Ratings based on 309 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, N, C.

Fantastic plantation with beautiful scenery, delic

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: Move the island nearer me to shorten travel time!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: I believe they, or the island, offer everything one could wish for. I even met a couple who, like me, had first visited Caneel Bay 45 years ago.
We participated in nearly everything offered and shopped in Cruz Bay and over on St. Thomas. I have no complaints or recommendations for change. Hope to go again next year.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 start scenery with 1 star room cleaniess

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: view, beaches, historical sites
Cons: cleaniness
The hotel resides on three continuous beaches with some historical sites, which is super beautiful (where it gets the starts). However the cleaniness of the room is worth 1 star. The bed sheet was damp. What's the worse was that there were bed bugs on the bed or sheet. All people from two rooms got bitten on all bodies areas including arms, legs, bellies and backs. Here we are talking about multiple dozens of bites not countable. The itch ruined the mood for the rest of the trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Gorgeous resort!!!! ROMANTIC!

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: The customer service is second to none here! Everyone is kind and eager to please! Rooms are bright, clean, and well-kept.
Cons: I cannot think of a thing! It's simply heavenly!
Location: If you can't find something to do, you simply aren't looking. There is hiking, snorkeling, kayaking, sailing, shopping, eating/drinking, relaxing!!
This resort is absolutely breathtaking. The serenity and beauty was astounding. You can walk for miles on the hiking paths, sip a fruity drink on the beach, lay on a floatie in the ocean, kayak, sail, eat, rest, and rejuvenate. The resort is not overcrowded with a zillion tourists. It is in an exclusive area but only a 3 minute little ride in one of the countless open-air taxis to scoot into town for some more entertainment or socialization if you want a more boisterous atmosphere. I absolutely loved this property and this destination more than any other I have been to in 20 years of traveling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

You don't feel trapped on this resort!

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Its proximity to the USVI National Park; the food and drink; afternoon tea; the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: We enjoyed the General Manager's reception on Monday evening, but would encourage the key staff to mingle among the guests during that event.
Location: USVI National Park / On-site tennis, hiking, swimming, and beachgoing / Chances for off-site trips and excursions
This was our second visit to Caneel Bay. It was even more relaxing the second time around, since we knew the lay of the land and what we were interested in seeing and doing. The beaches, water, and facilities are gorgeous. The food was excellent. We had a relaxing time, and were sorry to leave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greenwich, Ct

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Unspoiled elegance in a most welcoming atmosphere. Ease of transport, beautiful grounds, wonderful beach unspoiled by crowds or intrusive staff. Marvelous return visit for us since our honeymoon 50+ years ago. Do not pack any valuables in your luggage on way home. Baggage raided at StThomas airport stealing my wife's jewelry, having nothing to do with hotel, but high crime rate in St Thomas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, ID

CANT WAIT TO RETURN

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Amazing location. Split our location between Caneel Bay and another resort. Wish I would have stayed at Caneel the whole time. Best beaches in St John. Awesome scenery and a great staff. One of my favorite spots. We will be back. Probably not soon enough though
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

August Honeymoon at Caneel Bay

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The amazing beaches and location. Better than Mexico or Hawaii…worth the long flight, West Coasters.
Cons: A little added night life
The stay at Caneel Bay was even better then I expected. The place is absolutely beautiful! The beaches are gorgeous, the staff nice and friendly and helpful. A serene and beautiful place I hope to go to today. We met lots of great people there as well. Other people we met on St. Johns said that there place (westin, etc) did not have as nice of beaches and they had to go out of the property to snorkel, etc. We could have stayed on Caneel bay and had plenty of things to do, snorkeling and beaches to explore. It was amazing snorkeling at all the beaches. The only thing I would change is adding a little night life, a Carribean band a night or two. But if you want that, it is just a cab drive away to Red Hook and bars and restaurants with a little night life or a ferry trip to St. Thomas where there is a little more. There was a little rain but not much and it just gave us a reason to try something else besides snorkeling. The only warning I will give is that there are sand fleas or mosquitos that bit me and several others up in the evening so where your insect repellent always once the sun starts to set.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by john

Great stay!

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
awesome location room right on the beach. Very private and romantic.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Mainly its the location that makes it great.

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: I loved the location and access to so many beaches. I enjoyed being unplugged, no TV's or phones. The restaurant and staff at ZoZo's was great.
Cons: Clean and fix the AC units, scrape the old paint off and start anew. Hospitality of the staff needs improved, a smile would be nice.
Location: The quiet beaches and sea life is the draw. Nice shops in town.
The location was great the closeness of the different beaches and the quiet was what made this place worth it. ZoZo's at the Sugar Mill restaurant was fantastic, food and service 5 star. The majority of the staff was less than cheerful and underwhelming, but others were what hospitality should be. We weren't even aware that there was available transportation to the resort. When we arrived after a scary drive on open air taxi, we walked through the parking lot and asked the security guard where check in was and he never ignored us. Finally, a nice staff member from the coffee shop showed us. At Check in we were treated like we were bothering them. The rides around the resort is extremely convenient. The room was quaint but our AC unit sounded like semi truck was running in our room. The shower curtains are too short so a lot of water runs on the floor. Each room needs scraped and new paint. They have painted so many coats it looks bad. This is a place you go to experience the offerings of St. John.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

BUGS BUGS BUGS ate us up. Room needs updating

Posted Aug 5, 2015
So many guests were bitten by the bugs. For the price updates are long overdue. Staff is very friendly but service in one restaurant was extremely slow.