Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Cozy hotel with amazing view of the city

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Staff, view, cleanliness
Location: Tons of shopping, restaurants and bars. Staff can arrange taxis to nearby beaches.
We stayed for one night and was perfect for what we needed. As per other reviews there are lots of stairs but if you're up for the challenge you will be rewarded with an amazing view of the city...great sunset! The staff were incredibly helpful and kind. The hotel is perfectly situated...very short walk to restaurants and shops.The room was basic but clean. I have stayed at other hotels in St Thomas for double the price and so I can say that this cozy inn is great value for the cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wow

Posted Jan 14, 2017
I love the staff the view was amazing and there's no doubt I will try to get a room there in the near future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great staff. Clean facility.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Great Staff. Clean. Central location
Cons: Signage to find the place.
Location: Great location in the center of Charlotee-Amalie. Good location to start a walking tour of the town and close to the airport.
Great staff. Clean Facility. Central location but tricky to find. Be able bodied as there are lots of stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

charming hotel with wonderful views

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: The manager, Gale, was very helpful; the views; the pool & the proximity to downtown.
Cons: Put in an elevator! Coffee pots and blow dryers in the rooms.
Location: Shopping; eating; drinking; take a safari to Red Hook and catch the ferry to St. John; or take a cab to one of the beaches.
We had a wonderful stay at this charming hotel. The views were breathtaking and our host, Gale, was wonderful! The rooms were not as luxurious as a bigger chain hotel may have been but they made up for it in character. We enjoyed a made to order breakfast each morning with coffee (no coffee pots in the room but it forced up to get up & moving!) and we were within walking distance of the downtown area with lots of shopping, restaurants, bars, etc. The only draw back was all the stairs to and from our room, then again maybe we were in denial about how of shape we must be! My traveling buddy is a smoker and the only place one could smoke was at the pool. He had to take 70 stairs one way from his room to the pool, good way to cut down on cigarettes I guess! All in all a great experience but not handicapped accessible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Staff!

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Staff.
Friendly, Helpful, care taking, generous staff who were honest. Many, many stairs. Older building. great view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Falls Church, VA

Galleon House - St Thomas, USVI

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Pros: Convenient Location. Nice Swimming Pool to Cool Off.
Location: Great location to downtown
Helpful, friendly owner and staff. Give good local tips. Breakfest was a nice touch
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Gail was a wonderful host.

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Gail was a wonderful host. I would definitely go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Close to shopping but difficult to get to.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
The staff of the hotel were great and extremely accommodating. Breakfast was cooked to order from the menu--not the typical continental breakfast served at most hotels. The room was sparse but comfortable and a good value for the area. The only problem was the steps up to the hotel and then up to our room and there were many, many steps--so many that we could not manage our luggage up and down. Thankfully, the van driver carried the luggage up to the lobby. The hotel staff carried it up to our room and then down to the cab upon checkout. If you don't mind the steps, this is a good place to stay, close to shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas texas

A really a great place to start on vacation at...

Posted Nov 23, 2016
O yes this was a great place to stay at when your in the virgin islands-(saint Thomas) and boy are the staff working there very kind and all great to be around they are the kindness to all people and I got to teach one of the workers there more about the bible as I studied every morning there at breakfast that is offered before going to the near by park area in walking distance and also the beach is right down stairs and only blocks away as you can see the strip to walk and eat at along with the beach and the seeing of the air port that we flew in on We also did walk across the street where we did get to shop for clothing and jewelry while going just down the street you can catch the trolley that takes yiu across town to another big popular beach along with all the other great fun things that.you can do there in the us virgin islands WELL IN SO EXCITED TO TELL ALL ABOUT THE EXPERIENCE THAT I HAD THERE THAT I HAVE TO END IT NOW BECAUSE I WILL TALK AND TALK ABOUT ALL THE FUN THAT I HAD WHILE BEING THERE HAD I CAN REALLY GO ON AND ON WITH ALL THE THINGS THAT I HAVE DONE HERE WHILE BEING ON MY VACATION.....I'LL LET JUST SAY THAT IF YOU HAVEN'T BEEN THERE YOU REALLY NEED TO CHECK IT OUT...THANK YOU ALL......
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Facilities need improvements

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: It is near Port and shopping area. It had a pool. Great host
Cons: It needs improvements. A lot It needs cleaning in the surrounding areas