Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Excellent customer service

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Gail stayed up late to let us in. Breakfast is amazing, served on the porch and made to order. We had the shared bathroom option which was clean. We liked it so much, we stayed an extra day. You also will get a lot of exercise climbing the stairs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Hotel terrible

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: tear it down
Location: the location was Ghetto and you have to climb a lot of stairs to get to it ,, no parking and cats on the premises
this was one of the worse place I ever slept in, In my whole life, My room didn't even have a window , I took a video to show people how bad it was cause this was the terrible
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town and shops

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Though it was in king distance to shops and town there was no parking until after five as the parking is tAken by government employees.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Croix, VI

Good place to lie low.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Quiet veranda and great view of harbor plus historic old town. Conducive to studying during the day.
Cons: Downsides, internet is extra and this wasn't mentioned to me on my first night. Affordable, but extra. Also my room's bathroom did not have any towels
Location: The hotel is on a hill in the historic downtown part of Charlotte Amalie ,Restaurants are within a mile in either direction. Shopping down the hill.
I had to travel to the island of St Thomas from the island of St Croix for work on a Sunday. I had to take a work exam on Wednesday and I was also supposed to give a lecture on Monday. Hotel was a quiet place to hang out and study for the exam.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, az

Convenient location

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Very convenient location. Mattresses are old and uncomfortable. Walls were dirty and blinds were dusty. Gail was great and so was her complimentary breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Beautiful view, but have to work hard to see it

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The view is amazing!
Cons: Someway to get luggage up the hill without having to drag it up myself. Better customer service.
Location: The location is near the ferry & local restaurants/bars. Very easy to walk to local shops/restaurants/bars.
It should be clear when making a reservation at this hotel that you have to drag your suitcase(s) up a large hill with several dozen flights of stairs. There is no one there to assist with luggage. It would not be possible for someone in poor health or physical condition to accomplish this task. We were allowed to check in, but room wasn't clean when we walked in. Manager is not very accommodating - when asked for hot water for tea in the morning it was a problem because "breakfast doesn't start until 8:00". How hard is it to provide hot water (I was even willing to microwave it myself)? When the restaurant ran out of drinking water at breakfast, I asked for more & was told she was too busy to get some for me. I offered to fill up the Brita water pitcher for her, but was denied. Of course, I was offered to purchase some bottled water. Room was sufficient, but mattresses need to be replaced. Folks, this is not a Marriott resort. We had planned to stay another night after a week of sailing, but decided to stay somewhere else. Buyer's beware of Expedia's cancel policy - we were not able to cancel the room & still had to pay for it even though we didn't stay there. Would definitely think twice about a cancel policy two weeks in advance unless you know what you're getting into.
4 out of 5
for Students
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the heart of downtown St Thomas

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: TV with a ton of channels! Clean amenities and extremely friendly staff.
Cons: Free WiFi.
Location: Shopping by downtown. Take a tour bus. Close to the ferry.
The owner Gale is an extremely friendly woman, and very accommodating. The rooms were clean and modest, with TV. There are a lot of stairs so expect some climbing, however, it is very close to everything so no complaints there. There is no free Wifi.
3 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Pros and cons of Galleon House

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The location was convenient, especially if you don't rent a car. Free breakfast every morning served by the cheerful staff.
Cons: Rooms need upgrading. Water pressure was low; shower nozzle was moldy. Toilet seat was cracked and ancient. Toilet tank needed to be replaced.
Location: It was located close to downtown Charlotte Amalie, within walking distance of the bay, shops and restaurants. There is also an open-air market nearby.
This hotel was located close to downtown, within walking distance of the bay, shops and restaurants. The staff was very nice, and we got lots of good advice from Gail and Christine. This hotel is located on a steep hill, and there is no elevator. You must carry your luggage up 60 to 90 stairs, so we recommend that you be in very good physical condition, or otherwise avoid this hotel.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel in the Center of Town w/Harbor View

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location, colorful funky vibe, friendly staff.
Cons: Everything was fine.
Location: Charlotte Amalie waterfront, restaurants, shops. Ferry to St John is a quick walk, and you can get a taxi tour of the island at the corner.
This hotel is just what I was looking for, charming and colorful West Indian vibe in the heart of town. 83 steps to our room, yes, that was a bit of a pain but the gorgeous harbor view from our balcony was the pay-off. A little funky but a more authentic experience than what you find at the resorts. All of the staff were lovely, especially Gail the manager. Easy walk to waterfront, restaurants, historical buildings. Breakfast was great, the room was roomy, we loved it.
2 out of 5
for Couples
by judith from Florida

Inexpensive accommodations and pleasant staff

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
This was a short overnight stay. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. The room clean. The furniture was dated and mismatched. I'd read the reviews warning that there were lots of stairs to climb to get to the reception desk and rooms. I agree there were quite a few steps, but It wasn't as bad as I feared. Sure I wish there was an elevator, but I looked at it as a good workout. I booked this hotel because it was one of the least expensive places I could find in St Thomas and our stay was very short.