Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town and shops

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Though it was in king distance to shops and town there was no parking until after five as the parking is tAken by government employees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Croix, VI

Good place to lie low.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Quiet veranda and great view of harbor plus historic old town. Conducive to studying during the day.
Cons: Downsides, internet is extra and this wasn't mentioned to me on my first night. Affordable, but extra. Also my room's bathroom did not have any towels
Location: The hotel is on a hill in the historic downtown part of Charlotte Amalie ,Restaurants are within a mile in either direction. Shopping down the hill.
I had to travel to the island of St Thomas from the island of St Croix for work on a Sunday. I had to take a work exam on Wednesday and I was also supposed to give a lecture on Monday. Hotel was a quiet place to hang out and study for the exam.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, az

Convenient location

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Very convenient location. Mattresses are old and uncomfortable. Walls were dirty and blinds were dusty. Gail was great and so was her complimentary breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Beautiful view, but have to work hard to see it

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The view is amazing!
Cons: Someway to get luggage up the hill without having to drag it up myself. Better customer service.
Location: The location is near the ferry & local restaurants/bars. Very easy to walk to local shops/restaurants/bars.
It should be clear when making a reservation at this hotel that you have to drag your suitcase(s) up a large hill with several dozen flights of stairs. There is no one there to assist with luggage. It would not be possible for someone in poor health or physical condition to accomplish this task. We were allowed to check in, but room wasn't clean when we walked in. Manager is not very accommodating - when asked for hot water for tea in the morning it was a problem because "breakfast doesn't start until 8:00". How hard is it to provide hot water (I was even willing to microwave it myself)? When the restaurant ran out of drinking water at breakfast, I asked for more & was told she was too busy to get some for me. I offered to fill up the Brita water pitcher for her, but was denied. Of course, I was offered to purchase some bottled water. Room was sufficient, but mattresses need to be replaced. Folks, this is not a Marriott resort. We had planned to stay another night after a week of sailing, but decided to stay somewhere else. Buyer's beware of Expedia's cancel policy - we were not able to cancel the room & still had to pay for it even though we didn't stay there. Would definitely think twice about a cancel policy two weeks in advance unless you know what you're getting into.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the heart of downtown St Thomas

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: TV with a ton of channels! Clean amenities and extremely friendly staff.
Cons: Free WiFi.
Location: Shopping by downtown. Take a tour bus. Close to the ferry.
The owner Gale is an extremely friendly woman, and very accommodating. The rooms were clean and modest, with TV. There are a lot of stairs so expect some climbing, however, it is very close to everything so no complaints there. There is no free Wifi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Pros and cons of Galleon House

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The location was convenient, especially if you don't rent a car. Free breakfast every morning served by the cheerful staff.
Cons: Rooms need upgrading. Water pressure was low; shower nozzle was moldy. Toilet seat was cracked and ancient. Toilet tank needed to be replaced.
Location: It was located close to downtown Charlotte Amalie, within walking distance of the bay, shops and restaurants. There is also an open-air market nearby.
This hotel was located close to downtown, within walking distance of the bay, shops and restaurants. The staff was very nice, and we got lots of good advice from Gail and Christine. This hotel is located on a steep hill, and there is no elevator. You must carry your luggage up 60 to 90 stairs, so we recommend that you be in very good physical condition, or otherwise avoid this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel in the Center of Town w/Harbor View

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Location, colorful funky vibe, friendly staff.
Cons: Everything was fine.
Location: Charlotte Amalie waterfront, restaurants, shops. Ferry to St John is a quick walk, and you can get a taxi tour of the island at the corner.
This hotel is just what I was looking for, charming and colorful West Indian vibe in the heart of town. 83 steps to our room, yes, that was a bit of a pain but the gorgeous harbor view from our balcony was the pay-off. A little funky but a more authentic experience than what you find at the resorts. All of the staff were lovely, especially Gail the manager. Easy walk to waterfront, restaurants, historical buildings. Breakfast was great, the room was roomy, we loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Efficient hotel, friendly staff, great breakfast!

Posted Jun 25, 2015
We enjoyed the location of the hotel, being in walking distance to many things. We felt safe as the gates are locked at night. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was delicious. The room we had was a bit small and didn't provide a view, but it was clean and was all we needed for a 2 night stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what we thought we were paying for

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Pleasant people
Cons: Everything could be improved
Location: Not the best area to be at night, nothing to do but shopping
Rooms, pool were not as pictured on line. Sketchy area of town, to the point of feeling unsafe at night. Difficult access, many, many stairs with no elevator. Tiny cramped room in need of major renovations and soundproofing. Staff very pleasant and accommodating. Wanted to leave as soon as we got there but no vacancies elsewhere. Would not recommend or stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: very clean, good location, very friendly staff
Cons: offering cold drinking water through out the day.
Location: shopping, restaurants
great experience, stayed for several days, good breakfast