Ratings based on 655 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Céntrico excelente servicio

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Todo fue bien. El desayuno excelente. Servicio excelente. Son muy atentos. Puedes tomar safaris fácilmente. Puedes salir y caminar tienes todo muy cerca. El puerto sitios para comida
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from K

nice hotel , located directly downtown

Posted Aug 2, 2016
my experience was great , upgrades room for a small fee . the staff , Gail in particular was amazing . it was a cozy home feel , clearly it wasn't the Marriott but it was still nice .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible stay at this venue.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
House is old and unkept. Arrived to a hot room with mosquitos Bed, bedding and pillows are cheap and old. Stains on the sheets. Room was not clean. Very low budget facility. Also a very long distance upstairs to take luggage up Not a good experience at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from orlando

okay hotel, close to town, ferry & airport

Posted Jul 15, 2016
It was a cool place but the rooms were a bit uncomfortable. When we first got there the room had just been cleaned at 4-5pm. We literally saw the cleaning lady leave the room and it smelled like harsh cleaning supplies was just on the floor without being mopped up properly. Had to leave the room for the first 1-2 hrs because the smell gave us a headache. The water also didn't work the next morning. The view from the balcony was cool, it was an okay room. Pretty good experience overall. The lady that worked there gave us the rest of her bottle of wine.
3 out of 5
by Stanley from Gaithersburg Maryland

cute / convenient /

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is right in town, makes it super convenient to get to ferry and shopping and dining places, all for good price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Inexpensive alternative....

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Great location, friendly host, quiet AC, nice wide open veranda with views of town and harbor.
Cons: More light on the stairs and old security gate for the budget wing.
Location: Literally just stairs away from old town shopping and restaurants.
I was in St. T for a destination wedding and spent four nights at a very expensive resort. I spent my last night there at Galleon to save money and to have some browsing time in town. The Galleon was a good choice as it is located very close to the old town shopping district. There are several flights of stairs to climb to get to the registration desk and rooms. I had reserved a budget room with a shared bath but was upgraded to a private bath room when I checked it. (Check in is from 3pm - 9pm -- there is no one around at night.) Room 135 had a double and twin. There was no window in the room but it has an excellent whisper quiet A/C. I slept well in the comfortable double bed. The registration desk is located in an open porch that overlooks the city and harbor, and is where breakfast is served. Chris, the host, is very helpful and can provide tips and maps for exploring town. The only negatives were having to climb all those stairs, which were dark at night. The budget room wing has a separate gate across it which is supposed to be locked at night but it was difficult to lock and people coming and going did not both to lock it. However there is a pair of arched iron doors that you might find in a medieval dungeon at the bottom of the stairs that are locked at night. I felt safe here and enjoyed my brief one night stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts USA

Economical choice in an expensive area

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Location is handy for exploring Charlotte Amalie. The bed was comfortable and the AC quiet and effective. Friendly host, good breakfast.
Cons: Security gate for budget room hallway has an old lock that was difficult to operate. The stairs leading up to the porch and entryway were dark.
Location: Great location for exploring the old town streets and shopping in Charlotte Amalie.
The Galleon offers an economical option in an otherwise expensive destination. I booked a room with shared bath for $98. When I arrived, the host Chris was very friendly and told me I had been upgraded to a private bath room. The room itself was located off a hallway of budget rooms with a shared bath. Room 335 was reasonably large with a double and twin bed. I slept in the double and it was very comfortable. There was no window and it was very quiet. Even the AC was whisper quiet and kept the room well chilled. I believe when I went to bed, everyone else had returned to their rooms so the hallway was quiet but that could change with a group of party hearty types. No on is around at night so you are on your own if any problems arise. The owner makes security a priority and there is a large arched iron front door (like a dungeon door!) that is locked at night. One must then climb several flights a stairs, and the stairway was dark. The budget hallway also has a separate gate that is supposed to be locked at night, but I found the lock mechanism was old and it was hard to align up properly to lock it. This gate opens to a large pleasant open air porch where breakfast (which is included) is served. I sat out there for awhile watching people come and go, and no one locked the gate. .Overall, a pleasant experience. Would stay again. Chris is very helpful. Handy city central location.
5 out of 5
by Marangely

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Great service

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Small quaint hotel with outstanding staff and service. None better to be found on the island. Gail is absolutely amazing, with knowledge of the Island, and a willingness to help in any way make your stay the best on the island
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Orbitz
I had a nice stay it's quite, private and clean. All the steps with luggage is a hassle.