Ratings based on 138 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Gorgeous views, nice rooms.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Gorgeous views in our Cruz Bay building (first room) & ocean view room, the pool-hot tub area, and the tropical gardens threw out the hotel grounds.
Cons: Some front desk staff not very friendly. Anna was the best, and friendliest.
Location: We rented a Jeep for the week, but you could walk just down the road from hotel, to town to almost every where, except beaches would be too far.
We arrived late last Sat. night. Dropped our bags off and ran to dinner at the hotel. Delicious dinner and dessert. That first night in building #11 the Beach Bar kept us awake until very late, even with the air fan on, ear plugs and a sound machine we brought. It was so LOUD ! Next morning asked to be moved. Had to pay $33 extra a night, for an ocean front bottom floor in building #1. Much better, nicer, quieter room. Had delicious dinners out every night, at ZoZo's, Extra Virgin my favorite, The Terrace-Austin was awesome, Ocean Grill, and went to all the beautiful beaches. Loved Maho, Francis, and Trunk Bay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Great location, great staff!

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Onsite market for all your needs. Food, coffee, beer, etc. Gallows has everything you need!
We have stayed with Gallows twice this year. We have no complaints! I recommend an upper level unit if its a couple and a lower level if your taking kids. The lower level has a master bedroom with a door and the upper level has an open loft.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great resort right on the water

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Beautiful resort, walk into town, right on the water. Great place to stay- staff was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect Honeymoon location

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Can't say enough about how good the Gallows Point staff and St. John as a whole treated us on our honeymoon. The location was close to Cruz Bay, but still just far enough to feel away from the limited bustle of the "downtown". The staff was super helpful in getting us around and arranging reservations for restaurants and activities. Lastly, the room itself was quite large and extremely comfortable. Central air was on for when we came in from the heat, but there was also the ability to crack open the doors of the back patio and soak in the view over the bay. Overall super destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location on this beautiful island

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Fantastic views over the harbour, easy walk into town, very friendly staff, very clean and comfortable apartment.
Cons: If I had to moan, I couldn't find a frying pan in the kitchen....
Location: 5 minute walk to all the restaurants, ferry terminal, car hire etc. Snorkeling nearby, pool and lots of iguanas!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kenmore, WA

Fabulous resort on the water

Posted Aug 26, 2016
We booked our trip months in advance and we are so happy we stayed here. Our room overlooked the ocean. We loved everything about our suite- the bed, bathroom, kitchen area, and living room. If you don't want to eat out a lot it is convenient to buy a few food items to make in the room. The staff in lobby and concierge were very helpful. I used the pool and hot tub which were wonderful. If we go back to St. John we will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama City Fl

Great Hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The proximity to town and shopping
Cons: The rooms could use a better cleaning like dusting and sweeping
Location: We walked to bars, groceries, restaurants and good snorkling right out the back of the hotel
My wife and I had the best time celebrating her 50th Bday at this great resort. It was in walking distance to town with lots to do and see
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great condo-like hotel, close to Cruz Bay

Posted Aug 12, 2016
We loved everything about our stay at the Gallows. We often compared it to staying in a rented home, but with the luxury of having maid and conceriege service. All of the condo-like "rooms" have great views of the bay or the ocean. It's a 5 minute walk to all of Cruz Bay, and a quick 10 minute drive to the first of many gorgeous beaches. Our room was very clean, and had anything we could have needed. They provide plenty of towels, and options to rent snorkel gear, even beach chairs. The pool is much better in person than the photos represent. It offers great shade and an even better (beautiful, expansive) view. We heard a couple of other guests complaining about ants, we did not have an issues though. We also read reviews about hearing music from Cruz Bay late at night... We heard it, but it never bothered us. We would highly recommend staying at Gallows Point to anyone, and look forward to returning ourselves!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Killer spot, close to excellent snorkeling & shops

Posted Aug 8, 2016
I was a first timer down to the USVI, the experience was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redington Shores FL

Fantastic views. Good snorkeling and nice pool

Posted Aug 8, 2016
St. John is beautiful! Food was good everywhere. Copland Boat Charters were awesome and reasonable