Ratings based on 1,195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel steps from the beach, however

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location is steps from beach with friendly staff
Cons: The property and beach should be free of trash and debris. This is a Pride thing and staff should go above and beyond to make sure property is clean.
Location: Property is located near downtown and popular shopping areas. Easy to access nice beaches in 15-25 minutes.
This Marriott property is located in a great central location and just steps from the beach. However, the property is aged and we were disappointed that there was trash/debris that should be picked up daily by staff. If you have a resort credit with your stay, please inquire as to where it can be used as this is not communicated clearly on check in. Rent a car as the island is easy to navigate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Disappointed

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The location was great and somewhat picturesque
Cons: means of getting to beach for older folks or folks with physical issues. Bad back? 97 steps up/down to beach.
Location: Short trip to downtown and the 2 major shopping districts. Also a reasonable drive to Mountain Top for great aerial photo op's. It's a small island.
The location was great and somewhat picturesque. The property was probably a great place to stay 25 years ago but it is extremely, extremely tired at this point. It definitely needs a major renovation. Be aware middle aged folks, there are a ton of steps to climb at this resort. You can't get to the beach without taking a shuttle or 97 steps down and back up. Our room key had to be reset 4 times in a 4 day stay (very inconvenient). The auto setting on the room air conditioner is on house control. Every night temps would climb to uncomfortable levels or you had to put on manual and be subject to extreme cold. On several occasions I was informed a particular dish or drink was not being served because of lack of ingredients at resort bars and restaurants. I wouldn't recommend it. If you are willing to spend a few more dollars I would look into the Ritz or other options.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Gorgeous location for a resort

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The amentities: 4 pools (1 of which was a private spa pool), 2 beaches, 5 restaurants/bars, water taxis to downtown, shuttles, activities/excursions.
Location: Water taxis to downtown Charlotte Amalie and the cruise ship area. At the resort dock, night kayaking, catamaran cruises and water shuttle to St. John
Loved the resort, it's offering of activities and its proximity to downtown. Our only comments would be for future resort goers to be prepared for two things. First, you probably will be approached to attend a 90 minute presentation on purchasing ownership in the Marriott Vacation Club. Be prepared to say "No" several times if this is not something you are interested in. Second, it is a destination wedding resort, so be prepared for large groups to be there and take over things like a pool area or a restaurant. These aren't necessarily bad things, just things that we encountered and very likely others are encountering as well.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Beautiful location. The hotel is older

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Location and view are spectacular especially from dining and swimming facilities.
Cons: Long term refurbishing plan
This collection of hotels is older and as such has more maintenance needs. It is in need of a facelift on its rooms and amenities. Paint chipping in rooms, tiles missing in the pools, etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit

Beautiful views

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Very nice hotel. Great views of multiple islands and beaches. Food and hotel is very pricey. Drinks are good and strong. Overall very nice. Hotel need updating. While drinking wine on the balcony part of the cement above me fell on me. Look up and be safe. Oh and by the way home you love turtles and iguanas. They walk around all over the grounds and hang around the hot tubs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Ok hotel very expensive and uptight staff.

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The hotel is in a perfect location but the staff where a bit rude and very uptight. I stepped on a piece of glass in my room that went into my big toe and our toilet broke along with the hair dryer. Hotel needs to be cleaned up a bit there is paint chipping off in the pool area and some other locations. Overall the hotel is nice and you will enjoy your stay there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Property, but UNFRIENDLY STAFF!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Beautiful main pool and beach, restaurants had good food, room was spacious.
Cons: Hotel Staff should be MUCH nicer and more helpful to guests. Very disappointed in how we were treated. Also, their parking situation is lousy.
Location: Adventure Center (bookings for local activities) is good. We ended up booking a night kayak tour that leaves from the Reef Hotel. Great family fun!
Just returned from our 6 day family vacation in St. Thomas. Overall, we enjoyed our stay at Marriott Frenchman's Reef for the first 3 days (stayed at Marriott Cove for the next 3 days). PROS: 1) The hotel property, main pool and beach area are absolutely gorgeous! 2) The food at the restaurants were good (the Aqua Terra restaurant has EXCELLENT VIEWS... perfect for breakfast) 3) The location on the island is great... close to Charlotte Amelia and an easy drive to all other hot spots on the island. 4) Our hotel room was large. 5) Adventure Center in lobby offers TONS of activities to do on the island. CONS: 1) UNFRIENDLY STAFF!!! Wow... have never seen more UNhelpful hotel & restaurant staff in my whole life. VERY DISAPPOINTING! Upon arrival, bell hops did NOT offer to get luggage from my car or even welcome us. The bell hops & front desk staff seemed bothered that I was asking to check in. After we took our own bags to our room, we ate lunch at Coco's Restaurant and our waitress completely ignored us for long periods of time even though we were the only patrons she had. Most hotel staff continued to treat us this way for the entire 3 day stay. Grrrr 2) FIRE ALARM WENT OFF @ 5 A.M. All guests walked downstairs in PJs to evacuate per instructions and then told false alarm! 3) Parking is NOT convenient! 4) Maids didn't clean our room one day, so I called and was told they have until 6pm to do so. They finally came when we left for dinner around 6pm. Very disappointing!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

Nice Hotel but confirm reservations

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Ocean views, and pool areas.
Cons: Some staff is not friendly. Some of the restaurant staff felt like it was a chore to wait on us.
Location: St. Johns is a nice island to visit.
We had asked for double beds in the rooms thru Expedia, but when we received our rooms they both had single beds. The hotel staff had advised us that all rooms with double beds are booked. A tough situation for six people in two beds. The front desk said we needed to reconfirm our reservation in order to receive double beds. Be careful when booking reservations at this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great views and a nice beach

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Perfect location. Used the beach and a different pool every day. Breakfast at Aqua Terra is good. Stay away from Coco Joes, food was pricey and lacked flavor. Instead go to Havana Blue or Sand Bar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Beautiful hotel, nice room and great restaurants.

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Beautiful setting, many features, restaurants and available activities .
Cons: Activities for people (adults and children) that are not interested in drinking.
Location: Hotel situated on beautiful location. Taxi's to activities were very expensive, but driving would have been terrible.
Check-in- Frenchman Reef hotel did not have correct type of bed or the number of people in the room. Was told at check-in that we had a room with one king bed. There were 3 of us, which I paid for. I had my Expedia paperwork the specifically stated that the room would have 2 double beds. I was told that this was not a gaurantee. Again I said I paid for 3. I was offered a roll away bed for my 21 year old daughter. After much discussion, I was told we would have to take this room for the first night, but would be moved for the next night. In addition, as a benefit I was to receive a $25 per day hotel credit. I found out that the hotel did not have information on this credit. After I said something it was applied to my bill.