Ratings based on 1,380 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Positive experience, beautiful scenery.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
some of the reviews commented that the hotel was dated. We stayed in one of the royal suites and it was about 85% updated. The room was decent and clean with stunning views. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were especially so with our 4 year old. I saw some comments about the push for the time share sales. These people will ask you if you received your welcome kit. Just say "yes" and continue walking and you won't have a problem. Another frequent comment was about the quality and price of the food. I found the food to be adequate to good depending on the place. I expected the food to be expensive because it is on an island resort (spoiler - you are going to pay a premium here). The best quality / value was the aqua terra for breakfast only. For lunch we enjoyed coco joes and the sunset grill. For dinner the sunset grill and the sandbar works. The sandbar has a lot of small plate options. Havana Blue is pretty good but it is expensive. If you are sensitive to price, just know that going in. The beach is great, peaceful and beautiful. The pools are tremendous and each have great views. While not perfect it is a great place to visit and we enjoyed our stay. Things to do - sailing and snorkeling on the Cat was awesome. Captain Joe and crew couldn't have been better. Tony and his wife who run the jet ski rentals on star beach are lovely people and their 30 minute jet ski tour around the harbor is a lot of fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Beautiful from every angle!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: The breakfast buffet leaves nothing to be desired~ The spa treatments are heaven sent~ regardless of your room's location, this hotel is lovely.
This was the first family vacation we have had in years and everyone was pleased. From the restaurant options to the pools and beach, we were impressed. The staff was beyond courteous. (Extra love to the hard working poolside server! made our stay that much more enjoyable <3 )
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sag Harbor, NY

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Great resort. Good food. Biggest decision to go to the beach or stay at the pool!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from louisville, ky

*****Morning star hotel review only*****

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Morningstar is a separate motel style strip of 5 disappointing buildings. There are 2 two story buildings and 3 three story buildings. All without with an elevator. Food was overpriced, but was a step above the food you would find at an all inclusive resort. Ac units are extremely loud but effective in the rooms. The Restraunt staff did accommodate me by washing my toddlers bottles and warming milk for me daily. That's the best I can say for this place. There is no need to mention the view - bc it doesn't really matter where you are on the island.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Beautiful property.Poor food choices and quality

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Beautiful view from anywhere on property
Cons: Offer more food choices, times available and lower prices,free coffee (at least reasonably priced) and free refills. Offer transportation to town
We loved the hotel property, but very dissatisfied with cost, quality and choice of eating facilities. Food is mediocre at best and very overpriced, $5 for a cup of coffee and $2 to refill it. Menus are very limited and extremely overpriced, be prepared to lay out big bucks to eat. Even a taxi off property will add $8-$10 per person each way to eat somewhere else.Overall not sure the beautiful property offsets these drawbacks. Staff is excellent except housekeeping, room not cleaned until very late and had to call a couple of times for that,(island time?)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hl

All you need

Posted Mar 15, 2017
This property has everything. Very nice to have a long beach with plenty of room. Surf was 'just right'- easy for swimming. Loved having additional restaurant options down the beach. Havana Blue was one of the best meal/experience I have ever had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Wonderful stay at the Marriot

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Great hotel. Helpful staff. Easy water taxi to town. Fantastic beach!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worn out

Posted Mar 14, 2017
This hotel needs a major facelift, not another coat of paint! Looks like an old downtown Motel 6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Right on the beach, best part

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: Options of rooms and locations. Havana Blue. Rum Bar. Beach restaurant.
Cons: Later night activities, after 9 pm, for adults.
Location: Raw for sushi, excellent. Iggies for music and fun. Lanai for music! and drinks.
Caters very much to couples and families and much less to singles.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

An Absolute Pit / Dump

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everytrhing, dirty, broken plaster and tiles everywhere, bed bugs, mold, just disgusting all around.
Location: not much
This hotel is a dump, never have seen such a dirty unkept hotel . The pictures on the website are all BS. They say they have renovatied it which is also BS. The rooms are no better than being in the ghetto projects. Very Very expensive and they don't spend a penny on upkeep. 1 star at best don't waste your hard earned $$$.