Ratings based on 655 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

Casual, Nice, on the beach. All you really need

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Excellent food and friendly, accommodating, efficient staff. Fun yet peaceful. Excellent cab service
Cons: Have the housekeeping attend a little more closely to the floors, especially in the closet area which was dirty. Showers/hot/cold need adjusting
Location: We enjoyed shopping at Havensight Mall and Diamonds Forever
We chose BB for our simple elegant wedding and it was all perfect. Excellent and gracious staff. Very good food and fun at the hotel restaurant and Iggies. It was quieter than expected, and what we enjoyed the most was immediate beach access and the accommodating staff. A very casual, camping like experience for us. The grounds were well maintained and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. The boat rides.
Cons: Service in the restaurant is on "island time". I would have preferred to have a bit of quicker service when dining.
Location: There is an abundance of things to do. We toured the actual island of St. Thomas. We took a water taxi to St. John and spent a day there.
Hotel is clean, but dated. It would appear that the management is working hard to update the rooms. We had a first floor room that opened out to the beach. It was wonderful. The room is not fancy, but clean. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, friendly staff

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: It was small and quiet
Cons: Rooms are a little old and could use some updating. However, they were always clean.
Location: Not much to do nearby. You need to take a cab or arrange a tour. The staff is always willing to assist in both.
We stayed for a week and loved it. The pool area was nice and relaxing. They have 2 restaurants and both had very good food. The wait staff was always happy and helpful. Their tour desk was very helpful in booking our tour.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice quaint resort

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The friendly staff and the food and drink
Cons: The bathrooms in both restaurants were awful, very bar like, old and worn down. The showers in the resort rooms were very small but good hot water .
Location: Many other beautiful beaches and downtown shopping, sunset cruises.
We loved the smallness of the resort and friendly staff. The food was most excellent and the drinks were awesome, we went all inclusive and would do that again. We loved that we could use the kayaks, snorkel gear, paddle boards, catamaran all for free. The staff, waiters, waitresses, bar personal were all very friendly and helpful. The only thing we didn't like was the pictures on the web are deceiving. The long beach they show is great but the ocean in front of it is un-swimable due to a lot of sea urchins. So we had to swim the very small beach part which was very rocky and had to wear beach/water shoes to be able to get over the rocks and grassy bottom. The bathrooms in both restaurants were very bad and old and the ones in the rooms were small but great hot water. We booked a land tour on St. Thomas and on St. John and that was well worth it. Too bad the taxi service is expensive otherwise we would have checked out other beaches and restaurants. But all in all we had a great time and very relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Private and quiet

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Smaller size, good food, all-inclusive option.
Cons: Indoor dining option to avoid times of year when bugs are present.
Location: Location is convenient. Short taxi ride back to town, red hook ferry to St. John's Island, or other activities around St. Thomas.
This resort's private bay and smaller size creates a cozy and intimate setting. Perfect for a relaxing getaway. Unfortunately, during our stay, we encountered bugs called "no see-ems". My wife returned home from our stay with over 200 welts the size of a dime on her legs, arms, and body.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and services

Posted Jan 17, 2017
This hotel has excellent accessibility to water activities and affordable, quality food. Staff is very good as well. Public restrooms need improvement. Rooms spacious but nothing fancy. Nice size porch right near the water on our room. Plenty of shaded area on beach. Would like to see the lounging area in front of the boutique covered for rain and a hot tub would be wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bolongo Bay great

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Right on the beach. Swimming and Snorkeling. Close location to the ferries. Charlotte Amalie short distance, about fifteen minute.
Had a great stay. Beautiful ocean view. Very nice grounds and beach. Fun entertainment at Iggies bar and grille on the property. Iggies also has good casual food. The Lobster Grille has great food for breakfast, lunch and dinner (also on property). The beach is wonderful and right out ' your front door'. Taxis available for transportation. The resort personnel was great. Tours and activities can be booked at guest services . Bolongo Bay has just about everything you need. Ferries to St John are fairly close and no problem getting there with the taxi services. We had a wonderful time. We would definitely stay at Bolongo Bay again and recommend it to visitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Holiday Family Vacation Stay

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Bolongo Bay Resort is a great stay! While the rooms are a bit outdated, they are clean, the views are awesome, the Bay is quiet, and the Bolongo staff are excellent! Everyone at Bolongo is friendly and helpful. We took the family there for our holiday vacation in December 2016 and we will definitely stay at Bolongo again (we have teenagers). It's quiet and away from the cruise ship crowd. They offer plenty of paddle boards and kayaks and offer the Heavenly Days catamaran for snorkeling with the sea turtles and their sunset sail - we did both and the whole family loved everything! There are two restaurants on site. The Lobster Grill is very good and offers a decent variety. Their breakfast buffet is great! Iggies is a fun outdoor beach bar and grill with plenty of entertainment for adults and kids. There is a Dive Center for those who enjoy water activities and the Bolongo Bay Gift Shop ladies were very helpful in scheduling our family excursions. We did this trip without renting a car and Bolongo scheduled our shuttle and taxi service for us every day with no issues! Thank You Bolongo Staff for a wonderful family vacation with no worries or concerns!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buffalo,ny

Great staff.good food.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: Choices of food.
Location: Location is great if you have a car. Nothing near by to walk to.
Very nice, people were friendly and staff very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Very nice family hotel right on the beach

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Pros: Great staff and location.
Cons: The food was fine, but nothing special. I was hoping for more of a selection of seafood. Also a healthy breakfast menu would be an improvement.
Location: Right on the beach. Water activates (kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling, sailing) are included at this hotel. Nice beach and pool chairs.
My friend and I had a wonderful stay at the Bolongo Bay Resort. The staff is so friendly and accommodating to your needs. The location right on the beach is wonderful. The other guests were so friendly and fun to talk with.