Ratings based on 739 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Martha

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
Best time ever
5 out of 5
by Heather

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
It's a perfect hotel if you want to take it easy, have a few delicious drinks at their bar/outdoor lounge, and lazily explore St. Petes. A lot of outdoor dining. Local food is good, not great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2 star service at a 4 star price

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
At this price point, not ok service. I was visiting as a solo female business traveler. A breakfast I was told, despite many empty 4 and 6 top tables, that there was no table available and I could either wait until someone left or could sit at the bar. The bartender was sympathetic and seemed as confused as I was given the empty tables all around. Someone passed word to a manager. When she and the hostess came up to tell me they could find me a table after all, it was explained that "normally" single people don't want to sit at a 4 top and find it embarrassing, which did not help. At check out, there was a large mini bar error charge. The front desk staff politely explained that she could adjust the charge now but if it turned out I had taken all this stuff I would be charged later. She asked if I had taken stuff out to store my own groceries in the fridge. She was nice, but in my view I was being asked if I were either a liar or so cheap I was smuggling in groceries. I was clearly dressed for business, making this weirder. I asked that we send a staff member up to review the minibar. In the end, no one was available, and the charge was removed. I asked the concierge for help getting a cab to go 8 KM. She ordered me a town car. I asked if town car would be cost effective. She assured me it would cost the same as a cab. I was charged $42 for going 8 KM, when a cab would have been $15. Stay if you are a Fawlty Towers fan or want 2 star service on a 4 star budget.
4 out of 5
by Ellen

A wonderful and relaxing place to stay!

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
I truly enjoy staying at the Vinoy! They are in the process of renovating the property, and the completed areas are just lovely. I must say that I was unaware of any construction noise while I stayed there. I am looking forward to my return trip!
5 out of 5
by Kristina

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
The spa is wonderful!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in all aspects.

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Lovely Hotel Across the Board!! We enjoyed every minute but especially loved sitting on the veranda for cocktails and snacks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Great services at a top tier resort hotel but the rooms are over due for renovation. No complaints about the rest of the resort and the hotel is being renovated, but for the price you pay it should be done already.
1 out of 5
by ashley

Wedding night disappointment

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
We chose the Vinoy hotel for our wedding night. I thought it would be the perfect end to a perfect day. The customer service at the Vinoy is very poor. They could not find our bags upon arrival. We had also requested champagne and strawberries in the room at a certain time. They were not there. Not only were these things missing but the staff was not accommodating in fixing their mistakes. The next day we had planned to relax by the pool only to find the pool was closed. The concession they offered was for us to go to open swim at the city pool. If this had been an average weekend. I could have been more understanding about their lack of service. But even knowing that it was our wedding night/weekend, no one went out of their way to make us feel special or appreciated. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone unless you like poor customer service.
5 out of 5
by James

St Petersburg Hotel for spring break

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location and knowledgeable staff. Highly recommended. We wanted a spring break location away from rowdy college crowds. Many close restaurants and don't miss the Dali museum.
3 out of 5
by Gregory

Beautiful hotel, but not a pool paradise!

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is beautiful, a restored landmark in a trendy area by the bay. However, what they did not tell us prior to our arrival is that the outdoor pool, spa and lounging area are closed for a major renovation. The hotel's solution is to provide access to the municipal pool about a 1/2 mile away. Not quite the same experience! In addition, expect to hear all the noise related to the renovation, i.e. jack hammering and cutting concrete. The project just started and won't be complete until the end of 2017. But the assured us it would be beautiful!