisten kohteiden vierellä. Aamiainen varsin mitätön. Henkilökunta ystävällistä. Hissi aivan riittämätön hotellikäyttöä ajatellen.
5 out of 5
by Horace Coe from Tampere, Finland

Excellent service, great location

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
PLUSES: Service was excellent - they even printed my electronic tickets fo me and called us a cab without any extra charge and the driver came to fetch us from the lobby, so we did not have to wait outside. Breakfast was included and was good. MINUSES: "Suite" was just a spacious room. The hotel lift was tiny - barely for 2 ordinary people. OVERALL IMPRESSION: Very nice and quiet hotel. I will definitely stay at Sonata on Gorokhavaya on my next visit to SPb.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excelente ubicación

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
Muy buena la estancia, el hotel está en un cuarto piso por un ascensor pequeño y la entrada es muy fea, no obstante las suite es grande y confortable el baño, el desyuno sólo tiene lo justo, suficiente para los Argentinos. La ubicación excelente