Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Great touches...bacon and eggs, beverages, beach equipment, etc, there for us to use at no charge! Hot water/water pressure not the best for showers. Great location, short walk to the main area of town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to town. Awesome view.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Comfortable place with amenities. Music from town loud til 12a Thurs & 4a Fri. Walkable to town but up a very steep hill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located to ferry and downtown.

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Well stocked kitchen and refrigerator. Free liquor and beer as well as mixers. Provided eggs and bacon and rolls at no charge if you wanted to cook breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ashley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, NY

Guest house with nice amenities but old building.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Location was on a hill right in Cruz Bay, but the hill is extremely steep and not in the best of neighborhoods. Parking is on street and very narrow.
Cons: The bathroom could be nicer, and the mattress needed replacement.
Location: The location was in Cruz Bay, so it was close to bars, restaurants and shopping. However, the surrounding neighborhood was not the best.
The Owner Phyllis is quite nice and personable, and provides some great amenities like coolers, beach chairs, several full bottles of liquor, drink mixes, beer, soda, eggs and bacon. The suite was a reasonable size and had three air conditioners which worked well. The bathroom was not the best however, but was functional and clean. Also, the mattress on our bed seemed worn out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Teresa from Puerto Rico

Great spacious rooms at a great price!

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at Hillcrest for 4 nights, the room was very cozy and spacious, with A/C and Cable TV, and located right in the center of Cruz Bay. In St. John, you just can't beat that considering how expensive other hotels can be. We highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by timothy from miami

hillcrest

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
we arrived very late (after 11pm) to check-in and the owner was there to receive us. the apartment was fully stocked with a full kitchen. Ideal apartment. Located only a short walk from town center (top of hill). I would recommend and will stay their again next time on island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darren from Sydney

Very comfortable stay

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed in the sunset view room. The hotel provided beach chairs, cooler boxes, towels and snorkell gear. Then room was fully stocked with lots of items in the fridge and bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Greta from Atlanta

Love this place

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
My fiance and I came in for the 8 Tuff Miles and this place was perfect! It is a short walk into Cruz Bay and Phyllis provided us with food and drinks and great hospitality! We have stayed before in another room and will definitely be back again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Very nice residence near Santa Cruz. Close to ferry, town and taxis, but very quiet. (It is located on fairly steep hill - not an issue, but perhaps for some). Owner is super nice. Kitchen included some food and drinks.