Ratings based on 928 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very private and quiet beach

Posted Mar 19, 2017
This hotel resort is close to the airport, it's connected to a public beach but there are about 2 people on it each day and since the hotel is the only one there it's very quiet and private. We would eat breakfast on the outside patio and then walk on the beach which we had all to ourselves, except for the local man to was carving birds from coconut shells. Restaurant staff was slow but otherwise the whole experience was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nh

Hotel was decent beach was amazing

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Hotel rooms face the ocean so you can hear the waves crashing at night; furniture a bit dated but who cares... planes are taking off nearby but not many throughout the day; basically all things that were said in previous reviews :) St Thomas is gorgeous no matter where you stay but this hotel was definitely a good choice
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach Front VERY DATED

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Beach and bar drinks
Cons: Entire facility overhaul and regular daily facilities/grounds keeping
Location: Beach is great --NOTHING ELSE-expect to pay $15/pp to take a cab 2.3 miles into French Town for access to local activities
The beach is spectacular!!! BUT for the room price maybe not a great value. The front desk staff tied very hard to overcome the obvious problems with this resort---facilities are way past it's life span!!! Start to finish nothing but facilities problems. Upon arrival our toilet would not flush, hot water was sparse, water pressure very low, we were locked out of our room our last night for 5 hours while maintenance tried to figure out what was wrong-front desk manager comped us dinner at the bar while we waited to get into our room. Airport noise is very very loud all day and night-from one end of the resort to the other-public spaces are filthy-especially the pool/restaurant bathroom!! One restaurant on the property was below average in quality with a 4 star price. The bar drinks were great. Wish we had booked elsewhere for a few more dollars per night it would have been much more pleasurable elsewhere. We traveled with 3 couples who stayed at local B&B's for half the price with great views and proximity to numerous local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great laid back hotel with nice location on beach

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Everything was nice, from the staff to the property. Very satisfied with my short stay and would recommend to anyone and everyone.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel on the beach, close to airport

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: the view, beach
Cons: rooms need attention
Location: great location, convenient to airport
convenient to the airport; we stayed two nights. rooms need updates, paint, doors on bathrooms are damaged. the staff were great , professional, courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Good for the island. Loved the beach access and the friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Below average hotel - Awesome beach!

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: the beach was great right outside our door, food was great (minus service), We did feel safe here
Cons: room maintanence needs to be addressed, better/friendlier staff in hotel restuarant, customer issues should be resolved sooner then 2 days time,
Location: **Price was better then most places on the island. I would recommend if you have alot of patience and looking to save a little- quiet beach worth it
Our stay at Emerald Beach was so-so... worth it for the price and beach. Starting with pros: BEACH was well groomed, steps away from room, beautiful, not busy in this area..... FOOD was wonderful but (below cons).... 1/2 the STAFF was polite/nice, the other 1/2 was rude/lazy.... ROOMS were clean (minus few ants), decent beds, had hot water, bedding clean, accomodating with fridge/coffee pot. Cons: FOOD was expensive but I think it was most places, went next door quite a bit (better service and cheaper prices) 1/2 the Staff that was rude/ lazy-- I reported a broken hairdryer 1st day, never got new one.... I reported our safe locked us out right away with our cash inside (low battery)... couldnt get anyone to help for 2 days. At resturant 1/2 the staff was great, the other 1/2 was so rude, very lazy (which they call island time, ha)-- no...they were plain lazy, no get up and go.... these particular waitresses knew they were terrible and charged gratuity even though we only had 2 meals and the total was less then the "gratuity rule", they did this everytime but the good ones did not. Because of this we dined and drank alot at the BeachComber just down the beach (Staff great, Food Great, Prices a little better) Bartender was fun and heavy pourer :)- ROOMS were so-so, Some tile falling off/missing (no biggie to me though), ants in bathroom, safe issues, hair dryer bad,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WICHITA, KS

Great hotel and beach (close to the airport)

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean beach, conch fritters:)
Cons: Not a must have, but it would have been nice to have HGTV in the cable selection
Location: Take ferry to BVI. Shop at the open market. Eat at the Green House. Take the $2 open air taxi and tour the island
The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The hotel had an old world inn feel to it, which was very inviting. It is conveniently located within a 5-10 minute walk from the airport and sits right on the beach. Rooms are neat and clean. We stayed at a high end hotel in St Thomas at the beginning of our trip and surprisingly, it was not nearly as nice as the Emerald Beach Resort. Nice pool, beach bar and restaurant right on the property which is just what you want if you are just arriving or getting ready to depart. Best conch fritters and rum punches we had during our entire 10 day stay in the islands. We are planning a return trip in the fall and the Emerald Beach Resort will definitely be on our itinerary.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to the airport was about all that I can say

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: very close and convenient to catch our flight home
Cons: conditions of bathrooms
the watersuply to the bedroom was questionable, hardly had any warm water or pressure for that matter
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel review

Posted Jan 18, 2017
The only nice thing about the hotel is the beach and the crystal clear water. Waited 3 hours for a room and then they gave us a room that they used as a storage room. Out dated rooms and black mold in bathroom.