Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Sapphire Beach Resort

Posted Feb 22, 2016
The rooms are excellent, but the resort needs to establish a restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Bbed bugs ants tub wouldn't fill up in bathtubs.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Scenery only if no bugs and tub worked would love to live there with better furniture. oh and old old 19" TVs one in living room and one in bedroom. a
Cons: comfortable furniture no bugs that's all king bed instead of two different twins one hard one soft.
Location: best location market ferry gas station shops near bye.
great scenery and crystal clear water best on island would love to live there without bugs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Petersburg, FL

location A, room condition C, staff A

Posted Jun 4, 2015
I stayed in unit B3. The location is incredible, steps from the gorgeous Sapphire Beach. Unit B3, on the other hand, could use some serious updating. It seems like it was furnished in 1970. The bed and the sofa were uncomfortable. The A/C worked great. Everything was very clean except for the toilets. I think the problem is with the tanks. The tanks were dirty and took about 20 minutes to refill after flushing. The staff (management office, maintenance crew, beach attendant) were friendly and very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

BEAUTIFUL BEACH But....

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Our first-floor unit walked directly out on the sand of the beautiful beach...very quiet and peaceful. My kind of vacation.
Cons: The development could be so much more. Open a Tiki hut near the pool, demand outdoor food staff learn to interact more..advertise beach massage/yoga?
Location: Love the East-end location...great bar-top of the hill, open-air ($1) bus ride to Red Hook with bars, groceries,close to the St. John Ferry.
Did not want big-city stay so this area is great...not where you want to come to shop. Beautiful views and the beach is one of the best. Our condo unit was just ok...clean bedding and towels which are always needed. The unit was very dated compared to others we saw but we stayed put due to the PERFECT beach access location. Next time will investigate more before booking...and there will be a next time! The outside door didn't latch properly so we kept the inside door locked which restricted cross ventilation of the ocean air from beach-side patio doors. Not all burners on the stove worked properly. Unit owner should really attempt to give it a good cleaning and updating-would happily pay more for updated unit another time. We really enjoyed the beach with free snorkel equipment. The food hut staff weren't so friendly and bypassed us for the beach-goers from the cruise ships on more than one occasion. Loved the bar at the top of the hill and the closeness to fun in small town of Red Hook. One-dollar open-air busses to town and crazy cabbies--VERY close to ferry dock to get to St. John and Trunk Bay! Happy to be close! We're not big shoppers so enjoyed this end of the island compared to the busy-ness of the St.Thomas city area. Did LOVE the night-time, glass-bottom kayaking at the St.Thomas Marriott-YES to recommending! Were amused by the common power outages just because we don't keep a lot of food in our fridge and could keep condo open and hang at beach-we'll be back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn down hotel close to very beautiful beach

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Crystal Cove is very worn-down. It has all possibilities to be a fantastic place. Renovation is very much needed. The beach is beautiful and the hotel staff is helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

needs a thorough cleaning

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The location, the beach.
the location is good, nice beach, but the room is in dire need of a good cleaning, the floor and baseboards are nasty and the couch cushions are disgusting and stained. The bed was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Location, Location

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Update the units that are used to rent out
The location of the condo was perfect it had a security gate that worked most of the time and the condo itself was outdated a king size bed is actually two double beds joined together the televisions were very old and only one worked. During our 12 day stay we were woken up 9 days from construction in the basement where it was so loud we had to leave the premises. Reported problem to Management and there response was that it was an emergency but that was untrue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Slow checkin and room not ready until 4:30pm, cleaning staff very rude but hotel is nice otherwise. Great location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Old and Rundown

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was spacious.
Cons: See above comments. The whole place is old and in disrepair.
Location: We chose this place because we were taking a weeklong sailing charter out of Red Hook which is only about a mile away.
This place was a huge disappointment. First of all, the name of the place is Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina, NOT Crystal Cove at Sapphire Bay. As a result, the taxi driver had a terrible time getting us to the right place. Once we arrived, there was no lobby and no indication as to where to check in. It is a condo complex and one of the empty units (A201) is currently being used as an office.. We had to call several times to get directions to the office. The entire complex is old and in disrepair. The unit itself was spacious with a large living/kitchenette downstairs and a large bedroom upstairs. Both levels had a large patio with a spectacular view. Furniture was cheap and old. The pool seemed to be clean and in good condition but the snack bar next to it was boarded up and very shabby looking. The pool furniture was old and stacked sloppily. The place was not at all welcoming. There is no restaurant on the property, however, the Sapphire Beach Bar and Grill was nearby
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joan from ny

nice co beachndo on a gorgeous

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: proximity to beautiful beach and great snorkeling
Cons: cleanliness of condo and maintainence of facility
Location: not much to do aside from snorkeling and swimming
Condo was very spacious and comfortable. Gorgeous Sapphire Beach was right outside the door. Snorkeling was excellent. Two pools available- one right near condo which was perfect for doing laps and one beautiful pool next to ocean that was in several sections so not perfect for lap swimming. Condo was in good but not perfect shape - not spiffy. I spent some time cleaning the exhaust fan in the kitchen. Appliances were old but functional. Roaches roamed freely at night in the kitchen. This is the tropics and that may be a given. Bathrooms OK . Very nice bedroom with nice linens. Restaurants available in Red Hook about 1 mile away. Getting around somewhat inconvenient - there is a $1 bus that goes to Red Hook ( $2 to Charlotte Amalie). Food shopping next to KMart- take the $1 bus there and you can get it back also.