Ratings based on 1,359 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Outdated

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The main building and its amenities.
Cons: All the other wings and the beach facilities must be renovated asap; they look very damaged and outdated.
Location: Nothing to do unless you get out of the hotel via taxi.
This hotel had its great times; no doubt. However, it is outdated, and the administration efforts to renovate it are not keeping up with the deterioration of the time and use. Unless you get one of the rooms in the main building, you will get assigned a room in one of the old wings where the damage of the elements are evident inside and out. The location is fine but have in mind that you will need to pay around USD$6.00 per person per ride to go to the downtown. The restaurants and bars at the hotel's beach all have the same menu; and again, outdated and damaged locations. The restaurants at the main building have good food and are well decorated and staffed. The general staff is a mixture of nice and annoyed employees. In summary, not a good experience. I would rather choose other venues in the caribbean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice hotel. Beautiful location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location, ease of transportation to town and airport
Cons: Provide general information about facility in room for guest reference during stay
Location: Very accessible to local area
Pleasantly surprised with hotel after we figured out the property. Checking was a bit slow and had to go check on our room 1/2 hour after it was supposed to be ready. Room was in the oldest section of hotel. Nice room but but this section needs to be updated, especially exterior doors. Hotel has the facilities to be an all-inclusive hotel and would be much more convenient for travelers. Room needed a binder with basic property information. i.e. map of property, menus of restaurants on property, included activities along with extra cost activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Loved this resort

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Would definitely return. Preferred staying in the main hotel on an upper level with view of Charlotte Amelia- enchanting. The staff and service -top notch! Absolutely loved the spa and private pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milford, OH

Loved the Morning Star Beach section

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location, views, amenities, restaurants on property, safe, clean, well maintained
Cons: Coffee maker in the room. Filtered drinking water so we don't have to pay $4 a bottle for bottled water.
Location: Beach, snorkeling, shopping, hiking, site-seeing
We loved being right on the beach -- would definitely choose the Morning Star Beach section again. Facilities are nice - no serious complaints. There are a few things you look at and ask "is this really a Marriott?" -- like an exposed electrical wire running allow the sidewalk. But overall things were great. Very pleased with cleaning staff and the care they took. Hotel staff is friendly and accommodating. There are restaurants on the property that are not Marriott owned and those staff could definitely use some coaching on customer-service. Contrary to list -- these rooms DO NOT have a coffee maker. They have something that warms water for instant coffee. That is not a coffee maker.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Had a wonderful 5 night stay. First time in st Thomas. Food was pretty good and the views are fabulous. Only draw back is the staff can be a little put off by requests or questions. i give it 4 stars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Beautiful location.

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Fabulous time. great day trips to St. John, British Virgin Islands
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Great choice in St. Thomas

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Cons: Service in restaurants, room cleanliness
Location is fantastic with amazing views and pristine white sand beach. The trip from the airport is short and the location offers easy access to just about everything on St. Thomas. The pools and outdoor bars and restaurants are particularly enjoyable though service was spotty. Overall we were very happy with our stay and plan to return to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TENNESSEE

LOVED ST. THOMAS AND THE FRENCHMANS REEF

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING ... BUT THE VIEW IS PRICELESS
Cons: NOTHING I CAN THINK OF
Location: I ENJOYED ALL THE BEAUTIFUL BEACHES. I WILL SAY I WAS DISAPPOINTED IN MAGENS BAY, THEY DID NOT OFFER GOOD BEACHSIDE SERVICE WHEN RENTING CHAIRS.
THE HOTEL WAS FABULOUS.....AND THE STAFF WAS EXCELLENT, ESPECIALLY TO MENTION A FEW, KHALIAH, MARK ABBOTT AND SO MANY MORE I CANNOT REMEMBER THEIR NAMES. THERE ARE SO MANY FUN THINGS TO DO ON AND OFF THE RESORT OR DO NOTHING AT ALL. I REALY ENJOYED THE SHUTTLES THAT TAKE YOU TO AND FROM ALL 3 OF THEIR PROPERTIES. HAVANA BLUE RESTAURANT AT MORNING STAR BEACH IS EXCELLENT!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel quieter on beach

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Customer service was fantastic
Cons: Maybe one or two eating areas a little more price friendly
Location: All kind of activities expected on an island
Staff was great, customer service great. I felt like food prices very expensive along with $45 resort fee daily was bit much considering you paid for room but overall great experience. Service was great. If you want beachfront with view of water be sure to request that. Morning side down at water is wonderful and quiet. Loved room we were in and view we had.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Gals trip to St. Thomas - Frenchman's Reef

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: As per above.
Cons: Service and availability of amenities.
Stayed at Frenchman's Reef from 1/15-1/19: PROS: Room was beachfront. Room was clean with easy access to beach. Shuttle to main hotel came almost every 5-10 minutes. Restaurants and souvenir shops at Reef so no need to always go to the main hotel. Great food at Havana Blue. CONS: No beach service. Restaurant/bar service was quite slow. Were seated for 10-15 minutes before anyone took a drink order. Other than Shannon at the SandBar, servers rarely came back to check on us. At other Marriott properties in the Caribbean (Grand Cayman, Aruba), the resort personnel always had smiles on their faces and greeted us when our paths crossed. Here, the personnel appeared sullen, with attitudes as if they did not want to work there. Often when asked a question, we got the response, "I don't know". Beach staff unable to set up umbrellas. So if you didn't arrive at 7a to throw a magazine or towel on a chair, you were out of luck. At the Ritz in GC, the staff would remove belongings if they saw that the chair was used within an 1 hour period. Here, not so much. Chairs went unoccupied from 7a-1030a. Also, the towel shack closed at 5p. One was charged it the towel card wasn't returned at the end of the stay. At the GC and Aruba properties you placed your used towels in the bin at the end of YOUR beach day - not the staff's work day. I am a Gold Member and one travel mate is a Platinum member. Would return to St. Thomas but would stay at another property.