Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, NY

Guest house with nice amenities but old building.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Location was on a hill right in Cruz Bay, but the hill is extremely steep and not in the best of neighborhoods. Parking is on street and very narrow.
Cons: The bathroom could be nicer, and the mattress needed replacement.
Location: The location was in Cruz Bay, so it was close to bars, restaurants and shopping. However, the surrounding neighborhood was not the best.
The Owner Phyllis is quite nice and personable, and provides some great amenities like coolers, beach chairs, several full bottles of liquor, drink mixes, beer, soda, eggs and bacon. The suite was a reasonable size and had three air conditioners which worked well. The bathroom was not the best however, but was functional and clean. Also, the mattress on our bed seemed worn out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by timothy from miami

hillcrest

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
we arrived very late (after 11pm) to check-in and the owner was there to receive us. the apartment was fully stocked with a full kitchen. Ideal apartment. Located only a short walk from town center (top of hill). I would recommend and will stay their again next time on island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darren from Sydney

Very comfortable stay

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed in the sunset view room. The hotel provided beach chairs, cooler boxes, towels and snorkell gear. Then room was fully stocked with lots of items in the fridge and bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Greta from Atlanta

Love this place

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
My fiance and I came in for the 8 Tuff Miles and this place was perfect! It is a short walk into Cruz Bay and Phyllis provided us with food and drinks and great hospitality! We have stayed before in another room and will definitely be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Very nice residence near Santa Cruz. Close to ferry, town and taxis, but very quiet. (It is located on fairly steep hill - not an issue, but perhaps for some). Owner is super nice. Kitchen included some food and drinks.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Eddie from St Augustine fl

Bad bad vad

Posted Mar 21, 2015 on Hotels
I felt hotels . Com and hill crest took advantage if us and am very disappointed absloutly auful experience, we were there 5 min and left
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice, roomy apartment; comfortable and close

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Beautiful gardens! Good exercise walking back up the hill. Phyllis left us fully stocked in the kitchen.
Cons: Perhaps a night light close to the bathroom. The steps were tricky.
Location: It is an easy walk down to town for the waterfront, ferry docks, restaurants, and shopping. Mongoose Junction was a fun place to shop and explore.
Hillcrest is at the top of a VERY steep hill, but it is an easy 5 minute walk down the hill to town and the waterfront. Phyllis was pleasant and helpful. The only drawback was the steps inside the apartment from the bedroom, kitchen, and bathroom. We used the air conditioner one night when it was exceptionally muggy, but most of the time we kept a door to the porch open to get the breeze.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Laurel, DE

Affordable, Good Location, Dated, Steep Hill

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
The breakfast is a make your own, bacon and eggs and muffins - which was great as far as I was concerned. I was surprised to find a bottle of tequila, vodka and rum as well as sodas, an onion and some drink mixes. The hill up to it was a little much for the wife. The place is dated, but has window AC and all the working amenities to be comfortable. Close proximity to Cruz Bay makes for many options for going out and easy access to the 'cabs' to go to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice apartment, walking distance to town/beaches

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to town (restaurants, stores) and a couple of beaches (Salomon, Honeymoon, Frank Bay). Spacious apartment, kitchen.
Cons: The noise at night was a little annoying at times but there is not way to change that.
Location: Very central location, just a few minutes to walk downtown and about a 30-minute hike to a couple of incredible beaches.
The guest house is located on top of a very steep hill that we walked several times a day. The apartment was nicely furnished and had a well-equipped kitchen. We stayed with 4 people - the parents slept in the bedroom and the children on foldout beds in the living room. There were food and drinks for us on arrival, as well as books and DVDs, and we had free WiFi (not very strong, but working most of the time). We had very nice views of the harbor from our apartment and a private balcony. It was a little noisy at night because of live music from bars in town but the music stopped before midnight and did not really interfere with our sleep. Roosters nearby woke us up in the morning. We were able to park our rental car for free right in front of the house. One day a leak in the heating system flooded the kitchen and part of the bedroom - the owner immediately called a repairman and it was all fixed the same day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Room was - even based on the "stars" - really poor. The beds were in really bad shape - and the so called - continental breakfast that was included - was 12 eggs and one pack of sliced bacon - for ourselves to cook. However the fridge was filled with different kinds of alcohol - free to use.. That's of course a different kind of breakfast..