Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

charming

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: it was very charming. older than a lot of places i'm sure but we loved it and expected it to be not as modern but that why we loved it. all worked
Location: on side of hill and very pretty view. took taxi to downtown and to megans bay beach..too long for us to walk but we saw younger people walking.
loved the time share property. very clean and well kept. food good. further to walk to town than thought so took taxi a few days. would stay again and loved the view in the room they gave us. housekeeping was friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
We enjoyed the restaurants/bars. Great view of harbor and town. Hotel room was clean. The bathroom obviously revealed that it is an older hotel room. Units are individually owned, so I am not sure if different rooms are maintained/updated differently.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jan 14, 2017
The restaurants were outstanding, but getting around was difficult. Too many stairs and inclines Next time we will make it a point to eat at Room Eith a View, but will find some place that is easier to get around
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brampton, ON CAN

Wonderful historic property, crazy cobbled paths.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Great historical property. Fabulous views of harbourfront. Great vantage point for New Years Eve fireworks display. Cheerful reception/hotel staff.
Cons: Replace bathroom caulking & leaky tub faucet; sofa bed as springs were poking out & squeeked badly; fix cracked floor tiles. Re-train waiter in RWAV.
Location: Close to all major shopping, no car parking fees, within a 20 minute drive to major beach attractions, day trips to St. John also within easy access.
Good location, close to all major malls. STUNNING views of the harbour. Grounds beyond beautiful. This property is equipped with wheelchair elevators in main building. Be prepared to march up and down many flights of very steep stairs to access main buildings/pool/restaurants/lobby, which is a great workout for those in good physical shape. Outlying condo buildings secured with locking gates. Kitchenette well equipped and lovely, really helped save budget to make breakfast/lunch in room. Room needs new caulking (not just patched) and tub faucet in bathroom and definitely a new sofa bed (broken springs/loud squeeking). TV could be better, very fuzzy reception, but free WIFI made up for it. No charge to park rental vehicle. LOVED balcony overlooking water/harbour. Pool bar restaurant and Patio restaurant great, excellent service, really good food. Room with a View Restaurant left us disappointed, long wait for meal, food items were of great quality, tasty hot entree but icy cold side vegetables, (mashed spuds cold, really?) Best service by gentleman bussing the tables who does a fabulous Louis Armstrong impersonation. Mandatory tip for NYE was 20%...didn't even get water refills from waiter and had to remind him of (included) champagne, which was given to every other table - waiter only had 15 patrons including our party of 3 at that point, so really, no excuse, perhaps some re-training or smaller service area would be beneficial here. Hope tip went to busboy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from western new york

Beautiful views !

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Spectacular views. Kitchenette.
Cons: Change machine in laundry room and detergent/fabric softener for purchase in Laundry room
Location: everything and anything.
Bluebeards resort is a nice quiet resort with absolutely stunning views. It is not a typical resort with daily cleaning. You must call maid service daily and put your towels and garbage in the hall to get it replenished. I personally liked that aspect because I don't like strangers in my room when I'm not there. If you need anything, coffee, paper towels, toilet paper etc, the front desk will let maid service know and they bring it to your room and hang it on the door. They were prompt refilling items. Only once I had to call 3 times for paper towels. everything else was refilled in a timely manner. The pool is small and salt water. It was crowded each time we went, so we didn't stay. We went swimming later at night while nobody else was there. That was relaxing. I didn't care for the salt water pool water, but I'm sure it's cheaper and plentiful on the island. The room was nice, not a 5 star by any means, but we are very self sufficient and don't need the 5 star treatment so we were fine. It was nice to be able to make yourself something to eat in the rooms kitchenette or sit and relax with a beer in the patio and not gave to pay $4.00 per beer or $12.00 for a burger. overall, I would stay at bluebeards resort again and I would recommend it to others. if you are friendly and polite to the staff, they reciporicate the same behavior, but if you are nasty, they ignore you and aren't the friendliest. We had no issues with any of the staff, but we did witness other nasty tourists
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Historic hotel, high on a hill

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location and restaurants
Cons: It could use a little TLC (updates on rooms, better pillows)
Location: Perched high on a hill, it seemed like it was off the beaten track but it was so close to downtown.
When I booked my trip, I didn't expect much of the hotel, so I was pleasantly surprised. For me, a hotel is just a place to store my stuff, sleep and take a shower while I concentrate on discovering my destination. My room (406) had a balcony with a spectacular view of the harbor. It also had a kitchenette (cooktop, microwave & fridge) which I did not use. My bed and pillows were not so comfortable, but I managed. The A/C worked well and there was a ceiling fan. Nice, hot, good pressure shower. Being on a very steep hill, there are a lot of stair to navigate. Be (mentally) prepared for that! The pool bar was a great place to get a delicious breakfast and coffee. Nice, hard working bartenders/servers working there. After 5 the upstairs bar opens with more food/drinks available. I'd return for sure. It was a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Pleasure experience

Posted Dec 1, 2016
From the staff to the food everything was terrific definetly would visit again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B, R

Need to pay for ride to beach, store, everywhere.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
A few mosquitoes in room, unavoidable, as a small, still water fish pond right right outside room. Unable to adjust room temp., stayed on 72-76 whole time. Front lobby staff rude & unaccomodating, for the most part. Pool or lobby wouldn't give out towels, you had to keep reusing or go all the back to your room to turn in your set before you could get more. No coffee in room, when I asked, they said you get 1 pack, but I didn't even have that, when I asked they said they'don't call the maid & see why it wasn't put out, couldn't even give a coffee pack at the lobby. No water bottles were available, you had to buy them somewhere else. And why is there no alerts listed on these sites reminding perspective travelerst that you're going to a mosquitoe infested area with zika & there'should a level 2 alert out???? This should be on all these sites, in these types of areas!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Decent

Posted Nov 25, 2016
The staff can be more accommodating. I had to call several times to remind staff about our clean towels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

no good service

Posted Nov 15, 2016
The first time we arrive in that property around 2pm, we not even wellcome . The front dest name is julie is so not even wellcome us, she just in the phone like 45 mins , until she tell me will check me in but after she check she tell me the room not ready until 4 pm. Why she didnt tell me first time we get there but she dont care anyway. After 4:30 pm i check in and i find out that the timeshare property . And the room so dirty and smell . And alot mousquito in the room . And i ask them to spray my room but they never do it . Until i finally wait for them 30 mins to do it . And the shower have mold too . Next day i need put the dirty towel in the blue bag put in the front of my door to get the clean towel . And they never make my bed . And i call the front dest they tell me this is the time share property . So if i stay 1 month there they did clean my room for 1 months? That is crazy i tell the but they dont care anyway. But the expedia agent the first time i booking never tell me that the time share property .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2016 by Wyndham Extra Holidays, Hotel Management
We are so disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in at Wyndham. It is imperative that our guests are treated well. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out. Sincerely, Wyndham Extra Holidays