Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Gorgeous view!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: View! Staff.
Location: Up the hill. Most things are a taxi ride away. The view is worth it.
We loved our lanai and the view it provided. Although the hotel is up the crazy hill, the taxis got us to and fro. Staff was friendly. Bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We had a short but lovely visit and the service was friendly and prompt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view owner Charlotte Amalie harbor

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Quaint hotel with the spectacular view, little pool and bar also overlooking the whole bay. Rooms small but comfortable and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Maybe other rooms are nice; however, I was given a room with rusty railings on the balcony that was right on the road and above the noisy bar. Room was not clean -- cobwebs on lamps, dirt in bathroom. It was not possible to walk to town because of the narrow road with no sidewalks and their front desk discouraged it. The breakfast was not good. Not sure when the pictures on the website were taken--place seems run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great View but far from the beach.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The VIEW. its what you pay for.
Cons: The staff could be more friendly.
Location: Didn't feel like there was anything close. We felt a bit far from everything.
The view from the Mafolie was great but everything else was just Meh. The staff wasn't very friendly and the exact same breakfast is provided every morning. Paul was the only staff member that stood out. He was very helpful when our key cards wouldn't work late in the night and brought us a slice of chocolate cake one night at dinner for our engagement celebration.
2 out of 5
by AC

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Run down outside and in. Very helpful front desk young man, and the restaurant is great.
5 out of 5
by tyler

Boutique Hotel with a Great View

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Mafolie is a unique boutique hotel in the hills above Charlotte Amalie Harbor with a fantastic view. The staff were all courteous and friendly. The room was basic but comfortable with a nice balcony off of it. There is a small pool and pool bar on property and an adjacent restaurant that serves some great Caribbean and Continental cuisine. Recommended for a quick overnight or a few days stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great view from the property. Delicious restaurant on-site, and really accommodating staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Wilmington, NC

Nice hotel with an Island feel.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Quiet, friendly, restaurant and pool.
Location: It is a spectacular sight when you sit in the open air restaurant overlooking the bay at night.
We stayed here 2 nights before and after sailing. Rooms comfortable and clean. We got rooms on street level which was ok for one night's stay. I do not know what the rooms look like that is part of the hotel. The restaurant has the most beautiful view from the hill. Both times the restaurant was full with tourists and locals. Food and service friendly and good. Breakfast was also very good which was included with our stay. Too bad we had to miss out on Sunday's brunch since we had to get to the airport early. We lounged at the pool and that was also very comfortable. You can really relax here because it is away from all businesses of Charlotte Amalie. We will definitaly stay here again for a night if we are in transit.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels