Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Awesome place!

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Modern, clean and beautiful!
Cons: More restaurant options.
Location: The beach is stunning. Snorkel, kayak, walk thru the trails and go downtown to walk around shops or just relax on the beach.
After we changed to a more modern and quiet room on the beach we couldn't have been happier! The room was beautiful, the view on the beach was spectacular!!!! I didn't care if we didn't do a thing after that! The staff was fabulous! They were all so pleasant and very helpful! I can't wait to tell my friends to take their vacations at Caneel Bay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beaches

Posted May 19, 2017
Every beach was wonderful. Zozo's a great dining experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

AMAZING

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: a petition between the landing of the balcony
Location: you have all the privacy you want & if you want a little night life you go into town at St.John
We found our paradise !!!! The staff was amazing and could not do enough for you & the BEACHES & Grounds were immaculate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Relaxing, wonderful resort.

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: A beautiful setting. The service and food were great. We would come back without hesitation.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: The setting is wonderful. Beach and beautiful water is spectacular. Nice hiking trails on site. Town is a short taxi ride away.
We had a very relaxing time at the resort. We hiked, snorkeled, ate and enjoyed the wonderful property. Each morning we looked outside our room to a sight of deer leisurely feeding just a few feet away. The food was very good with ample choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CT

Paradise

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Area, environment, laid back but activities if you choose
Cons: Some music available
Location: It's paradise! All water sports, some on resort, some in the town $5.00 taxi ride away. Sailing local or around all the islands, hiking, tennis, etc.
Amazing vacation. Sunset sail with cocktails and lovely spread of eats, sailing with snorkeling, chilling on a few of the different beaches, a small walk to honeymoon beach, delicious breakfasts, meeting lovely people, a trip to town to enjoy a local meal and drinks with live music. Celebrated 35th anniversary
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Amazing Resort with several gorgeous beaches

Posted May 6, 2017
We absolutely loved Caneel Bay Resort! The property is beautiful, quiet and truly gives the feeling of being on your own little island. Our room was spotless and the beds were extremely comfortable. The 7 beaches located on the resort are gorgeous! Zozo's restaurant is located at the resort and that was our favorite meal we had all week! Excellent food! The staff at Caneel Bay Resort definitely runs on "island time" and you have to be somewhat patient in awaiting certain services. My husband found some of the staff to be a bit unfriendly, but aside from that, we loved the Resort and loved St.John!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Grounds were beautiful and well kept. Room was average but for the price, we expected a lot nicer. Hotel staff was very unfriendly with the exception of Kevin, Wayne & Meleysha. Our first night we are at the sushi restaurant and it was delicious and our server Wayne was great. We ate dinner at ZoZo's on our 2nd night and I'm being nice when I say it was not a good experience. The food was way below par. I got the shrimp and it was very tough. I sent it back which I normally wouldn't do but for the cost of the dish, I felt I should. It was replaced with the Mahi Mahi and it was better but still not the level I would expect for the price. My husband ordered the Salmon and it was very dry. Again, very disappointed in the food at ZoZo's. Maybe we should have just not ordered seafood because this is obviously not their strong point. The beach was amazing and our server Meleysha was very sweet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Hotel, staff, beaches

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The beaches at Caneel Bay are some of the most beautiful ones on the island. The location cannot be beat. For the most part the staff is lovely and friendly, an occasional cold person but not too many. The hotel room was fine (older and a little dated) but very comfortable and pleasant just the same. Rooms are impeccably cleaned. Housekeeping staff could not be nicer. I understand from another guest who has been there 6 times in the last 50 years that the hotel just signed 2 years ago a 40 year lease with the government for the use of this state park and as such they are beginning renovations. The premium oceanfront rooms have been renovated and are lovely according to this guest (bathrooms are larger.) And the hotel plans on renovating all rooms eventually. The grounds are nice 175 acres and very walkable. The 2 restaurants are terrific. The grille restaurant has a lovely second floor terrace overlooking the harbor. Great spot for a meal or drinks at night. Zo-zos is special but expensive. Breakfasts are great but very expensive. Deer and donkeys abound on the property adding a pleasant touch. Overall, I would come back again and reserve an oceanfront room. A great place to vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakeland, FL

Five star luxury

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Caneel Bay puts the guest first in all aspects of the resort experience. From beginning to end and during, truely a first class destination. I would recommend Caneel Bay to anyone wanting pristine, uncrowded, gorgeous beaches along with a menu of amenities second to none.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from nj

Big lack of communication upon arrival......

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Breath taking views Ocean & water activities are 5starball the way
Cons: More variety of restaurants & more choice of local food
Location: Location is 5 star enough activities at the resort...
Very bad dinnner at TURTLE bay mrestaurant...the last night it was open..... not enough variety of restaurants overall However the local restaurants at Cruz bay are excellent