Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesterfield, Virginia

Don't stay here

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Lovely pictures online, not true representations. Air conditioner broken, no maintenance response when requested. Was 80 degrees all night so couldn't sleep. Supposed to be king bed, was actually two twin beds pushed together with a fitted sheet over them. Watersport/gear rental area under construction, VERY narrow beach area, sloping and steep. After complaining we were moved to pavilions and pools which was very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay for a few days

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The beach and its view from our balcony
Cons: Units desperately need updating.
Location: Condos are very near Red Hook (you can walk into town if you can manage one uphill climb) and are also near the ferry station.
Arrival was a bit of confusing. We could not find the correct office to check in because there are two condo units, Crystal Cove and Sapphire Beach. Once we found that we checked in at Sapphire Beach check in went smoothly. We were "upgraded" from Crystal Cove (no beach views) to studio condos at Sapphire Beach. Let me say right up front the beach is gorgeous. Our units were dated (kitchen doors hanging slightly, older bathrooms, stained tiles) but it was very clean and the staff did a good job of replacing towels and emptying rubbish. All in all it was fine for a 4 day stay but I wouldn't want to be there for a six week holiday.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice - close to beach

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: The closeness to the beach
Cons: See above
Location: I am not sure if you have a taxi stand close by . A flyer with info could help
Lacking basic coffee/tea/creamer in rooms. Would be nice especially as there is no place you can purchase it close by. The beach is beautiful and it feels quite safe. A vending machine, upgrade of tv would be nice for the price. You need transport or be prepared to walk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location. Can't say the same about the rooms.

Posted Dec 24, 2016 on Orbitz
Some of the units are literally on the beach. We had two condos. Beach front villas. In one the AC didn't work upstairs. In the other the AC made a horrible whining noise and it smelled bad. The upstairs bathroom in one until didn't have hot water, instead it had rusty cold water. The furnishings were old and dated. The stove burners were leaning, so it was difficult to cook. There were mice or rats that went for anything that was left outside of the fridge. The best part were the terraces, nice and large with beautiful views. The resort did offer beach chairs and snorkeling equipment. Orbitz advertises free hit breakfast. This is not offered. There is a beach shack that opens at 11 and offers lunch. They close at sunset, so no dinner. To get food one would need a car or a taxi. Taxis charge around $5 per person to take you to the closest grocery store or restaurant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It is affordable for a reason

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
The room had a musty smell and there were cob webs on the ceiling in the corner of the living room by the kitchen. The front access door to the patio was stuck and had to use force to get it open. Bath towels were brought to room every day. Snorkel equipment was supplied at your asking at no charge and beach ( Sapphire ) was amazing with great views ! Pool was great and very sizable !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs serious updating

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Outdated and slightly mouldy apartment rooms with very sketchy wi-fi. Stunning beach, but the hotel has definitely seen better days. Wasn't the most comfortable of stays and dreadfully overpriced for what was offered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Sapphire Beach Resort

Posted Feb 22, 2016
The rooms are excellent, but the resort needs to establish a restaurant.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Bbed bugs ants tub wouldn't fill up in bathtubs.

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Scenery only if no bugs and tub worked would love to live there with better furniture. oh and old old 19" TVs one in living room and one in bedroom. a
Cons: comfortable furniture no bugs that's all king bed instead of two different twins one hard one soft.
Location: best location market ferry gas station shops near bye.
great scenery and crystal clear water best on island would love to live there without bugs.
3 out of 5
by Philip from Bethlehem PA

Nice

Posted Jun 11, 2015 on Hotels
I'm a private jet pilot so I stay in a lot of hotels. This hotel was perfect for me. It wasn't expensive and the room were nice. I'd stay her again without doubt.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Petersburg, FL

location A, room condition C, staff A

Posted Jun 4, 2015
I stayed in unit B3. The location is incredible, steps from the gorgeous Sapphire Beach. Unit B3, on the other hand, could use some serious updating. It seems like it was furnished in 1970. The bed and the sofa were uncomfortable. The A/C worked great. Everything was very clean except for the toilets. I think the problem is with the tanks. The tanks were dirty and took about 20 minutes to refill after flushing. The staff (management office, maintenance crew, beach attendant) were friendly and very helpful.