Ratings based on 349 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate ny

So many options!

Posted Feb 15, 2017
The whole experience was awesome from start to finish! We truly had the best time of our lives and plan on going back as soon as we can
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Spacious resort property on magnificent beaches.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location and spacious property. It is a quiet resort, secluded from the hustle and bustle of St. John.
Cons: A light breakfast menu would be appreciated. The breakfast buffet is excellent, but the quantity is overwhelming. We would have preferred less.
Location: The location is great; near Cruz Bay and area attractions. But far enough away to avoid distractions.
This is our second stay at Caneel in the past five years. It is very quaint and relaxing. From our initial contact at baggage claim with the Caneel representative, we were extremely pleased with the welcoming and registration process. The rooms are spacious and well attended. The amenities as far as recreation and dining were fantastic. The staff was cordial, friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

One of our best vacations.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Cons: Zo Zoos Restaurant has mediocre food and the service is not good. Seems to be living on past ratings.
We loved our time at Caneel Bay. The grounds are one of the most beautiful places we have seen and we travel extensively. The staff could not have been better and exceeded our expectations. The facilities, building and rooms, were wonderful. The only disappointment was Zo Zoos Restaurant where unlike other reviewers we did not enjoy the food and found the service to be poor. However, the Turtle Bay Restaurant is both beautiful and serves good food with excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
$110 per person mandatory charge for airport transfer and unlimited ferry is excessive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Paradise on Earth

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Never had we had any negative experience at Caneel. All the beaches and rooms are beautiful, especially those right on the beach or with ocean views.
Cons: Nothing can be improved. As I said, Caneel is paradise on earth. No photographs or words can describe it adequately.
Location: St. John's is a national park. If you like beauty, nature, scenery, and the most magnificent beaches on earth than this is the place for you.
We have been going to Caneel Bay on St. John, US Virgin Islands, for over 25 years. Many guests are "repeat" visitors and now their grown kids, like ours are following in their footsteps. Caneel is part of a national Park and Rockefeller estate which the Rockefeller family generously donated to the United States. Lawrence Rockefeller felt it was just too beautiful a place to keep for themselves. It is magnificent! We have tried other resorts, even more upscale ones, and have sailed around the Caribbean to almost every Island, but always return disappointed when we compare our vacation to those at Caneel Bay, and have vowed to just keep going back to Caneel. There is no other resort as wonderful as Caneel Bay. It is perfection -- the hauntingly beautiful scenery, the seven magnificent white sand beaches with azure clear waters and great snorkeling, the Rockefeller mansion at Turtle Bay perched above gardens and azure seas where elegant dinners and the complimentary afternoon tea, scones and cookies are served, the friendly staff, the immaculate rooms and gardens, the impeccable service, the food which rivals that of any of the greatest chef's in the world, the activities, such as snorkeling, sailing, hiking, canoeing, kids activities. It is a quiet, beautiful, relaxing place where time stands still. It is heaven on earth. That is the only way I can summarize our experience. It is life as it should be lived.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

nice place

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: update rooms
Location: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
the best place to stay on st john,people,food,scenery,amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome facility with extreme mosquito issues

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Mosquito repellent device. Spray is not enough.
Love the beautiful facility with nice and helpful staffs and great water sports. Hotel should invest in some bug repellent device to keep mosquitoes/bugs away. I've never ever had these many mosquito bites (80+) before until we stayed there for 4 days even with mosquito repellent spray. I'm itching as I'm typing this review. It can't be good to have these many bites.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Best resort in St. John. We will definitely plan another visit very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Excellent beach resort

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Beaches are some of the best.
Cons: The bathrooms in the rooms need to be updated.
Location: There are lots of great restaurants in Cruz bay (5 min/$5 dollar taxi ride away). Plus you can visit the BVI islands by boat during the day.
My wife and I stayed here for 1 week. The resort is excellent, great location, beautiful beaches and good food. We have stayed at Caneel Bay previously so we know what to expect. If your looking to relax this is a great place. The rooms are getting a little dated, but the beds are comfy and the rooms are always clean. Didn't spend much time in the room, mostly hopping around from beach to beach at the resort. Only 1 restaurant open during the day but it had plenty of options and the food was delicious. We would return without hesitation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheyney, PA

The most relaxing place!

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: The staff is the best. The rooms are large and comfortable. 3-4 places to eat. Tons of activities or do nothing....it's all perfect!
Cons: I have not one idea to make the place better.
Location: There are places to shop, eat and explore. All are terrific and perfectly safe.
My wife and I spent 7 most glorious days at Caneel Bay. The resort is gorgeous. We couldn't have had a better time.