Ratings based on 356 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful grounds and beaches

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Beautiful grounds and beaches, lots of turtles swimming around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachuttes

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Location. Beaches.
Cons: Rooms need updating
Beautiful grounds and scenery. Great location. Convenient to everything. Great restaurants on the property. Love the donkies
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right on beach

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Peaceful, no tv, no phone, right on beach. Gorgeous beaches and staff so friendly. Easy access around the island.
Cons: Honestly, nothing
Location: Location allowed me to do a challenging 2 mile hike up a tough rocky terrain, great workout and amazing views! Go to the BVI to see the Baths!!!
Tranquil and peaceful, amazing view and amenities. Highly recommend this resort. First time here and now will become a favorite reoccurring trip! Did not want to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Gorgeous location

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Everything was wonderful but Carol in reservations and Alana at the front desk were incredible. The staff kept the rooms spotless and the location is heavenly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Very weak internet but not big deal for premier beach hotel. Beaches are beautiful and never crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Awesome property/grounds

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Great stay. Erick the tennis pro was the highlight. Made lessons fun and constructive. Restaurant JoJo's was terrific. Rooms need refreshing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Paradise

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Service/responsiveness (see above)
Location: Amazing. Most of the whole island is very nice but there's no real reason to leave the property.
Beautiful facility on a magnificent property. Very relaxing and enjoyable. Only disappointment was i'd made a dinner reservation a month in advance for their most popular restaurant. When i got to the resort, it wasn't on my itinerary and they just said it was booked. A bit late to find that out--it would have been nice to get a call telling me my dinner reservation had been cancelled so i could have tried another time or place. At the replacement restuarant, we found out about 20 minutes after we ordered the special (Lobster) that they were out of it. Not a big deal being out of something, it would have just been nice for the waitress to know that when we ordered or tell us a bit sooner.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate ny

So many options!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The whole experience was awesome from start to finish! We truly had the best time of our lives and plan on going back as soon as we can
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Spacious resort property on magnificent beaches.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location and spacious property. It is a quiet resort, secluded from the hustle and bustle of St. John.
Cons: A light breakfast menu would be appreciated. The breakfast buffet is excellent, but the quantity is overwhelming. We would have preferred less.
Location: The location is great; near Cruz Bay and area attractions. But far enough away to avoid distractions.
This is our second stay at Caneel in the past five years. It is very quaint and relaxing. From our initial contact at baggage claim with the Caneel representative, we were extremely pleased with the welcoming and registration process. The rooms are spacious and well attended. The amenities as far as recreation and dining were fantastic. The staff was cordial, friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

One of our best vacations.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Cons: Zo Zoos Restaurant has mediocre food and the service is not good. Seems to be living on past ratings.
We loved our time at Caneel Bay. The grounds are one of the most beautiful places we have seen and we travel extensively. The staff could not have been better and exceeded our expectations. The facilities, building and rooms, were wonderful. The only disappointment was Zo Zoos Restaurant where unlike other reviewers we did not enjoy the food and found the service to be poor. However, the Turtle Bay Restaurant is both beautiful and serves good food with excellent service.