Ratings based on 1,473 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

STUNNING!!! Absolutely beautiful...

Posted Jun 30, 2017
This hotel is amazing!!! Pictures don't even do this place justice....every employee are over the top happy to see you 24/7. The views, the food, the beach...everything was just picture perfect! We had dinner at Sunset Rest one night (fabulous!)...we had happy hour drinks at Havana Blue (beautiful). If you treat yourself to this as a vacation (bc trust me everything here is expensive), you will never forget this experience; bc truly, this hotel is a 5* diamond hotel! Beautiful at every turn! Loved, Loved, Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Morningstar very close to beach.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Garden view rooms are dark. Staff was friendly except for the Sandbar's wait staff. Beach was great and rooms were clean. Fitness room at hotel has no windows and is very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Morning Star Beach Resort/Marriott Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Cons: The Morning Star Beach Resort needs to be renovated and the HVAC needs to be completely replaced and updated.
Morning Star Beach Resort is a great location, steps from the beautiful beach. The interior of these rooms is lacking though. They are dated, and the HVAC units need to be overhauled. Very humid inside the rooms despite the air conditioner running constantly. We spoke to the staff about our concern/complaint asking if we could be moved to the main hotel. It was full so we stayed at Morning Star for 4 nights. We complained again so they moved us to the main hotel, and we were able to stay there the last 3 nights of our vacation. The main hotel building was much nicer and felt more like we were on a true vacation. Marriott did give us a credit toward our cost so they did make an attempt to make it right. I would recommend if you stay here that you request the main hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with all amenities.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
We had a wonderful trip to St. Thomas. Marriot has neat and clean rooms and good customer service. Staff is friendly and helpful. Only con was that it is a little further away from everything. So we had to pay minimum $10 per person each way for a cab to get out even for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location awesome pools and private beach

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Only problem we had was the awful mattresses, everything else is beautiful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Morningstar had a an odor, frenchmannreef did not.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Morningstar Staff was nice but did not get a room that had two beds. Was moved to the frenchmens reef which was nicer and had no smell, but since we were only there s total of 4 days it would of been nice to get a free breakfast or something for the move. Staff was pleasant. Beds were wonderful, as was the view. The restaurant coco joes was way too expensive and I don't believe my shrimp was fresh. Pools are all nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

AMAZING hotel! Friendly staff!

Posted Jun 16, 2017
Pros: Everything! Free shuttles, friendly staff. Clean rooms. Accomodating. the little store. Infinity pool. restaurants
Cons: coffee makers. cheap and break
Location: Good location - free shuttles all over. Easy to get to night kayaking, or to the ferry to the city, or The Cat boat. A restaurant to try is "Mim's".
AMAZING hotel! Friendly staff, has everything you need. Is very relaxing. They accomodated us by giving a free upgrade because my moms knees couldnt handle the stairs. Room was clean every day. Staff are SOOO friendly and helpful. Grounds are kept very nice and tidy. I saw all kinds of birds on the balcony, lizards and iguanas on the grass. The beach is right there out the door. Shuttle takes you to hotel at the top so you can go between locations. Has a store with everything you need! Including AMAZING breakfast sandwiches! And salads, wine, sandwiches, crackers --if you dont feel like going to a restaurant. Has free rum drink samples! Infinity pool is amazing but bartender there could be nicer. My only complaint is they should invest in decent coffeemakers. Their cheapy ones broke. Other than that, we will be back and staying here again and i recommend it, hands-down!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, bad service

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Cons: Staff could actually care about customer service.
Service was terrible otherwise nice hotel. Food was way overpriced.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Staff not always friendly

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Cons: Staff friendliness
Enjoyed the beach access. Staff unfriendly at times. They act as if you are bothering them. Cabanas should not be $150 for day rental.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Nice hotel right on the beach.

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Multiple pools, super friendly staff, good food (albeit VERY expensive), beautiful beach and views. Also, there are iguanas EVERYWHERE. We counted
Cons: The condition of the building could be repaired. There are refrigerators in the rooms but NO microwaves.
Location: Everything is on the side of a hill in St. Thomas so you do have to walk down quite a few stairs to get to the beach, but definitely worth the walk.
Nice hotel right on the beach. The building we stayed in was obviously older as you could see some issues where there had been a few leaks and such but nothing major. The staff was super friendly. We had massages (which were terrific) - if you get a massage at the spa you have access to the spa amenities ALL that day, so keep that in mind when scheduling. Side note: Since I live in Alabama, we are not very far from the Gulf of Mexico and normally visit the beach there every year. Typically when you get near the Gulf, you know because you can smell the beach. You CANNOT smell the beach in St. Thomas. The water is so clear and clean looking - it was mind-blowing!