Ratings based on 539 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near london

Family holiday

Posted Aug 21, 2017
We chose Merton Hotel because of the facilities and the pool shown on the Expedia add. On our first morning at the hotel we went down for breakfast. the breakfast buffet was great covering just about every taste, from fruit, porage, continental or full English. During the day the hotel has quiet lounge, bars. In the evenings the hotel has an Italian themed Resturant, plush Resturant or an American style diner all serving great food. The kids club seemed good with lots of kids having fun. For us grown ups they have evening entertainment. During the day the pool has plenty to keep the kids occupied on a rainy or miserable day and for the more adventurous you can lean to surf. The bedroom are comfortable with a tv, the only thing that could improve the room would be a small fridge. They have a large carpark but would suggest that you don't have a large car as the parking spaces are very tight. If you want the shops st Helier town centre is only a short walk through a very nice park. We found all the staff very welcoming and helpful. overall we were very impressed with the hotel and would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect base for what we wanted to do.

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Hotel was excellent,food wasn't great but was okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Nice hotel good location

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Only a short break but excellent service given by helpful friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments - we're glad you enjoyed your short break and hope you will be back soon for longer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grandson loved the pool

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Great hotel, too far from town centre for comfortable walk, taxi varied from £5.50 - £8.50fir same journey!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Like a mini complex

Posted Aug 4, 2017
This hotel is perfect for families or those that prefer everything on one site. There's 3 restaurants, evening entertainment and a indoor and outdoor swimming pool. We were upgraded to a family room for free which was a nice surprise and the room looked as though it had been recently refurbished (amazing shower)! Close to town but far enough not to be in a busy area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
We were very pleased to read your review and so glad you enjoyed your stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from West Wickham

Great family hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Went for a 3 night weekend visit with youngish children. Perfect. They loved the pool, the food was decent family fair, didn't feel crowded as plenty of lounge space and nice piano bar area in the evening. Very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended for families!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
We stayed in a beautiful modern, spacious and clean suite. The swimming pools are great as the indoor and outdoor mean that you can swim all year round. The lovely 'Bonettis' Italian restaurant is outstanding! The evening shows are great. Easy walking distance to the centre of town and the harbour. Staff very efficient, kind and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Very family friendly

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Friendly staff convenient location and excellent fascilities. The Hotel offers a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere with nightly entertainment, games room and activités for the kids. On site restaurants and snack shops and bars.. The pool and waterslide, with spa and steam rooms provides for added relaxation
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It is very nice to read that you all enjoyed the atmosphere and facilities. We hope you will come back again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable. Good, well cooked food. Helpful staff.
Cons: Being really fussy, replace the shower to a power shower because the spray was going everywhere. Add a few more changing cubicles in the pool area.
Very clean hotel with comfortable rooms with approx 10 minute walk to central St Helier. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet has an amazing extensive selection ranging from cereals, porridge, fruits, Continental and English cooked breakfast. Meals in the hotel's Bonetti's Italian restaurant and Jersey Joe's were very tasty and well cooked. We never tried the three course meal in the Belvedere but other guests said they very good. Aquadome was good fun and very clean, and set in lovely grounds. Clean towels can be hired for use at the pool for a refundable £5 deposit. Evening entertainment included a few local acts but was still very enjoyable. Had a great stay at the Merton, and would definitely be going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2017 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Lynn Thank you for your detailed review. It's so nice to know when our guests enjoy their stay and take the time to let us know. We look forward to seeing you again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chichester

Jersey break

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and evening meals, conservatory for grabbing an afternoon tea.
Cons: Mattresses very soft and worn, and better or larger signage in lifts what is on what floor. Some system or designated area to wait for taxis.
Location: Only a £6 TAXI fare from bus station or town centre where you can then get anywhere on the buses. The local park was lovely and just down the hill.
Excellent food in the restaurant but jersey Joe's burgers were very processed and poor quality meat. The unofficial Peter Kay comedian was excellent but was very disappointed by abba night. rooms comfy and clean and thanks for the extra milk left...i think it was Jackie on reception was exceptional. Only downside is the hotel is not near a bus stop that is serviced regularly. Would be happy to pay for a hotel run minibus to the bus station. It wasn't clear that the swimming pool and sun beds where across a road opposite to the hotel in a different complex, but these amenities where very good, with free body wash and hair dryer use. The hotel layout had most people in lift asking what floor for breakfast and reception. WiFi pretty poor to no signal, which is not a bad thing as you are there for a holiday. Would I go back yes would I recommend it yes. A great base and with a great breakfast in the morning sets you up for the day no matter what you have planned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carly Thank you for writing such a full review. We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are always grateful to receive comments that may help us improve future stays and will take these on board. We are happy to try and sort out any concerns at the time of your stay, and hope that we can welcome you back in future