Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Loughton, Essex

Brilliant hotel 10 mins from town centre

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The Belvedere restaurant was a bit expensive.
Location: Its a 10 minute walk to the town centre/shops & around 15 mins to the bus station & sea front. Very easy to get around by bus.
I really cannot fault this hotel. We were lucky to be staying in one of their refurbished rooms, it wasn't too hot either like others have complained of so think we were lucky. The shower was lovely & the free wifi worked most of the time, only a couple of times I couldnt get connected. Its a little difficult to find your room at first as there are so many corridors & staircases (we dont use lifts). The buffet breakfast was spot on, so much choice from full English to cereals, pastries, toasts, cold meats & cheese, yogurt & fruits, really nice. We tried both restaurants Bonnetti's & The Belvedere, they were both nice but the Belvedere had fabulous choice. A little expensive though. The waterpark/swimming pool is across the road from the actual hotel. We spent many hours here, I couldn't get my daughter out! The waterslide doesnt run continually, they only opened it every half hour for 10 minutes but then the pool wasn't that busy. Also the lazy river didnt operate continually. Water temperature wasn't too bad although I felt cold after a while so went & sat in the jacuzzi which was like a bath. Hotel is approx 10 minute walk to town centre & slightly longer to the bus station. Would definitely return to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from guerande

Excellente semaine au Merton avec les enfants

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Nous avons passé 8 nuits avec nos 2 enfants , cet hotel est idéal en famille : le service, les repas de très bonne qualité , la piscine très adaptée pour tout le monde . Cet hotel est vraiment à proximité du centre et avec des bus fréquents au bas de la rue ! Nous avons adoré notre semaine. La prochaine fois nous testerons leurs suite appartement qui ont l air très bien
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Easy to get to St Helier

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Everything about hotel was excellent and worth more than a 3* rating. Would definitely return to this hotel, wish we had longer here!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Basingstoke

Friendly Merton

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The choice of eating facilities and bar areas It also seems to cater for all age groups The entertainment in the evenings
Cons: The rooms are very nice but stuffy
Location: With easy walking distance of the main town St Helier and Harbour Also near a very nice Park with a good playground for younger children
Have been to the Merton quite a few times since the 1980s and it is always the same a friendly, comfortable Hotel Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and are always very welcoming
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Good hotel, close to park and beach.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Clean and close to beach.
Location: Jersey is a wonderful place, with its beaches, zoo, mueseams and war tunnels.
The Merton is a clean and friendly hotel. It is within walking distance of the beach and bus station. You also have the choice of booking trips from the hotel with the porter. It can get very busy, and this can mean that the main resterant can be a bit noisy. The pool adds something for the children, but again can get very busy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reading

Large hotel but very well organised

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Calm efficiency and helpful staff. It works well even with the number of people.
Cons: More outside seating. Inside got stuffy and we would have liked to enjoy a glass or two without smokers.
Location: Short walk into St Helier with plenty of places to eat. Good location for travelling all over the island and plenty of info about organised bus trips.
We had two rooms quite a way from main reception so quiet, and were impressed by the number of staff and the organisation. Breakfast was a treat, plenty of choice, and the staff were on hand with tea and coffee and alert to clear up as needed. Evidently we could have ordered kippers but only found out too late! Number of people became an issue the later it was but was never a big problem. We didn't sample lunch or diner but the menu looked varied and quite sophisticated. Boys went to pool once but weather was so good we spent the rest of the holiday on the beach. But it was there as an option. We looked in on the entertainment which got us singing along and seemed popular. Parking looks like it is designed for the many corsas on Jersey, so was fun in our long car - had to go very slowly and 100 point turns.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from g

Great water sports and facilities

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pool indoor and out is more than you could wish for. Add to that the fantastic Flow Rider experience and the children will be delighted. Rooms spacious and clean and good entertainment and dining options, although eating in the hotel was expensive as we were on a B&B basis
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

We'll be back..

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Clean, professional staff, great choice at breakfast, good entertainment, great pool and water facilities which kept our 11 year old entertained.
Cons: Room decor could be updated - particularly bathroom.
Location: Short walk through Howard Davis park - which is beautiful and has a lovely tea shop. St Helier is 5 mins away.
Flights to Jersey were great. The Merton Hotel is perfectly suited for families and the pool and Flow Rider surf machine were superb value. We had a family room including breakfast. The room was quite basic décor, but very clean, practical and with all the necessary amenities (fridge/iron/hairdryer etc). Hotel is in a great location for walking into St Helier where there are plenty of fashionable bars and restaurants. We took the little train into St Auban - very informative and good fun. We'll be back next year and no doubt, we'll stay at The Merton.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Fair hotel worth a visit

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Hotel was generally good,staff most helpful,bar and lobby very nice,swimming pool very good apart from water slide closed the three times we went in.Food at pool very nice.Food at Jersey Joes was dreadful.Had one evening meal at belverders cost £26 per person really expected more for our monies..Breakfast was disappointing also.Lots of choice but very little taste.I would stay at the hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tunbridge Wells. UK

Very close to centre of St Helier.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: We have family living near by so was handy to visit them.
Cons: It was all fine maybe a small fridge in the bedrooms.
Location: The location is easy to get around the whole Island if you have a car.
The hotel was fine for our stay. We were stopping on the hottest day of the year and the room was very hot. If we opened the windows had the noise of the fans from the kitchens. Maybe a fan should be added to the the room fixtures.