Ratings based on 1,093 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Best of both

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The reefer (small sailing boat) can be used to go to and from Charlotte Amalie which is a big plus. The beach is fabulous and very private.
Cons: Menus at all the dining venues need improvement. Many were similar and the food was mediocre..
Location: Charlotte Amalie is nearby for shopping and exploring. Cabs are easily procured for farther afield.
Frenchman's Reef consists of two properties; the main hotel and the beach club called Morningstar. Both have use of all the facilities. We were at Morningstar with a garden view room although the gardens had few flowers and less foliage; Frenchman's Reef had gorgeous flowers, however. We stayed 5 days and ate at 2 of the dining venues and used their little market for prepared items twice. Service people were lovely and always said hello even the grounds people.. Some of the servers recognized us from previous visits of 10 years or so ago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Excellent hotel except our room wasn't ready 6:30pm. Best place on St Thomas!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Excellent property.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: see above
Cons: update rooms a bit
Location: see above
Wonderful location, excellent amenities and the staff - everywhere, were wonderful. 5+++ rating for them. Room (1138) needed some minor updating (closet slats broken, doors cheap and flimsy) but all else was great. We would go back in a heart beat!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

NOT a four star hotel

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: The best this hotel has going for it is the AMAZING location. You can watch the cruise ships come and go into port
Cons: Staff needs hustle and customer service training, remodeling needed badly, a lot of changes needed to achieve a four star hotel rating to justify $$
Location: Majestic location on the bluff also makes it far away from everything so rent a car or know you will need to take a taxi everywhere
This is not a four star hotel. Off to a rough start when our trip was impacted by the snowstorm in NYC and I called to move our reservation out one day, no one would call me back and in the end Expedia shifted the dates. When we arrived we had paid for a view room but were put into room 3132 which is the ground floor at the very end of the hallway by the cooling tower. We asked to be moved after one night and seeing both crickets and cockroaches come out from a hole in the tile under the bathroom sink. In fairness to the hotel they did move us the next morning, to an "upgraded" room (that we paid for anyway). Due to the room shift I had forgotten an outfit in one of the drawers that the lazy staff couldn't be bothered to look for so in the end left my mailing address. It's a shame this amazing location has been allowed to deteriorate to such a state, the only way I would stay here again is if they did a major remodel and got new management. The staff experience was not reflective of the rest of the friendly islanders, LOVE St. Thomas, did not love staying at this hotel. Pros: Majestic location with amazing views, good food (though be prepared to devote at least an hour to the experience) and a lot of amenities at the resort, linens are excellent. Cons: Run down, cracked tiles, old carpet, worn down lettering on signs, lazy staff (friendly but more of a hindrance than a help) overpriced for what you get
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great vacation!

Posted Jan 23, 2016
This was our second trip here. Staff is incredible, facilities clean and beautiful, and the food choices were very good. Stay away from first floor rooms, however. We changed twice because the rooms were damp and moldy. The upper floor room we got was great with wonderful views. Would like to see Queen size beds instead of double beds (my wife and I brought our son)...Overall great place to relax, outstanding location, and friendly people made this a perfect winter vacation!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach but that's all

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Stayed in the Morning Star rooms on the beach great location. Staff was friendly and nice. Rooms are not Marriott quality and are in need of a top to bottom renovation. Upon arrival the in room ice maker was not functioning staff had been aware of the problem for some time but no one had remedied the problem. I pulled it out from the wall and roomed years of dust and debri build up and cleaned the machine to get it functioning again. Bathrooms and decks show signs of years of water damage. Restuarants on site are friendly the best being Havanna Blue but very pricey. Upon checkout I was handed a $2200.00 plus bill for room charges! Checks from on site facilities had been misentered to the tune of hundreds of dollars per check, checks were entered that were not our charges. They tried to explain that their system was down and checks must have been misentered! How's does a 163.00 check become a $654.00, $110.00 become $440.00 check? Another $500.00 +\- that were not even our charges. Thankfully my wife with her unending attention to detail had kept all of our receipts. Not a place I would the recommend of return to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kentucky

Rude staff & tired facility

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: The view was beautiful and the ease getting to town.
Cons: The staff and their general attitude could be better. Take the time to look at the rooms a block at a time and spruce them up.
The facility itself needs a general maintenance check. Our room had mold around the vent, uneven flooring and a chipped tub surround. Generally the staff could not be bothered as they were more interested in chatting among themselves.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expectations

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Frenchman's Reef is a beautiful hotel on a beautiful peninsula. We had dinner twice during our stay and were disappointed both times. We paid a premium price for food that was served very slow and very cold. If you need to venture from Frenchman's reef you will need to take a taxi or boat. The boat was a nice experience. The taxi's are little better than a bus service. Be prepared to share your taxi with strangers going to destinations other than your own that will add time and inconvenience to your trip. Your taxi will undoubtedly be a bumpy passenger van or a pickup truck with bench seats in the back. This is all the more irritating since you will be paying the same rates as a limo in London. REALLY Frenchman's Reef...Would it be so hard to treat your guests better? You have a beautiful facility but bad food and transportation can ruin a trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible food. Slow service.

Posted Jan 19, 2016
We were very displeased with the level of service the staff offers. The food was horrible with little selection on me us and slow service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Roma

Albergo vecchio.

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Albergo vecchio e da ristrutturare. La spiaggia inoltre non è assolutamente quella di sabbia bianca ed idilliaca come se ne trovano sull'isola : è di sabbia più scura e ciò è veramente una brutta scoperta all'arrivo.Servizio e cibo nei ristoranti veramente scadente... Una vera delusione.