Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

nice and close to base

Posted Nov 14, 2017
this hotel is close to base and clean and very reasonably priced. we would stay there again
4 out of 5
by Carrie

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
It was good was disappointed that the pool was closed. I picked this place because of the outside pool.
4 out of 5
by Marcus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Deeann

not worth what we paid

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
disgusting
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pool was not in service other than that hotel was good and staff was friendly and helpful. I would use again when as a short stay location .
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

About what you'd expect.

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on CheapTickets
This is what you expect when booking an Econo Lodge. Just good enough to be able to sleep in. Pool was closed, disappointed there.
1 out of 5
by Glenn

Stay Away

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
My wife was bitten by what we believe were bed bugs all over her body. The front desk clerk couldn't care less. She ended up having welts on her face, arms and legs. We had a two bed room, I guess I got lucky as I did not notice anything. The breakfast was also not good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
The rooms r really deteriorated it wasn't a good experience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't book!!!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Hotel staff don't understand English, literally. Gave us a smoking room when we specifically asked for non smoking. Then said it was their last room. Magically, after we were going to leave, they came up with a non smoking room just for the night. We found a different hotel for the next night, but they wouldn't refund our money for the night we didn't stay. Worst service ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Ashwin, Hotel Management
I am sorry for the problems. Here is something you need to know. Your reservation was booked online for smoking room, when calling us, your husband said smoking is just fine because you smoke. Your reservation was for two nights, so we could not offer you non smoking that makes us overbook for second night. Our staff speaks good enough English, It's just some time people do not want to listen or understand. We thank you for you comment,
3 out of 5
by David

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Not that clean. Not very comfortable. I do not recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We Thank You for your comment, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.