Ratings based on 1,218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Gorgeous Views

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: The views, the food, the AC, the beds.
Cons: Understaffed, updated.
Location: Didn't get chance to explore.
So, this review is somewhat bias as this hotel saved us from a very uncomfortable vacation. We booked here for 1 night stay, to escape the tortures of Water Island. We were staying in a "commune" type village with no A/C, no water for more than 2 minutes, no toilet flushing and no paper in the toilet. You can imagine. So we decided after 3 nights enough was enough and booked at the Marriott. When we got there our check in took a bit of time. We were given a room at the Morningstar on the Beach. The room was a bit old and run down on the inside, but there was AC and a large king sized comfortable bed, what more could we need. We spent the day at the pool, where the pool bar was a bit understaffed, but the bartender ( i didn't get her name) was awesome, she was accommodating when I asked her to make me a sangria even though it wasn't on the menu. There are two infinity pools that are spectacular. Then we had dinner, which was also understaffed and the hostess was a bit strange, and they forgot our appetizer, but the server ended up giving us a discount, so can't be mad at that. All-in-all it was a positive experience especially considering where we came from.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location! All of the hotel staff are great!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
This was our second trip to St. Thomas, the views are breathtaking and the constant ocean waves are so relaxing to hear continually! Highly recommended!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful views

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Beautiful hotel, breathtaking 360 water views, walk right out to beach, helpful front desk staff. Lots of pools to choose from. Be prepared to climb steps, the staff at one of the restaurant a little rude ( coco joes). Other than that 4.5 stars.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Very nice property; Private beach; Nice pools

Posted Aug 8, 2016
The only negative was the neighbor's next door were loud and would wake us up early in the morning....
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancaster PA

MorningStar Beach Resort

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Staying at the Marriott was an excellent vacation away from work. The resort had many amenities for the customer. There was no complementary breakfast, but Coco Joe's had a few breakfast options. If your looking for more of a hotel feel, stay at Frenchman's Reef, but if you want to be directly on the beach stay at MorningStar. Both are the same resort with the same perks of staying Marriott. Included in the resort fee, there are towels, bogey boards, snorkel gear, floating rafts, and sandcastle building materials. There are a few restaurants on the resort that offer mainly the same types of meals. There are other options in town, which is a short taxi or ferry ride away. There is complementary transportation within the resort. Overall this is a very nice resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel overlooking the ocean

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Staff were kind and helpful.
Cons: Quality of food and the pricing of it.
Location: You have to go to downtown in order to do anything unless you are only there to swim and be at the beach.
Staff were nice and hotel was nice as well, however the food did not match the hotel and was very expensive for what it was. Taking the water taxi to down town cost $7 a person each way and than you have to pay for food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was awesome --- Expedia was terrible

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Beach location / staff and cleanliness
Cons: Nothing on the hotel -- I will NEVER book with Expedia again though
Hotel was awesome but we had numerous issues with Expedia causing a delay in the start of our vacation and spent literally hours and hours on the phone waiting on hold for someone to help.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The restaurants had extremely slow service. The staff was not very friendly. The view was beautiful but had to move rooms. One wing of hotel is not attached and you have to access it from an outside corridor that was dirty.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The place to stay

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location, on-site amenities, beach.
Cons: Breakfast buffet was almost $30 per person. That is expensive for breakfast everyday.
Location: Marriott offers a little of activities which emanate from their site.
Great facility, lots of on-site amenities, great beach, on-site restaurants were a little pricey but food was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel steps from the beach, however

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location is steps from beach with friendly staff
Cons: The property and beach should be free of trash and debris. This is a Pride thing and staff should go above and beyond to make sure property is clean.
Location: Property is located near downtown and popular shopping areas. Easy to access nice beaches in 15-25 minutes.
This Marriott property is located in a great central location and just steps from the beach. However, the property is aged and we were disappointed that there was trash/debris that should be picked up daily by staff. If you have a resort credit with your stay, please inquire as to where it can be used as this is not communicated clearly on check in. Rent a car as the island is easy to navigate.