Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely, small hotel in great location.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The owners and staff were welcoming, informative, and caring. The rooms were really clean. The bed was comfy! It was easy to go back and forth from the hotel if say you took a hike then needed a shower before you wanted to go back out. Everyone very willing to help you figure out what to do for fun or to just let you chill and respect your privacy. We wound up being wiped out from hiking or swimming by about 8 and then just reading back at the hotel. Plenty quiet and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room, great people

Posted Oct 6, 2016
I just want to detail a few of the ways the good folks at Cruz Bay Boutique made our lives easier. 1) They met us at the ferry, after midnight, and walked us to our room to make sure we would find it. 2) Our luggage didn't arrive with our plane. They offered to pick up our luggage for us so we wouldn't have to hang around the ferry port waiting on it. Saved us an entire day of waiting. It was in our room waiting for us when we returned from a tour of the island. 3) They made solid recommendations about ferry times, car rentals, and restaurants. 4) They were always kind,considerate and flexible. The hotel isn't a luxury palace. It features clean, functional, well maintained rooms, has a central location within a block of the ferry port, and has nice porches to sit on and enjoy a drink. What makes this place special is the owners, who went out of their way to make our trip a success and a pleasure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

It was not hotel..It was like our home...Superb.

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Pros: Location, the homely atmosphere, great care for the guests
Cons: everything is good
Location: Location is close to the ferry dock, all the great dinning options within walking distance, near the Cruz bay beach to enjoy the evening hrs & sunset
It was an amazing experience with David and Dennis (Pardon me if I have misspelled the names). We never felt like we were at a hotel, it was so homely and accommodating we felt like we were at our own home. The location is right near the Cruz Bay ferry dock and you will get plenty of dining options there all within walking distance. Also you just need to walk 2-3 mins to reach the taxi stand and that is a big plus to go to different distant beaches. The housekeeping was great, very neat and clean. Room and washroom were definitely small but travelers need to understand that it is an Island and getting large space for any hotel is a big deal if it is not a beach-side resort, and that was absolutely not a problem for us, rather it gave me and my wife more opportunities to stay close to each other and spend the time together. David and his wife didn't leave any space to complain against anything. Great hospitality and great comfort. You should not miss the delicious breakfast which has cakes from the local bakery. They even extended our check-out time so that we could get opportunity to visit Cinnamon bay on the last day of our trip. David and his wife took great care of us to the every detail. Hug for both of you from Dallas. It was the best experience we have ever had from any hotel...!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Dave and Diane are the owners of this little place and they are absolutely great! The place is in perfect walking distance of all the action in Cruz Bay and ferry hopping. Taxi's to the beach are right at your feet, along with markets and amazing food. The hotel is very clean, very inviting, and overall a charming place. We had a great time and we will be back!
4 out of 5
by Melissa from Seattle, WA

Cute, clean and pleasant!

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
We were very pleased with the warm reception from Denise. She was very friendly and helpful to provide us with all sorts of information about the area. She gave us the details about the different beaches, how to get there and what to do in the evening. The hotel provides beach towels and even small coolers with ice for day use (various sizes available), this is a huge perk in my book! The only downside is the very small shower stall. Such a small shower should have an adjustable/removable shower head of some sort. While the shower head is high up and my 6'4" husband could stand under the water, he could not bend in the slightest (reaching to wash his feet meant his rear being up against one wall and his head hitting the other. Really, that's the only downside. It's not a fancy place, but it's very clean, cute, the AC works great and staff is awesome. We would stay there again, for sure.
5 out of 5
by mildred from St. Croix, VI

St. John Rest.

Posted Jul 28, 2016 on Hotels
Stay was refreshing and comfortable. David & Denise were attentive to all needs and accommodating.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great place to stay in a wonderful location

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Cruz Bay Hotel provided us a fantastic place to stay in a lovely location. It is in the heart of downtown Cruz Bay with access to many restaurants, bars, shopping, and taxis to the beach. The staff is incredibly friendly and their hospitality is something only found in family owned establishments. They went above and beyond offering to help with our luggage and anything else we needed. Very few places will offer this price point, particularly in a location as great as this.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Perfect in Paradise

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The just right combination of central location. No rental car necessary to see everything. Many choices is sailing, diving, snorkeling, hiking, restaurants for vegans, vegetarians and meat eaters. If you love cheese or want to know more about great cheeses, just ask. Rooms are wonderful and very clean with A/C or mountain brezzes. A big plus is breakfast of coffees, juices, fruits, yogurts. Don't bother spending time and money to get you started with great conversations with one of the three owners Deniese, David and especially Kathy (cheese connosiuer). The guest are all beautiful and romantic. The hotel is green with solar panels so use the A/C and the water. Good WIFI and cell phone reception. I traded equities every week day and made a profit on my trip. And fell in love.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Six nights in St John

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Pros: Convenience and staff
Cons: Rooms are very basic.
Location: Great location two blocks from the ocean. Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.
This small hotel is conveniently located, just a couple of minutes walk from the ferry dock. The rooms are small but comfortable with ceiling fan, ac, and television. Every morning, oatmeal,pastries, juice, yoghurt, tea and coffee is ready, and it is fun to eat on the veranda. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful...they are out to help their guests in any way including providing beach towels, chairs and coolers. They even keep sunblock and bug spray available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Perfect location. Very helpful staff.

Posted Apr 22, 2016
I definitely recommend staying here. Basic commodities but is one of the best places you would find in this small (but beautiful) island. Centrally located with shops and restaurant at walking distance. Staff was on point about recommendations about things to do and see on the island. I would really like to return to Cruz Bay Boutique.