Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paradise on Earth

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Never had we had any negative experience at Caneel. All the beaches and rooms are beautiful, especially those right on the beach or with ocean views.
Cons: Nothing can be improved. As I said, Caneel is paradise on earth. No photographs or words can describe it adequately.
Location: St. John's is a national park. If you like beauty, nature, scenery, and the most magnificent beaches on earth than this is the place for you.
We have been going to Caneel Bay on St. John, US Virgin Islands, for over 25 years. Many guests are "repeat" visitors and now their grown kids, like ours are following in their footsteps. Caneel is part of a national Park and Rockefeller estate which the Rockefeller family generously donated to the United States. Lawrence Rockefeller felt it was just too beautiful a place to keep for themselves. It is magnificent! We have tried other resorts, even more upscale ones, and have sailed around the Caribbean to almost every Island, but always return disappointed when we compare our vacation to those at Caneel Bay, and have vowed to just keep going back to Caneel. There is no other resort as wonderful as Caneel Bay. It is perfection -- the hauntingly beautiful scenery, the seven magnificent white sand beaches with azure clear waters and great snorkeling, the Rockefeller mansion at Turtle Bay perched above gardens and azure seas where elegant dinners and the complimentary afternoon tea, scones and cookies are served, the friendly staff, the immaculate rooms and gardens, the impeccable service, the food which rivals that of any of the greatest chef's in the world, the activities, such as snorkeling, sailing, hiking, canoeing, kids activities. It is a quiet, beautiful, relaxing place where time stands still. It is heaven on earth. That is the only way I can summarize our experience. It is life as it should be lived.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

nice place

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: update rooms
Location: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
the best place to stay on st john,people,food,scenery,amazing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome facility with extreme mosquito issues

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Mosquito repellent device. Spray is not enough.
Love the beautiful facility with nice and helpful staffs and great water sports. Hotel should invest in some bug repellent device to keep mosquitoes/bugs away. I've never ever had these many mosquito bites (80+) before until we stayed there for 4 days even with mosquito repellent spray. I'm itching as I'm typing this review. It can't be good to have these many bites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Best resort in St. John. We will definitely plan another visit very soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Excellent beach resort

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Beaches are some of the best.
Cons: The bathrooms in the rooms need to be updated.
Location: There are lots of great restaurants in Cruz bay (5 min/$5 dollar taxi ride away). Plus you can visit the BVI islands by boat during the day.
My wife and I stayed here for 1 week. The resort is excellent, great location, beautiful beaches and good food. We have stayed at Caneel Bay previously so we know what to expect. If your looking to relax this is a great place. The rooms are getting a little dated, but the beds are comfy and the rooms are always clean. Didn't spend much time in the room, mostly hopping around from beach to beach at the resort. Only 1 restaurant open during the day but it had plenty of options and the food was delicious. We would return without hesitation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cheyney, PA

The most relaxing place!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The staff is the best. The rooms are large and comfortable. 3-4 places to eat. Tons of activities or do nothing....it's all perfect!
Cons: I have not one idea to make the place better.
Location: There are places to shop, eat and explore. All are terrific and perfectly safe.
My wife and I spent 7 most glorious days at Caneel Bay. The resort is gorgeous. We couldn't have had a better time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Nice resort with many beaches to be at.

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Orbitz
Really enjoyed the beaches on the resort and how quiet it was. We got snorkeling gear to use for our whole trip free along with kayaks, paddle boats, and flotation devices. The staff was super friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster, PA

Room with great location right on the beach

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Staff was excellent. Food was top notch. Only complaint was noisy AC unit in the room that woke me up every time it kicked on. Minor problem though when you are staying in pardise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort with all the amenities

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Beautiful property and rooms. Great breakfast buffet. Gorgeous beaches with water sports included. Amazing restaurant, ZOZOS , on the property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Fantastic place in the Caribbean

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Amazing place. 5 beaches each with different characteristics. Great snorkeling, beautiful property.