Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2016
We stayed for 5 nights 6 days. The hotel efficiencies were clean and the fridge fully stocked. Easy parking too! We had a great view of Cruz bay. Our hostess was a super duper lady! I would recommend this a a great option to head to and stay in St. John's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Quiet, clean and nice. Great apartments and efficiencies. Would recommend to anyone! Sits high on the hill in Cruz bay... Hostess and owner is wonderful...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, ma

More to be desired

Posted May 21, 2016
Great location, owner was amazing, great price. Bed was not comfortable at all. And while it was clean, it felt dirty?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cape cod ma

Good location

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Be ready to walk up a very steep hill. It's a killer. Weekend nights it is very noisy as the sound rises. It was clean. Nice that they had eggs etc in fridge. But the room isn't the kind of room you want to spend time in other than to sleep or shower. A good place for young couples who don't care about being pampered. You do get plenty of privacy! No daily room cleaning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable guest house

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Pros: Quiet, convenient
Cons: A couple of more towels, including hand towels would have been nice. The TV only got CBS, which was limited, but did include the Super Bowl :)
Location: Great beaches - especially Honeymoon Bay
The third time we have stayed at Hillcrest. It is convenient to Cruz Bay, the beaches, the restaurants and the park. We appreciate being able to have a quiet visit and breakfast in our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Great touches...bacon and eggs, beverages, beach equipment, etc, there for us to use at no charge! Hot water/water pressure not the best for showers. Great location, short walk to the main area of town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town. Awesome view.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Comfortable place with amenities. Music from town loud til 12a Thurs & 4a Fri. Walkable to town but up a very steep hill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located to ferry and downtown.

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Well stocked kitchen and refrigerator. Free liquor and beer as well as mixers. Provided eggs and bacon and rolls at no charge if you wanted to cook breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, NY

Guest house with nice amenities but old building.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Location was on a hill right in Cruz Bay, but the hill is extremely steep and not in the best of neighborhoods. Parking is on street and very narrow.
Cons: The bathroom could be nicer, and the mattress needed replacement.
Location: The location was in Cruz Bay, so it was close to bars, restaurants and shopping. However, the surrounding neighborhood was not the best.
The Owner Phyllis is quite nice and personable, and provides some great amenities like coolers, beach chairs, several full bottles of liquor, drink mixes, beer, soda, eggs and bacon. The suite was a reasonable size and had three air conditioners which worked well. The bathroom was not the best however, but was functional and clean. Also, the mattress on our bed seemed worn out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Very nice residence near Santa Cruz. Close to ferry, town and taxis, but very quiet. (It is located on fairly steep hill - not an issue, but perhaps for some). Owner is super nice. Kitchen included some food and drinks.