Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Michigan

Absolutely gorgeous! Can't wait to go back!

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Pros: Very nice updated room! Clean and excellent views! I don't think there's a room there that has a bad view!
Cons: We went during the off season when they were working on the place so there was a little noise.
Location: For breakfast there's Jakes up the road and Cafe Livin. There's tons of restaurants along the beach. Hit the happy hours for good deals!
The staff was very nice and helpful. They try to sell you on a time share or ownership thing but it really isn't a bad deal if you can travel a lot. Perfect location on Cruz bay. We walked pretty much everywhere while we were there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from Fort Washington, MD

Grand Bay Resort is our go-to VI hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2013
Pros: The young lady (name??) on the 2nd floor who chatted with us every morning as we drank coffee and ate pastries. Wealth of info.
Cons: Wish the hotel had a restaurant on the premises or at least a buffet breakfast.
Location: Hotel was a short distance from the ferry (to/from St. Thomas and airport) and to the visitors' center which was the starting point for some tours.
This was our first time visiting the VI and I'm glad we stayed at Grand Bay. I traveled with my 21 year-old son. Sure, there were lots of bars along the same strip as the hotel. But surprisingly, the waves crashing along the beach were louder than the bar patrons. The room was clean and comfortable. Don't miss the Ecotour (hike and snorkel) with Tyler. He's a fantastic guide. Knows the island and its history and good places to eat. Knew the plant-life inside and out. There wasn't a single question he couldn't answer. Neither my son or I had ever snorkeled, and it was a blast!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bobbi from Fairfax, VA

Prime Location

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Pros: The Cruz Bay location was very convenient. Our Studio Suite was beautifully decorated and modern. The patio had an exceptional view of Cruz Bay!
Location: Right on Cruz Bay; convenient to the Ferry, the VI National Park, restaurants and shopping.
This was our first visit to St. John and the Grande Bay Resort. The location is very convenient to the Ferry and Cruz Bay is at your doorstep. During our stay, my husband and I enjoyed hiking, sailing and exploring St. John and the British Virgin Islands. We loved our Studio Suite at Grande Bay Resort and especially the patio area with table and chairs overlooking Cruz Bay. The view was exceptional and you could hear the waves lapping on the beach! The Suite was beautifully decorated, modern and comfortable. We enjoyed the convenience of the fully-equipped kitchen and the washer/dryer. We also appreciated the housekeeping team that came on the fifth day of our stay. They were very professional, efficient and friendly. The Grande Bay Resort Staff were exceptional! Colby met us at the Ferry upon our arrival and gave us a map of St. John along with a packet of helpful information. He also gave us a great restaurant recommendation nearby. During our stay the Staff was very friendly and responsive to all of our requests for ice and restocking items for the Suite. They have exceptional Concierge Services. We enjoyed a complimentary Sunday Brunch and Cocktails on two occasions at nearby restaurants with other guests. We met wonderful new friends and also toured St. John in a Jeep with another couple we met at the Sunday Brunch. Grande Bay Resort has great accommodations and amenities in a prime location and is a perfect vacation oasis!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeffrey from Lexington, KY

Luxury Accommodations with Personal Attention

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: The location of the resort was perfect. The room was nicely appointed with comfortable furniture and bedding.
The luxury property has an exceptional staff, great location, and quality amenities. I have high expectations, and the staff exceeded them each day with restaurant suggestions, activities, and honesty when making activities decisions. This property certainly trumps my most recent stay at a "high end" luxury resort in Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Complimentary rum and coke
Location: Great location. Walking distances to restaurants and shops.
Clean room, clean grounds, and great staff. Helped that you get complimentary rum and coke. Near local shops and restaurants. We didn't have any problems with the staff or the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JB from Minnesota, USA

The Grande Bay is Awesome!

Posted Mar 31, 2013
The Grande Bay is a wonderful hotel. It was our first time to St. John and we couldn't have been more pleased with our accommodations. The staff was welcoming and helpful at every turn. The location was perfect -- within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Our patio overlooked Cruz Bay and the ocean, which was a wonderful view to wake up to every morning. We would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from New York, NY, USA

Amazing hotel!

Posted Mar 26, 2013
Pros: View from the room, hot tub, very friendly staff
Cons: None
Location: The location could not have been better: the hotel is very close to different restaurants, cafes, rentals, etc.
This hotel is amazing! The services provided were outstanding and the staff was very helpful and extremely nice. The room had an amazing view of Cruz Bay, and the hotel is located very close to the little restaurants and cafes. I pretty much had a perfect vacation. If I ever go back to St. John there's no doubt I will stay at Grande Bay Resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Massachusetts, USA

Clean, and close to everything

Posted Mar 21, 2013
The Grand Bay is a new, clean hotel. It is located right in the town of Cruz Bay, so restaurants, shopping and taxis are close by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Tulsa, OK

The Best Hotel for Anyone!!!!

Posted Mar 6, 2013
Pros: The room was clean, very comfortable and the staff was outstanding!
Cons: I did not have a least favorite thing, everything was wonderful!
Location: Great location, close to entertainment, dining and shopping. Everything within walking distance.
We planned this trip for our anniversary. The hotel was very clean, well kept and the staff was absolutely wonderful. They made recommendations for entertainment, offered great beach advise and suggested great restaurants for dining. Our overall experience was terrific. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, clean and comfortable place to stay. It is in a great location for shopping, dining and entertainment. We would stay here again in a heart beat. I can't say enough good things about it!