Ratings based on 969 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs work

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Pool! Beach!
Cons: Heard from many people who were not pleased around the pool. A good maintenance team would do wonders on the property. Also onsite manager!!
Location: You have to cab it to town which is expensive or walk a few blocks to catch the $1 open trolley. Don't take the one in the parking lot!
This hotel has a great location, wonderful pool, and fantastic beach that is perfect for kids. We didn't even mind the close proximity to the airport and the few planes that flew over. The restaurant staff was very nice and aimed to please. We enjoyed several meals there. Most of the front desk staff were doing their jobs well, they were just powerless over a hotel that needs work. My room smelled terrible - kind of like a toilet. My shower curtain was so short that I flooded the bathroom every shower. I did get a nice maid to change that out for me. Water came leaking through my light and bathroom ceiling while I was in the room finally, and I realized that may have been part of the water on the floor problem. Hopefully it is fixed now
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Very basic, no frills "resort."

Posted Jun 9, 2017
I think its a bit of a stretch to call this place a resort. It's just a hotel on the beach, really. Staff is super friendly. Rooms were fine for sleeping and showering, which is all we used it for. We left the resort to explore often. The beach bar is nice. Janelle is their best bartender, hands down. Watch out though, some bartenders add gratuity without warning. I don't particularly care for that practice. Service is super slow at the bar and restaurant, please keep in mind everyone is on island time. Be patient. I witnessed several travelers being rude to staff. Be patient! The beach and view are nice! We also set up a boat tour to Buck Island for snorkeling through the girl at their boutique. Definitely worth It! Food is expensive anywhere you go, so be prepared for that. It is super close to the airport, do NOT pay for the tropic tour shuttle to the hotel. It is completely unnecessary! You can take a taxi for less than $10/person or walk. We paid $50 in advance, not knowing any better. Food is pretty good at the restaurant/bar. Scallop Po'boy was our favorite. Other good places to eat on the island are Salt & Vinegar in the Nisky Center and the Fat Turtle. Glen was our favorite taxi driver to use. He has a big personality and really enhanced our island experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I Keep Returning!

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: It's so very down to earth--the property, it's guests, the staff.
Cons: They make the bed very TIGHT! Also, the temperature of the shower in my room was pretty cool--not a bad thing after the sun, but I'd prefer warmer.
Location: You can literally WALK from the airport. Nothing really in the area but taxis are plentiful and the fare seems to always be a mere $6!
No, it's not the Ritz Carlton or Frenchman's Reef, but Emerald Beach Club is a comfortable and reasonably priced property that has a gorgeous beach, a delightful staff, a fun beach bar (with some pretty decent bar food) and taxis always waiting outside to whisk you away downtown or wherever else you'd like to go. This was my fourth or fifth stay at Emerald Beach and I have no doubt I'll be back. My stay was pretty much a "mental health" vacation--my mom had died the month before, work was killing me and I just needed to escape. I was a single woman traveler and didn't for a moment feel uncomfortable at the hotel and, in fact, when I felt social, I could just pop down to the beach bar for a glass of wine and dinner and find plenty of people to chat with. When I wanted to be alone, I could simply find a secluded beach chair and be hypnotized by the crystal blue waters of the beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Emerald beach resort

Posted Jun 7, 2017
I stayed at the emerald beach resort for my honeymoon. I got married in st Thomas, not through the resort though, and was slightly disappointed they did not offer any type of deals or even a "honeymoon suit" as most hotels do. Not to big of a deal, but my husband was quite disappointed at the unfriendliness of some of the staff in the kitchen area. He had to chase some of the servers down for service and when he did receive service, he felt as if they were not happy to help him. Also, the prices of the food was ridiculous! Especially because most of the food we were served was cold. We probably will not be staying here next year when we return to st Thomas.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Overly disappointed

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: I would say the beachside restaurant had decent food. They had a buffet set up the night we were there, which was good food.
Cons: Curtesy of housekeeping. Booking process.
Location: Close to the airport. Taxi ride away from downtown.
We read great reviews online about this place prior to booking. We booked through expedia for 2 double beds for 3 adults and a child. Upon arrival, the staff informed us it was booked as a king bed and that the 2 double beds was listed as "a request". They were fully booked and had no open rooms. The best solution we could come to was adding a rollaway bed for the 3rd adult. They "kindly" waived the fee for the rollaway bed. The room itself was nice enough. Our next issue was towels. We had 4 people in a room meant for 2. I had seen one housekeeping member cleaning some rooms next door so I decided to just nicely ask her for some extra towels. I found her in the room next door to us, sitting on the end of one of the beds, watching TV. When I asked her for some extra towels, she acted like I was a huge inconvenience and asked me which room. I told her our room number and her response was "call the front desk". It then took about 30 minutes to get 2 extra towels. Overall, I would say front staff and housekeeping were not very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Nice view

Posted Jun 6, 2017
They clean the room every day. Fresh towels everyday. You have your own balcony with ocean view. Restaurant in the hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar closes at 10pm. Which is good cause most establishments or ocean activity ends at 5 pm or starts late. It's located on south side most stuff to explore are on the north side but taxi are easily accessible. Some will suck you for money most are friendly and reasonable price. It's a public beach with no entrance fee so lots of locals which we enjoy. They're 90% friendly. Only thing is the bar tender except for one young dude charged you automatic tip average of $2 per drink! And the guy that rent equipment for ocean activity starts late 11 am and go home early before 5 pm. So if you wanna do it early in the morning or after going around town you're screwed. So I suggest do it somewhere else like Sapphire Beach or Trunk bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
A little expensive, but a nice hotel with good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Cons: BETTER MENU WITH BETTER SELECTIONS AT THE ON SITE RESTAURANT
Location: STEPS AWAY FROM THE BEACH!
Had a wonderful stay at the resort. Taxi's always available, bar on site, and small private beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Great view, great beach

Posted May 16, 2017
The view and the beach make this resort a good choice. The beach is one of the best on the island. It is not crowded with people or boats. The service in the restraunt is a bit slow, but the view makes you forget. Yes, you hear plains on occasion, but you can hear them all over the island. I never heard plains from inside the room. Overall, we loved our stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Too expensive

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Nice
Cons: Price too high. Nothing included. Food very expensive
Location: Goog,
Not very good the first night, room hot. Air conditioning not working good